Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach Balls (appetizer) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Balls (appetizer)

    Average Rating:

    74 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 74

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2010

      These were pretty good, all that I made got eaten. In the end I wished there was less spinach and more stovetop. So why didn't I just make the stovetop? :) Maybe if there was a way to make these with broccoli they would be a little less "green" tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      I love love love these! However I did make several changes which may have made it a little harder on myself but it was worth it to add flavor. Instead of cooking the spinach and draining it I cooked it in a skillet using only half the butter called for in the recipe. I added finely chopped onions and 3 cloves of garlic. I seasoned with nutmeg, chili powder, coriander powder, cumin powder, salt and finely ground fresh ginger. I also added 1 heaping tablespoon of tomato paste. I added the spinach and cooked the water out until it was completely dry. I let it cool then added the rest of the stuff. I also halved the Parmesan and added 1 cup of shredded mozzarella as a personal preference. Also, i was out of frozen spinach so I used two 13.5 oz. spinach cans, drained. I think this is why I didn't have a hard time rolling them up as per other reviews suggested. Thanks for a cool recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      These were decent and received a lot of compliments, but I thought they had too much of a stuffing taste. So if you are not too keen on stuffing (like me) you may not like these as well as others do. They do cool fast and are only good when warm. I also baked mine longer about 20 minutes because they didn't look cooked through. These are good to bring somewhere when you want something different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      These were delicious! I made a few small changes to lighten them up a little (trying to get a head start on the old new year's resolution) and they were so flavorful without tasting "light." I sauteed finely diced onions in olive oil and then added in the spinach along with a pinch of nutmeg. I used about 3 T of butter, 1 whole egg and the rest egg whites. I was worried that without the full amount of butter, that they might be dry, so I also added a splash or 2 of chicken stock. Rolling them into balls was messy, but do-able and freezing makes them easy to handle later. I am definitely going to make these again--a double batch to have on hand in the freezer!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      These were just ok. I cut the recipe in half and just baked half of the balls I prepared. I may add more stuffing mix and parmesan cheese. I may get crazy and add some mozzerella cheese to them as well. I added nutmeg as other cooks suggested and tasted a little bit of that, but I didnt' like how the spinach and stuffing were so overpowering. I was hoping to get a variety of flavors and was dissapointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      Unbelievable. These will ALWAYS be in my freezer from now on. Put them out for Christmas lunch appy's- people asked why I didn't make more.Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Bergy, you are the absolute Best!! Thanks! And as others have noted, add the bacon. Just do it...you already have butter to clog the ol' arteries, throw in about four or five slices of crispy maple flavored bacon torn into small pieces or shredded. These spinach balls are excellent. I have come to the conclusion that - we have to eat - don't waste your time eating fast food or food that is not scrumptious. And, the star power by bringing these to a party is priceless. I placed them on crackers and they made the most beautiful appetizers. Merry Christmas everyone! Eat as much as you want, but make sure it's GOOD food!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      These were great. I only had 1 pkg of spinach so I halved everything and then by mistake added the entire box of stuffing mix. I also decided to leave out the butter. These are so easy and we loved them. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      I brought these to a party and I was chased down by several people who wanted the recipe. I was also emailed with the same request. These are awesome and so easy to make! Love them! Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Excellent and easy to make! I used my cookie scoop (knowing it was too big) and it made about 30 balls. I had to cook them a little longer - like 15 minutes. Served room temperature, they were a hit at the church Christmas Party!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      Awesome! So easy to make and quite delicious. I followed the recipe exactly. Didn't make 6 dozen but I rolled my out to be a litle larger. I still got about 3 dozen out of it. Great texture and presentation for a party I just threw. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      Yum! As per one reviewer I reduced the butter to 1/2 cup. Other than that, made per recipe. DD is having a Harry Potter party and these will be the Gillweed Balls. Kids eating spinach and liking it. I can get behind that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      They were tasty but so much butter made them greasy. I would try making them with less butter next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      Even my carnivore friends will eat these cold at a bbq. They freeze great and are wonderful to have around for a last minute potluck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      yum, yum, yum... everyone loved these... i personally could NOT quit eating them!!!!!!! thx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I followed the recipe EXACTLY and they were quite dry and not very tasty. I have 5 dozen left in my freezer. What can I do to them to make them moister when I bake them next time??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      So rich and wonderful! Made these as our Easter Party Appetizer, they were a hit! Will look forward to making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      Fabulous! Great recipe...was a hit at the party!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      These were great - even after I modified them to lower the fat content. I used mainly egg whites instead of whole eggs and reduced the butter to roughly half I think. Also, I used the cranberry Stove Top stuffing and they were yummy and different. I also used Asiago cheese cuz that's what I had. AND I re-freezed the cooked leftovers, which tasted great the 2nd time around too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      I made these over the holidays and forgot to rate it! Simply wonderful! Everyone enjoyed them. Thanks for a great appetizer! I wil be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Balls (appetizer)

    Serving Size: 1 (1308 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 483.8
     
    Calories from Fat 306
    63%
    Total Fat 34.0 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 19.3 g
    96%
    Cholesterol 261.9 mg
    87%
    Sodium 997.5 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 19.4 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes