Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach, Apple and Pecan Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach, Apple and Pecan Salad

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2002

      A very nice autumnal salad. Served this last night with sausage and pumpkin pasta (#15276) for our annual pumpkin carving dinner party. All went well and I recieved compliments all around. A few changes I made to the salad: I was out of pecans so I used walnuts and as one of my dinner guests is alergic to raw apples I replaced them with pomegranate seeds- pretty and TASTEY! This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2002

      If I could give this recipe more than 5 stars I would! The dressing is wonderful - sweet yet slightly tart, too, and the combination of apples, toasted pecans and spinach is terrific. I doubled the dressing ingredients (the single recipe just did not look like enough), substituted a Granny Smith apple, and used a 6 oz. package of baby spinach. Perfection! My kids gave it a thumbs up as well. We will definitely be making this one again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2002

      Sharlene, you and Junebug made me a star at a family get together. I used organic baby spinach about 12 ounces. This salad should receive more than 5 stars. I let the apples and onion marinade in the sauce. Junebug's Baked Corn Casserole #36673.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2002

      Wonderful salad and dressing! Only change I made was that I used walnuts because I didn't have pecans. The whole family loved it, and I have another half of a package of spinach to use to make it again tonight!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2003

      I served this over the weekend w/chicken and cannellini soup. Yummy! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2004

      I served this to my husband for our second anniversary dinner. We both enjoyed it. My husband called it a do-over, meaning that he wants me to make it again. What a delicious salad. Thanks for contributing to a romantic evening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      Only change I made was using a blend of wine and white vinegar in place of the apple cider. Turned out great- everyone loced this. Served it with a gingered carrot soup and cheese lasagna. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      This salad is awesome! I made a double batch and took it to a party and it was wonderful. As per a suggestion, I soaked the purple onions in ice water to take out some of the "sting" while I prepped the rest of the ingredients. I also added 4oz of crumbled blue cheese to my double batch and it was just the hint of cheese I like, but is not necessary at all - the other flavors are great together. Definitely a keeper! Thanks, Sharlene.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      Definitely lives up the the reviews! Was nervous the dressing may not make enough, but it was perfect. Soaked the onions in the dressing for about 20 minutes, which took out the bite. Also substituted honey for sugar and candied the pecans. Will definitely make again, possibly including goats cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      Wonderful salad! My husband especially loves it. It is so simple and delicious. I have used walnuts and macadamia nuts when I did not have pecans and it was still great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      Awesome salad, loved the freshness & tartness of this. Great fall salad, will be serving @ Thanksgiving dinner. Thanks for the wonderful recipe Sharlene!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      Yummy but hard to pick up the nuts on your fork. DD (toddler) even liked it a lot too. I did add sweetened dried cranberries like another reviewer but would not do so again. I used unrefined extra virgin olive oil, organic apple cider vinegar, regular mustard, local liquid honey instead of sugar to be much healthier, sea salt, peeled Mackintosh apple because it was not organic and the type I had on hand but I would like to try this with the called for kind of apple, vindalia onion instead of red onion out of preference, baby spinach mixed with baby arugula as that is what I had on hand (was fine and may do so again), I toasted the pecans in a dry pan, no sugar for health reasons, plus the freshly ground black pepper. I will try this again with the called for type of apple insha Allah (God willing).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      Quick, easy and great tasting salad. I toasted the pecans for 10 minutes at 350 and as suggested by a fellow reviewer, I added blue cheese crumbles - great addition. I served it as part of my Valentine's menu - filet of beef, garlic roasted potatoes, mushroom gravy. Sharlene, thank you for the posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      This might be my favorite salad. Thanks!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      excellent salad, great with blue cheese crumbles!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      This is definitely a do-again! Made for Valentines Day 2010. I actually had cranberry stilton in my cheese drawer - a good suggestion. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      Wonderful dressing! Since you liked the dijon, I used a seeded stone ground, this could not have been tastier. I added sliced egg since I had it on hand, I couldn't stop eating this! Thanks for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      Very yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      Yum, yum, yum! I only had Braeburn apples and it came out terrific. The dijon is perfect with this too. The only different twist I did was adding just a touch of cinnamon to the nuts at the end of the toasting. They smelled so good and I also finished them with a pinch of salt before cooling. If you are worried about the red onions being to strong, soak them in cold water for a few minutes. Will definately keep this recipe on file.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Made this for a girls get-together to complement a quiche. Very very good! We loved the sugared pecans and found ourselves licking the salad bowl clean =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach, Apple and Pecan Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.1
     
    Calories from Fat 184
    74%
    Total Fat 20.5 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 401.9 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    37%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites