Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Balls

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2010

      these were great! only change i made was to use stovetop stuffing instead of the seasoned breadcrumbs. they were a bit tedious to roll into balls, so i refrigerated the mixture until it firmed up a bit and then rolled up. i flash froze and threw into a large ziplock until i needed them, which was great because i was able to make them well in advance. thanks for posting, will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      These are great! I even had several teenagers liking them. I made ahead of time, froze, thawed that day, and baked a few minutes before serving. Great recipe. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      Oh, these are SO good and SO easy! I only had a 16-oz bag of spinach so I adjusted the measurements (and, since I eat low-carb, I used ground pork rinds in place of the bread crumbs). Well, I wish I'd gone to the store for more spinach. Much, much more. These are yummy, and even though my kids will probably adore them, they aren't going to get a chance tonight. This batch is mine, mine, MINE!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      I agree with everyone-these were really good. It was an excellent way to get some extra spinach into our diets. I didn't make any changes-it was a very good recipe, as is. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2013

      Going to do these at an upcoming dinner party. So glad to see the review about thawing before baking. Was wondering if you baked them while still frozen, would they be thoroughly heated in that time frame? Thanks CaramelPie for the info.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      Very disappointed in these. Very bland - no taste and I followed the recipe. They definitely need something. My opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      Tasty. My kids ate this without any complaints which is always a plus! I made my own bread crumbs using sourdough bread and increased the frozen spinach to 28 oz and didn't have any problems with anything being too salty. These are easily portable; they worked well in the kid's lunchboxes and didn't last long enough to freeze. A real keeper for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      OMG!!! Just made these for a Christmas appy 2 days before...Yum-Oh! Made 6, just to try them before feeding them to the masses..and, WOW. Only thing I did different was I used alot of mrs. dash seasoning and dried minced onion instead of "real onion". Again, wow. Something so simple, and tastes complex. My bf and I are eating the 6 as I type, and he's begging me to get the rest out of the freezer lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      I did not like these. But the good thing is that my 2 yr old and a friends 1 yr old ate them. Hey, anything to get them to eat there veggies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      5 stars because my KIDS loved them! What a great way to get that nutrition into them! Followed the recipe as written except for the garlic salt (used garlic powder instead) and had to use crushed saltines instead of bread crumbs. The only complaint was that I ran out of them! I'm thinking these would be good with ranch dip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      I was a little drunk when i ate these so i cant give the most accurate review, i will make these again eventually and review again. I enjoyed these althouugh i remember them being a little too salty, but everyone else still loved these! TY MommyMakes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      This was a great way to get my 1 and 3 year old to eat their spinach. I have to say it was a great hit and will make again. I made a couple variations by adding some townhouse crackers along with a box of stuffing mix. I also rolled the balls into the parm. cheese to add the finishing touches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      My family hasn't had a holiday without these in at least 20 years. They were a favorite to me as a child and still are as an adult. They are also great to make ahead because they freeze very well. Just take them out the day of serving and pop them in the oven to warm them and they taste like you just made them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      Made & reviewed for the Kid Friendly Forum's Recipe of the Week. I'm trying to catch up on all my reviews & this one has been a long time coming! We all liked these spinach balls & I loved how well they froze & cooked up afterwards. They make a nice afterschool snack too! Thanks MommyMakes for a great recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      Have been looking for this recipe forever. yummy, just like I remember from years ago.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      The kids and I made this and while they did not really eat them I thought they were great for something different. I think if I try it a couple more times with the kids they will eat them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      These were amazing! I halved the recipe and I'm glad I did or I would have eaten them all! I found them flavourful and as I cooked mine for 30 mins they were fantastically crispy YUM YUM YUM! It is worth noting that prior to the chilling the mix can look a little loose and sticky don't be tempted to add anything else, they firm up beautifully

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      I'm not the hugest fan of spinach but I thought these were good. I double the recepie because I was taking them to big party. I gave the 4 stars because everyone else at the party that I took them to loved them! They were a big hit! And very simple to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2006

      I made these into a square and the kids raved over them...it helps they love the old popeye cartoons!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      Wow, these were really more-ish! I know it says 10 servings but I could quite happily have eaten them all myself! I also used garlic powder, made my own breadcrumbs and went with 1/2 cup butter. I was a bit worried they wouldn't stick together or that the butter would melt everywhere while baking but I had no problems. A nice way to make spinach fancy and you certainly can't argue with the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 214.8
     
    Calories from Fat 160
    74%
    Total Fat 17.8 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 115.4 mg
    38%
    Sodium 372.8 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites