12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

How can there be 10 positive reviews for this salad and not one person mention that the ingredients list does not mention spinach at all, yet in the directions it says to add it. How much?? Also, in the ingredients list it says 8 oz of swiss cheese, RINSED. WHAT??? THIS SALAD WAS A DISASTER for my Easter dinner. Even though I did not "rinse the swiss cheese" Perhaps the author can correct and clarify this recipe so I can see what it is really supposed to taste like.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pmm April 10, 2010

Outstanding. Fixed it for my non-adventurous girlfriend, who immediately insisted I give her the recipe. Wonderful combination of flavors. beautiful on the plate. A winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gardenforhealth June 23, 2006

Wow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tadabbott April 14, 2006

This combination is surprisingly good! I cooked the asparagus, as directed. I didn't have raspberry vinegar, so I used some raspberry vinegrette I had on hand. Also, my husband can't have walnuts, so I substituted pinenuts. This salad was a big hit with everyone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wildolive May 18, 2005

A very good salad. I thought that roasting the asparagus brought out its flavor nicely. I had the very skinny kind, so only roasted it about 9 minutes, stirring it 3 times. I also doubled the walnuts and did not chop them because I love their taste so much. I used the basalmic vinegar this time, but might try the raspberry in the future. I might also cut the strawberries into smaller pieces so the flavor is more spread out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna Matthews April 12, 2005

This is excellent salad! I did make a few alterations though. I added 2 oz fresh raspberries and 1/4 cup sugar to the vinaigrette, then strained out the seeds. Heads up- serve this immediately after tossing with the vinaigrette, because the spinach wilts quite a bit on contact! Didn't stop us though...YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChipotleChick March 18, 2005

Great Great Recipe. Here are the changes that i made to it. First, DO NOT COOK the asparagus, much better raw. As well, I added whole baby bok choy to it which really complemented all the flavors. As well, instead of regular spinach i got the thai/purple spinach which gave it more color. As for the vinagrette, I'm still unsure if people put oil in their vinagrette, I didn't just raspberries, vinegar salt and pepper. This thing was amazing... But not cooking the aspargus i think is the most important part.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pastorpeace February 13, 2005

The whole family loved this. Get the freshest ingredients you can find. Rave reviews from my husband who usually passes on salads.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksenko May 07, 2004

Another 5 star recipe for Barb! I enjoyed this so much! I had everything on hand including the raspberry vinegar so it was very easy to put together for a light supper. I really enjoyed the asparagus, stawberry and spinach combination. The toasted walnuts added just the right touch! Thanks so much, Barb, for a new salad recipe I am sure will be made many, many more times in my house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev April 03, 2004
Spinach, Asparagus, and Strawberry Salad