Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach Calzones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Calzones

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2010

      My mom made these for our Christmas eve dinner (we're a big group of vegetarians) and they were excellent! I know she said she had a lot of filling left over like some others said. I used the dough recipe last week for regular pizza and it's the best dough I've made so far. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Yummmm! I have made this several times. I double the recipe and put the extras in the freezer for later. They freeze really well. I always add more nutmeg than is called for in the recipe because I love the flavour of nutmeg with the creamy spinach. This last time I added about 1 cup sliced mushrooms in the pan with the onions and instead of fresh garlic I used dried roasted garlic. I was all out of parmesan cheese so I used half mozzarella and half cheddar. It worked out really well and was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      We loved these and they were gone in no time! We will have again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      Delicious! I used frozen spinach, which hellped cut down on prep time. The filling and the crust were both delicious. Overall, very easy to make, and will be made often at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      Spectacular crust! I let mine rise - by accident - for 1 1/2 to 2 hours. Otherwise, I followed the instructions exactly :-) RE: Filling - I cut the ricotta entirely. My hubby hates ricotta and cottage cheese. I minced a medium, yellow onion (didn't measure whether it was actually 1/2 cup, so it may have been more or less). I substituted pecorino romano for the parmesan, because it's all I had on hand. I used 12 oz of Fresh Baby Spinach. And I added 2 links of cooked and crumbled regular Italian sausage, because hubby likes meat. Otherwise, the filling was by the book. Note: Prep for fresh spinach, which I recommend, takes a big chunk of time relative to the rest of the prep. Going through and painstakingly cutting off stems - I highly recommend that you do not skip this part - takes time. I learned to put my spinach into the Quisinart with the chopping appendage after chopping most if it by hand (with a knife and too-small, plastic cutting board :-)) So, just cut the stems and throw 'em in, if you have one! Then, I steamed it, by putting on a big pot of water to boil, throwing the spinach into a colinder, and resting the colinder over the pot of boiling water. Rudimentary, but it works :-) LOVED it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      This is a meal-in-one tasty package. For the crust I used the zaar recipe: Kittencal's Garlic-Lovers Pizza Crust for the Bread Machine. I just love that crust! It worked out great again with these calzones. I did have a little extra filling left over. I used fresh spinach and grated parmesan instead of the canned grated parmesan. It took some time to cut up all the spinach and cook and drain it. I just popped it in the microwave with no water, for about 2 minutes, cooled it and squeezed out any moisture. I think fresh ingreidents work out so much better. This was a big hit with my family and I will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      This was really great and super easy to make! The recipe made a perfect amount of filling, and the dough was very easy to work with. The sweet dough really goes with the slightly salty filling. They did cook a bit faster than I expected, only needing about 12 minutes at 450 degrees instead of 15-20 minutes. Thanks for sharing a great recipe (Moosewood recipes are rarely a miss, I've learned!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      Very yummy!!! This made tons of filling, so I have some leftover that I"m going to toss with some pasta tomorrow. Thanks for a great recipe! For Spring 2007 PAC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Calzones

    Serving Size: 1 (313 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 541.6
     
    Calories from Fat 227
    42%
    Total Fat 25.2 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 15.2 g
    76%
    Cholesterol 85.6 mg
    28%
    Sodium 1096.7 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 28.1 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes