22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Tasty. My kids ate this without any complaints which is always a plus! I made my own bread crumbs using sourdough bread and increased the frozen spinach to 28 oz and didn't have any problems with anything being too salty. These are easily portable; they worked well in the kid's lunchboxes and didn't last long enough to freeze. A real keeper for us!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patsyzettle January 23, 2011

5 stars because my KIDS loved them! What a great way to get that nutrition into them! Followed the recipe as written except for the garlic salt (used garlic powder instead) and had to use crushed saltines instead of bread crumbs. The only complaint was that I ran out of them! I'm thinking these would be good with ranch dip!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rhondalynne May 11, 2010

these were great! only change i made was to use stovetop stuffing instead of the seasoned breadcrumbs. they were a bit tedious to roll into balls, so i refrigerated the mixture until it firmed up a bit and then rolled up. i flash froze and threw into a large ziplock until i needed them, which was great because i was able to make them well in advance. thanks for posting, will make again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD February 12, 2010

These are great! I even had several teenagers liking them. I made ahead of time, froze, thawed that day, and baked a few minutes before serving. Great recipe. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie December 07, 2007

These were amazing! I halved the recipe and I'm glad I did or I would have eaten them all! I found them flavourful and as I cooked mine for 30 mins they were fantastically crispy YUM YUM YUM! It is worth noting that prior to the chilling the mix can look a little loose and sticky don't be tempted to add anything else, they firm up beautifully

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PinkCherryBlossom October 10, 2006

I agree with everyone-these were really good. It was an excellent way to get some extra spinach into our diets. I didn't make any changes-it was a very good recipe, as is. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookieMonster2323 October 27, 2013

My family hasn't had a holiday without these in at least 20 years. They were a favorite to me as a child and still are as an adult. They are also great to make ahead because they freeze very well. Just take them out the day of serving and pop them in the oven to warm them and they taste like you just made them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nluchs August 16, 2009

Made & reviewed for the Kid Friendly Forum's Recipe of the Week. I'm trying to catch up on all my reviews & this one has been a long time coming! We all liked these spinach balls & I loved how well they froze & cooked up afterwards. They make a nice afterschool snack too! Thanks MommyMakes for a great recipe :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Um Safia October 23, 2008

Oh, these are SO good and SO easy! I only had a 16-oz bag of spinach so I adjusted the measurements (and, since I eat low-carb, I used ground pork rinds in place of the bread crumbs). Well, I wish I'd gone to the store for more spinach. Much, much more. These are yummy, and even though my kids will probably adore them, they aren't going to get a chance tonight. This batch is mine, mine, MINE!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VenomousKate October 07, 2006

Wow, these were really more-ish! I know it says 10 servings but I could quite happily have eaten them all myself! I also used garlic powder, made my own breadcrumbs and went with 1/2 cup butter. I was a bit worried they wouldn't stick together or that the butter would melt everywhere while baking but I had no problems. A nice way to make spinach fancy and you certainly can't argue with the taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville February 13, 2006
Spinach Balls