74 Reviews

These are so yummy! They have a strange appearance, due to the spinach, but once people try them they'll be gone! I make these for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner to serve as an appetizer.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeAnne Conaway September 12, 2002

fast, easy and tasty. Keeps fine in freezer, when guys come for cigar smoke, they toss 'em down fast.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carol lazzara November 21, 2002

Easy and delicious, frozen 1/3 of the recipe and had the spinach balls as a side dish with an Indian Curry. I did add a few dashes of chili sauce to the batch that I froze and it could take it with no problem!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us December 29, 2002

Very good appetizer! I have been making these for a couple years, and every time I do, they disappear. I have to admit that I changed up the recipe from the start, just to add some other flavors and a little complexity, but I would say that this is a great base recipe to start from.

I add a few strips of crumbled bacon, and have also added roasted garlic (yum!) or sauteed garlic (minced and heated it up with the butter that is called for), green onion, and a handful of shredded mozzarella or crumbled feta. I tweak the spices depending on my mood and what they will be served with. Personally, we like the "green" flavor and texture, but I am certain that altering the ratios to suit your taste would be pretty easy.

I would give this 5 stars because we love it so much, but without the addition of other ingredients, it is just missing a little something. In fact, I made these for a party last year, and someone else made them as well just using the basic recipe (what are the odds?!). And though while hers were eaten, the ones I made with more flavors were devoured, and she even asked what I did differently so that she could adjust her recipe. And as others have said, GREAT to have on hand in the freezer. For sure a keeper recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy Pants January 14, 2011

Excellent do ahead appetizer. It is nice to have frozen appetizers available. I served these with Miller's Oyster Stuffed tomatoes. The contrast between red and green. . . . hot and cold was perfect. Thanks Bergy

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo October 07, 2002

I just got done making these (test batch for thanksgiving) and I made the 1st 2 dozen ALMOST exactly to the recipe; I only used 1/2 cup butter (1 stick) and I cooked from fresh for almost 20 mins (and for other recipes in the past I've thought my oven ran hot). I REALLY like them but then I love spinach. For fun, and based on other reviews, I sauteed 4-5 cloves of minced garlic in some olive oil and then blended that in; I also love garlic so this was great. Last 2 dozen I puree'd a small jar of artichoke hearts and added those in - also good. I will make these again and think they'd be fabulous with feta. I'd also like to try them without stuffing but not sure what a healthy sub would be that could keep these together...? To summarize; I think these are great 'as is' but ALSO make a great base for a plethora of cheeses & seasonings based on personal preference. Oh, and while they are DEFINITELY best hot they are actually tasty room temp as well.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emmadye November 22, 2011

Aren't these awesome?!!! Thanks for posting the recipe Bergy! ^_^ I have a similar recipe which everyone always seems to love when I make it. My variations are: I add a teaspoon of thyme and 1 finely chopped onion (sautéed before adding it to the mixture). I also have found that I prefer Peperage Farm herb seasoned stuffing mix instead of stove Top stuffing mix.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherDawn.^_~ November 13, 2007

This is a very unique and delicious appetizer, which could also be pressed into service as a nice side dish, too. I first had this when a friend of mine brought these to a party at my house, and I was so pleased to find a recipe for them! I made them exactly as directed and took them to a potluck at work, where they were quickly snarfed down by the hungry hordes! Next time, I think I would cut back on the butter by about half, and probably on the number of eggs, as I found the mixture to be pretty goopy and a bit hard to shape into balls. For my taste, I would also add a bit of freshly-grated nutmeg as well, since it complements spinach so nicely. Thanks, Bergy, for a wonderful recipe featuring my very favorite vegetable of all time!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette January 26, 2004

Didn't read all the other reviews, so sorry if this was already said, but I love these. I don't eat meat, and use these when my family has spaghetti and meatballs/sausage. I know the Stove Top is "chicken" flavored, but these are an extremely satisfying substitution for the other meats! Also great as an individual appetizer or snack!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
st1231_7981182 June 03, 2012

Based on the other reviewers' comments about the texture of these, I decided to mix the ingredients in my food processor. The final texture was fine, but they lacked a bit of something--perhaps salt. Because of the raw egg, it is hard to pre-taste these. I did cook a few tests in the microwave, but they came out differently from how they tasted baked in the oven. I agree with the other reviewers that maybe they could use a dip like sour cream. Nevertheless, a very handy appetizer that can be made ahead. This is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B. Licious December 05, 2010
Spinach Balls (appetizer)