Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach Banana Smoothie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Banana Smoothie

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on April 01, 2012

      Delicious and healthy! The whole family loved it. It turned out quite green but I told my little boys that we were drinking Incredible Hulk Smoothies and they thought they were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      Delicious! I did 2 cups spinach, 1/2 a banana, and 8 ounces vanilla almond milk. I will make this over and over. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2012

      This is awesome, try it!!!! Thank you so much I would never have thought of putting spinach into a smoothie. It also works well with a little pineapple thrown in and a little stevia to sweeten. I love that I can use this as a base for my normal protein smoothie. Anything can be added to this, thank you so much for sharing =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      I am not the biggest spinach fan but I need my dark leafy greens and this smoothie masks the taste of the spinach PERFECTLY. I used a danon lite n fit yogurt, toasted coconut vanilla flavor, and used unsweetened almond milk in place of water. This came out like a green pina colada! I halved the spinach and banana (my bananas were BIG) but used the whole 6oz of yogurt and a half a yogurt container of almond milk. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      I tried this then experimented on my own since I don't care for the dairy products . I like mine with a little less spinach. I used one cup to one banana and added a cup of rice milk. It is very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      Instead of contaminating it with dairy which is full of fat and other unmentionable nasties, why not just stick to two ingredients, banana's and spinach? I have 6 or more banana's and two large handfuls of spinach. Lots of healthy carbs and protein and it will fill you till lunch time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2012

      Very tasty! I froze my banana and added 3 frozen strawberries. I also subbed greek yogurt and added some protein powder to give it a protein boost. You defintely can't taste the spinach and I love the nutrition boost from it!

      Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      I LOVE this recipe, and make it all the time. Great for slurping down on the drive to work, and gives me SO MUCH energy! No mid-morning slump for me! The only changes I make from the original recipe is that I freeze my banana to make it extra frosty, and add a handful of frozen strawberries as well. I've tried other fruit additions, but nothing tastes as good to me as the strawberries. Quite often, if using it as a meal replacement, I'll add a serving of flax seed meal. Don't be intimidated by the spinach. Fresh spinach has a very mild flavor. The health benefits are totally worth the weird looks you'll get drinking this bright green concoction!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      Very tasty! I'm a nursing mother and always looking for ways to eat more fruits and veggies. This recipe is quick, easy, and surprisingly good. Thanks for sharing! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      This was suprisingly good. I am not a big smoothie lover. When I saw this recipe, I thought I would give it a try. I am trying to find ways to include more fruit and veggies to my daily diet. I did use skim milk instead of water and added a little drop of honey.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2014

      Made this smoothie today, instead of yogurt I made it with 1 C. of Coconut Water, 2 handfuls of Organic Spinach and 2 large Bananas. Amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2014

      Loved it! I had a little problem getting just the spinach an banana to blend so I added the yogurt and it blended right up! The color is a shock, but the flavor is mild and not overly sweet, which is my usual issue with smoothies. Thanks for sharing the keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

      I tried it and it tastes great! I was so worried about the taste but I can't taste the spinach! Yay! I can have a healthy smoothie. I added strawberries which made the color kind of brown, but the taste is wonderful! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2013

      WOW - this was really good! We make a standard frozen-banana-yogurt-berry-honey smoothie, but I'd never tried adding spinach to it. I didn't really measure quantities but just threw in a ton of baby spinach and it tastes great! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      Adding some pineapple helps a lot. The quanity was enough for two, as I measures the spinach. I crammed the spinach into the measuring cup relatively firmly and then needed about twice the liquid givve (ie: the yogurt).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      As I was making this for my girls as an after-school snack, I asked my husband not to make any rude comments (thinking he would probably be grossed out by the color and possibly taste). I made as posted just adding a few ice cubes. I gave DH a taste and he was shocked by how good it was! The girls loved it, too although my 4-year-old didn't finish hers. Anyway, I plan to use this as a base recipe for their after-school snack from now on. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      I'll admit I was skeptical, but I'm really trying to incorporate more veggies into my diet and figured it was worth at least trying. This was really good! You can't taste the spinach (which I like generally, I just didn't want to be able to taste it in this). I think I have a new go-to breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2012

      My first green smoothie.... delicious beyond belief. I could not believe I was drinking something so healthy that tasted so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      I actually made this on my own before I even found this recipe. I threw a whole banana, a low carb 60 calorie strawberry banana yogurt, and several cups of raw spinach in the blender with a splash of soy milk. It was so good! If it wasn't bright green, I wouldn't know there was spinach in there because it just tasted like a banana smoothie. It does end up a bit warm for some reason though, so I will be using crushed ice instead of milk to make it a little more chilled, or perhaps some unsweetened fruit juice. This is a very versatile recipe! If you have some yogurt and spinach, use any sort of fruit as a base. This really helps with hunger cravings as it's really filling - I wish I would've tried this back when I was dieting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      Good stuff. I halved the amount of spinach (I'm pretty sensitive to it's taste) and I couldn't even notice it! I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Banana Smoothie

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 118.6
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    24%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 11.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 87.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes