Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach, Bacon and Mushroom Quiche Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach, Bacon and Mushroom Quiche

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on September 05, 2010

      Well, my husband just told me that this is the best quiche he's ever had, and I agree. I used mushrooms, spinach (pre-cooked) and swiss cheese. Thanks for a good basic recipe, I look forward to playing around with it and seeing how many delicious combinations I can come up with.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2014

      Oh my what a yummy, yummy, delicious quiche! I prepared exactly as directed and it turned out wonderfully. This definitely is a keeper. Thanks evelyn/athens!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      Just YUMMY Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      Turned out great! I added some breakfast sausage to make it a little more meaty! This pie was a hit everyone loved it! I'm making it again this weekend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      Took a risk and made 2 of these for the first time to bring to a pot luck breakfast.....just wooooonderful!!!! Can't wait to make it again! THANK YOU!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      Very good. I used less creamcheese and swiss than called for. There was too much filling for the pie crust, so saved it and made some in a skillet the next day. I will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      I will definitely be making this quiche again. I made as is except for subbing the fresh spinach for frozen. I'm a cheddar cheese girl but gave the swiss a try and it was great. Can't wait to try it with cheddar. Thanks for the recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

    • on June 05, 2008

      This is one of my favorite breakfast recipies. I found it when searching for church breakfast food. I also use it often for as a dish for company, as well as taking to homes of shut ins, illness, and death in family situations. Many have asked for the recipe. As for cheese choice, I opt for using swiss in the custard and the cheddar for the last 10 minute topping. It gives a nice browing effect that way. I too use a pre-made pie crust and have found that it can be molded into an 8x8 pan which makes for easier serving at functions. The recipe can be doubled and used in a 13x9 also. It freezes wonderfully, so double it, make two pies and freeze one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      I just finished cooking this. I couldn't stop munching on the filling as I was preparing it. I had the problem as Pamela, the filling was to much for the crust. This was my first quiche I have ever made, so I didn't eyeball it very well, I put the filling in and wound up having to take some out, I could only use one cup of cheese, and the custard was to much, too. I had to spoon some out. I still give it 5 stars though, because it is SUPER SUPER, YUMMY!! Charlee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

    • on March 24, 2005

      This was good. I used No-Fail Pie Crust for the crust. for the cheese I used mild cheddar. The only problem that I had was that the filling was too much for the crust and I could not add it all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2005

    • on March 18, 2005

      Everyone has a good reason for selecting recipes to prepare; I am no exception. My favourite ingredient in this recipe is portabello mushrooms; this was the draw. I am happy, Chef, that your ingredients list an either/or for cheddar/swiss cheese. At first, I toyed with the idea of mixing the two cheeses, but, in fairness to your recipe, instructions were followed with no alteration. I opted for only swiss cheese, because of the consistency.. It is really quite excellent for any quiche recipe and blends well with cream cheese. Perhaps next time I will mix the two cheeses to decide on a preference... No additional salt is required, because of cheese and bacon. Your reminder to the user, of the salt ingredient in the cheese is wise; perhaps that same alert could be applied to the bacon.... Ingredients quantities to create this very tasty quiche resulted in quite an excellent dish and successful lunch. I love it that the quiche was dense, while not dry, and moist enough without being "soppy". I hate disappointing recipes and am happy with the result. Lunch was served with an accompaniment of mixed greens and simple EVOO and Balsamic vinegar dressing. This recipe is a keeper, and I would definitely cook it again, and not hesitate to recommend it. Thank you for sharing your talent. Footnote: Important detail. I am not sure what you meant by .... "put the quiche directly on the oven floor"..etc. My oven is electric and the configuration of the heat element would not allow for this step without serious injury. I moved the rack to the lowest position and it worked quite well... Chef, you might wish to consider clarifying this step to accommodate electric ovens as well as gas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      I used a refrigerated pie crust and this recipe made a deep dish quiche. There is plenty of filling in this excellent quiche. It has a wonderful creamy texture and is plenty cheesy from the cream cheese & the cheddar I used. I did substitute a 10 oz box of frozen spinach for the fresh. After squeezing it dry, it worked well and is much less expensive. My only tiny complaint is that neither salt nor pepper are listed in the ingredients and I just guessed at an amount to use. Both DH and I rated this recipe 5 stars. Great job and good luck in the contest!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2005

      I use 10 ounces of frozen spinach which I defrosted and squeezed if excess liquid. I blended the cream cheese, eggs, water and powdered milk till blended. This just filled the pie crust to the rim. I didn`t see the use for the breadcrumbs. That can be skipped. This is loaded with cheese so I opted to leave out the 1/2 cup for the topping. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2005

      Delicious and wonderful for a light supper with a loaf of crusty bread! I used the cheddar cheese option but next time I'll try it with swiss. Also thanks for the helpful hint about using the bread crumbs in the bottom of the crust - it worked great and I will be using that tip again and again. Thanks for posting your quiche recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2005

      It was hard for me to decide how to rank this recipe, it tastes really good but it is way too wet. After we sliced it and removed a piece liquid promptly ran out into the area where the piece had been. I am giving it four stars because it really does taste great. In spite of the wetness, we very much enjoyed the combination of flavours in this quiche, cooking the onion and mushrooms in the bacon fat really brings out the bacon flavour. If not for that, I would rank it much lower due to the wetness. The 1 tablespoon of dry breadcrumbs didn't even come close to soaking up all the liguid. I did not put the quiche on the floor of my oven since there is an electrical element there but I really doubt if that would have helped in getting rid of all the extra liquid anyway. I think the answer is just not to add so much water to begin with. I would guess that 2/3 to 3/4 cup of water instead of 1 cup would make a much better result without having to attempt to either soak up or boil off the excess. I think this recipe could be a 5 star with a bit of tweaking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach, Bacon and Mushroom Quiche

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 668.6
     
    Calories from Fat 487
    72%
    Total Fat 54.1 g
    83%
    Saturated Fat 23.6 g
    118%
    Cholesterol 226.1 mg
    75%
    Sodium 882.5 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 24.0 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites