Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach Balls (appetizer) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Balls (appetizer)

    Average Rating:

    72 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 72

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2002

      These are so yummy! They have a strange appearance, due to the spinach, but once people try them they'll be gone! I make these for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner to serve as an appetizer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2002

      fast, easy and tasty. Keeps fine in freezer, when guys come for cigar smoke, they toss 'em down fast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2002

      Easy and delicious, frozen 1/3 of the recipe and had the spinach balls as a side dish with an Indian Curry. I did add a few dashes of chili sauce to the batch that I froze and it could take it with no problem!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      Very good appetizer! I have been making these for a couple years, and every time I do, they disappear. I have to admit that I changed up the recipe from the start, just to add some other flavors and a little complexity, but I would say that this is a great base recipe to start from.

      I add a few strips of crumbled bacon, and have also added roasted garlic (yum!) or sauteed garlic (minced and heated it up with the butter that is called for), green onion, and a handful of shredded mozzarella or crumbled feta. I tweak the spices depending on my mood and what they will be served with. Personally, we like the "green" flavor and texture, but I am certain that altering the ratios to suit your taste would be pretty easy.

      I would give this 5 stars because we love it so much, but without the addition of other ingredients, it is just missing a little something. In fact, I made these for a party last year, and someone else made them as well just using the basic recipe (what are the odds?!). And though while hers were eaten, the ones I made with more flavors were devoured, and she even asked what I did differently so that she could adjust her recipe. And as others have said, GREAT to have on hand in the freezer. For sure a keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2002

      Excellent do ahead appetizer. It is nice to have frozen appetizers available. I served these with Miller's Oyster Stuffed tomatoes. The contrast between red and green. . . . hot and cold was perfect. Thanks Bergy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      I just got done making these (test batch for thanksgiving) and I made the 1st 2 dozen ALMOST exactly to the recipe; I only used 1/2 cup butter (1 stick) and I cooked from fresh for almost 20 mins (and for other recipes in the past I've thought my oven ran hot). I REALLY like them but then I love spinach. For fun, and based on other reviews, I sauteed 4-5 cloves of minced garlic in some olive oil and then blended that in; I also love garlic so this was great. Last 2 dozen I puree'd a small jar of artichoke hearts and added those in - also good. I will make these again and think they'd be fabulous with feta. I'd also like to try them without stuffing but not sure what a healthy sub would be that could keep these together...? To summarize; I think these are great 'as is' but ALSO make a great base for a plethora of cheeses & seasonings based on personal preference. Oh, and while they are DEFINITELY best hot they are actually tasty room temp as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      This is a very unique and delicious appetizer, which could also be pressed into service as a nice side dish, too. I first had this when a friend of mine brought these to a party at my house, and I was so pleased to find a recipe for them! I made them exactly as directed and took them to a potluck at work, where they were quickly snarfed down by the hungry hordes! Next time, I think I would cut back on the butter by about half, and probably on the number of eggs, as I found the mixture to be pretty goopy and a bit hard to shape into balls. For my taste, I would also add a bit of freshly-grated nutmeg as well, since it complements spinach so nicely. Thanks, Bergy, for a wonderful recipe featuring my very favorite vegetable of all time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2012

      Didn't read all the other reviews, so sorry if this was already said, but I love these. I don't eat meat, and use these when my family has spaghetti and meatballs/sausage. I know the Stove Top is "chicken" flavored, but these are an extremely satisfying substitution for the other meats! Also great as an individual appetizer or snack!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      Based on the other reviewers' comments about the texture of these, I decided to mix the ingredients in my food processor. The final texture was fine, but they lacked a bit of something--perhaps salt. Because of the raw egg, it is hard to pre-taste these. I did cook a few tests in the microwave, but they came out differently from how they tasted baked in the oven. I agree with the other reviewers that maybe they could use a dip like sour cream. Nevertheless, a very handy appetizer that can be made ahead. This is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      About 20 years ago a nurse I worked with made these and I have loved them ever since, only thing is I lost the recipe a couple years back and couldnt remember all the ingredients. The only thing I do differently is after I roll them into balls, I wrap a half a slice a bacon around them and bake them with a toothpick in them to hold them together. These are FABULOUS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      Great little appie. The texture threw me off at first but I stuck with it and they got thicker.The flavour was great- dipped them in sour cream. Friends gobbled them up. Thanks bergy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      Awesome app! Made it for a family party, everyone loved them. Thanks so much for sharing:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      I REALLY like spinach, but these were just alright for me. Maybe I just prefer to lightly saute my spinach and not add much more to it. Keeping it simple, but good. Also, when I consider the amount of butter in this recipe, I wouldn't say it is worth the calories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      OH YUM! These were very very good and so simple to make! I only used 1/2 cup of melted butter (3/4 cup seemed like a lot). I also added 1/2 cup of cooked crumbled bacon and about 4 tsp of jarred minced garlic. I had actually only wanted to put 2 tsp but wasn't paying attention but they didn't turn out too garlicky. I must have made mine too big as I only got about 41 balls instead of 72. For that reason they had to be cooked for about 30 minutes. That made them a bit crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I agree with others - you could put so many different things in these! The possibilities are endless! Thanks Bergy for a keeper in my recipe binder!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      OMG, these are so good. I made them for our football party and they were a hit. I did only use 1 pkg. of spinach and we added some chopped bacon. Also, in place of the butter, we used bacon grease. So good. I want to make these for Christmas and served on a red platter. My guests will love them. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      These are simple and delicious and guests love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      These were pretty good, all that I made got eaten. In the end I wished there was less spinach and more stovetop. So why didn't I just make the stovetop? :) Maybe if there was a way to make these with broccoli they would be a little less "green" tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      I love love love these! However I did make several changes which may have made it a little harder on myself but it was worth it to add flavor. Instead of cooking the spinach and draining it I cooked it in a skillet using only half the butter called for in the recipe. I added finely chopped onions and 3 cloves of garlic. I seasoned with nutmeg, chili powder, coriander powder, cumin powder, salt and finely ground fresh ginger. I also added 1 heaping tablespoon of tomato paste. I added the spinach and cooked the water out until it was completely dry. I let it cool then added the rest of the stuff. I also halved the Parmesan and added 1 cup of shredded mozzarella as a personal preference. Also, i was out of frozen spinach so I used two 13.5 oz. spinach cans, drained. I think this is why I didn't have a hard time rolling them up as per other reviews suggested. Thanks for a cool recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      These were decent and received a lot of compliments, but I thought they had too much of a stuffing taste. So if you are not too keen on stuffing (like me) you may not like these as well as others do. They do cool fast and are only good when warm. I also baked mine longer about 20 minutes because they didn't look cooked through. These are good to bring somewhere when you want something different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      These were delicious! I made a few small changes to lighten them up a little (trying to get a head start on the old new year's resolution) and they were so flavorful without tasting "light." I sauteed finely diced onions in olive oil and then added in the spinach along with a pinch of nutmeg. I used about 3 T of butter, 1 whole egg and the rest egg whites. I was worried that without the full amount of butter, that they might be dry, so I also added a splash or 2 of chicken stock. Rolling them into balls was messy, but do-able and freezing makes them easy to handle later. I am definitely going to make these again--a double batch to have on hand in the freezer!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Balls (appetizer)

    Serving Size: 1 (1308 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 483.8
     
    Calories from Fat 306
    63%
    Total Fat 34.0 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 19.3 g
    96%
    Cholesterol 261.9 mg
    87%
    Sodium 997.5 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 19.4 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites