Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Balls

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on December 21, 2002

      Tasted great- however, I needed to add alot more stuffing mix to make them dry enough to make into balls- and I drained the spinach very well. I almost doubled the amount of stuffing. I will make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      OMG!!! THESE ARE SOOOOOOOOO GOOD!! Made them today to freeze and take for appetizers on Thanksgiving. Had to try to see how they tasted and I have to quick get them in the freezer before I eat too many! I did make a few changes to original recipe. I only used 3 eggs, I only used 1/4 cup melted butter and sprayed the balls with a little cooking spray before putting them in the oven, I also added 5 grated cloves of garlic and only 1/2 tsp salt. I also used 2 16oz packages frozen spinach so I used 3 cups stuffing mix. SO DELICIOUS!!! LOVE EM!!! Can't wait to share!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Very good- will make again. I don't think it's the liquid in the spinach (squeezed well). I think it's the amount of eggs. Next time I'll use 3 eggs instead of 6. I had to double the amount of stuffing this first time. 1-1-10-- I made again last night and cut in 1/2-- started with 1 egg, but added another after everything was mixed together. Yummy, and there were none left to bring home when the party was over.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      I am SOOO glad I didn't rate these when I first made them. I HATED them when they first came out of the oven, so much so that I almost threw them out! However, I decided to put them in the refrigerator and take them with me to visit my parents in a couple days so they could try them. I microwaved a couple, let them take a bite, and prepared for the "Ewww!"s I figured were coming. HOWEVER, they LOVED them! They raved and raved over them, as did my uncle. I tried one...Yep, MUCH better! Straight out of the oven, the texture was weird...crunchy on the outside. And they were SOOO salty-tasting. But, 2 days later, delish! My family has already requested these for Thanksgiving. Thank you! **Update** I forgot to add that I also had to add quite a bit more stuffing than called for, even though I decreased the number of eggs to 4. Next time, I'll be sure to drain the spinach a little better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2003

      I love these! They are sort of strange looking, but not 1 person could eat just one. They went over well. I did however use only 2 eggs and substituted lots of chopped garlic for the salt. Will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      I made this for my Feed the Cooks dinner after a church event at which they worked very hard. The balls were gobbled up post haste. Having no herb stuffing mix (I don't use many prepackaged things), I used panko and seasoned it myself. At the end I added another 1/2 to 1 cup of panko and about 1/2 cup mozzerella. Both additions were a good choice. Could use a little kosher salt before they go in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      These were SO SO SO good! I made a few changes based on previous reviews and they came out perfect. I could hardly stop eating them.

      I only used 3 eggs, about 3 cups of herbed stuffing cubes from a bag, and accidentally used a whole stick of melted butter.

      Really, really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2011

      Very good (I used my own breadcrumbs and spice mix). One guest suggested using feta cheese next time... since there WILL be a next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      These are great and very easy to make. You can also use a stuffing mix and use the herb packet instead of the spices listed in the recipe and it works great. The other trick is to chill the mix and it will form into balls much easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      HUGE hit! I made my own bread crumbs by using my favorite whole wheat bread (Complete Protein by Alvarado St. Bakery), baking it for about thirty minutes in a 350 oven, then adding it along with spices to the food processor. I only used 1/2 of a medium sized onion. Like others reduced the eggs to three and sub-ed fresh garlic (two cloves) for the garlic salt. I used shredded instead of grated parm and it seemed to work out well. I didn't add the thyme because of all the herbs that were in my bread crumbs. I added a few pinches of cayenne. They ended up needing about 35 minutes to get toasty and they were sizzling in all that butter! They filled the kitchen with a lovely rich smell and were gone faster than any other dish on the table. It is possible to make a vegetarian Southern side! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      These were fabulous! I have been making a spinach ball recipe shared by a friend for about 25 years. My brother loves them, so I make them every year for our family dinner. This year, I misplaced my recipe card and couldn't remember the quantities of ingredients, decided to check on Recipe Zaar to compare. I made this recipe instead. It's even better than the one I've been using all these years. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      This is a recipe I have been making for years except mine called for 5 eggs instead of 6. It freezes well and is always a crowd pleaser. I have used this as a side dish as well. I like to serve mine with a quick mustard dip made with dijon, mayo, sour cream and red wine vinegar. It is outstanding! Thanks for posting Jamie Renee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great....big hit at Thanksgiving....sooooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      I followed the advice of the other reviewers and reduced the eggs to 4 and patted the spinach dry with paper towels. The spinach balls formed beautifully. They were very nice and uniform. My BF enjoyed some hot from the oven and I am freezing the others for appetizers for Thanksgiving. This recipe was something fun and different and tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      I thought these were so delicious! They do sort of taste like "spinach stuffing"; I added one whole red onion (instead of two small onions), and this gave it an extra zing! Really good - I will definitely make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      I have made these a few times, and they are a big hit. They don't look the best, but everyone loves them. I use half bread crumbs and half stuffing mix. I also use all of the eggs, but use minced onion instead of the 2 small onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2005

      I made these again and followed the recipe to a t. The tablespoon of garlic salt seemed like too much. I think I used fresh garlic previously.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      Excellent! Very addictave. I had left over stuffing from Thanksgiving, so I used it. Added chopped smoked oysters, used 3 eggs & less butter as the stuffing was already moist. Had to add crumbled buttered crackers to absorb some of the moisture...But very-very excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      I've been making these for years. They're a family favorite. If you like spinach, you won't be disappointed! Great for the holiday's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      I squeezed out any excess moisture from the spiach and they turned out great, thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (1241 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 29.5
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    77%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 21.1 mg
    7%
    Sodium 39.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    herb stuffing mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites