71 Reviews

A very nice autumnal salad. Served this last night with sausage and pumpkin pasta (#15276) for our annual pumpkin carving dinner party. All went well and I recieved compliments all around. A few changes I made to the salad: I was out of pecans so I used walnuts and as one of my dinner guests is alergic to raw apples I replaced them with pomegranate seeds- pretty and TASTEY! This is a keeper.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex October 31, 2002

If I could give this recipe more than 5 stars I would! The dressing is wonderful - sweet yet slightly tart, too, and the combination of apples, toasted pecans and spinach is terrific. I doubled the dressing ingredients (the single recipe just did not look like enough), substituted a Granny Smith apple, and used a 6 oz. package of baby spinach. Perfection! My kids gave it a thumbs up as well. We will definitely be making this one again and again.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miss gracie November 03, 2002

Sharlene, you and Junebug made me a star at a family get together. I used organic baby spinach about 12 ounces. This salad should receive more than 5 stars. I let the apples and onion marinade in the sauce. Junebug's Baked Corn Casserole #36673.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Young Living in Texas November 18, 2002

Wonderful salad and dressing! Only change I made was that I used walnuts because I didn't have pecans. The whole family loved it, and I have another half of a package of spinach to use to make it again tonight!!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sudie November 04, 2002

I served this over the weekend w/chicken and cannellini soup. Yummy! Thanks for posting!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeahMarie January 27, 2003

Definitely lives up the the reviews! Was nervous the dressing may not make enough, but it was perfect. Soaked the onions in the dressing for about 20 minutes, which took out the bite. Also substituted honey for sugar and candied the pecans. Will definitely make again, possibly including goats cheese.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m.lowenberg December 29, 2011

Yummy but hard to pick up the nuts on your fork. DD (toddler) even liked it a lot too. I did add sweetened dried cranberries like another reviewer but would not do so again. I used unrefined extra virgin olive oil, organic apple cider vinegar, regular mustard, local liquid honey instead of sugar to be much healthier, sea salt, peeled Mackintosh apple because it was not organic and the type I had on hand but I would like to try this with the called for kind of apple, vindalia onion instead of red onion out of preference, baby spinach mixed with baby arugula as that is what I had on hand (was fine and may do so again), I toasted the pecans in a dry pan, no sugar for health reasons, plus the freshly ground black pepper. I will try this again with the called for type of apple insha Allah (God willing).

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat October 01, 2011

I served this to my husband for our second anniversary dinner. We both enjoyed it. My husband called it a do-over, meaning that he wants me to make it again. What a delicious salad. Thanks for contributing to a romantic evening.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J Wa March 08, 2004

Only change I made was using a blend of wine and white vinegar in place of the apple cider. Turned out great- everyone loced this. Served it with a gingered carrot soup and cheese lasagna. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl November 17, 2003

Wonderful salad! My husband especially loves it. It is so simple and delicious. I have used walnuts and macadamia nuts when I did not have pecans and it was still great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb from Ca November 10, 2011
Spinach, Apple and Pecan Salad