Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach and Spaghetti Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach and Spaghetti Casserole

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2007

      I thought this recipe was great as-is; the lack of "cream of" soups is one of the reasons I wanted to make it. I used whole-wheat pasta, low-fat sour cream, skim milk, added some garlic, and I used a handful of parmesan (& then more at the table). We didn't find this dry at all. It's not saucy, but the casserole was moist & flavorful. The only change I'd make is to saute the onions first - they weren't quite cooked all the way and were pretty strong. But, DH & I both enjoyed this, and it also reheats really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      This was really tasty! To combat the dryness others mentioned I left the spinach undrained and doubled the sour cream; it seemed to have the perfect amount of moisture. I used jack cheese with jalapeños and thought the added spice was very nice. Next time I might add a few cloves of chopped garlic. Thanks for a great recipe Marsha! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2014

      Excellent recipe. I love it because you can make changes and not mess it up. Add cooked mushrooms if you like mushrooms. Add more cheese and milk (or cream) if you like it "saucier". Use spicy Monterey Jack if you like it spicier. Use more spinach if you are a spinach lover. Or leave it just like it is! Anyway you make it is great! Very simple and easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      Love this...and so does my 1 year old son! This is going on the repeat list!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      My husband liked this recipe, but I wasn't overly impressed. I was really excited since we love all the ingredients, but the final outcome wasn't what I hoped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      I had high hopes for this recipe, but it fell a little short. It was dry and bland. I liked the idea that it didn't call for a cream of soup, but it needs something for more moisture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      DH and I loved this! Used whole wheat angel hair pasta, added fresh mushrooms and one large chicken breast. Also added a can of fat-free cream of mushroom soup for a little more moisture as suggested by another reviewer. Had to use an Italian blend bag of cheese since I didn't have any monterey jack on hand. Made it a day ahead of time and it was wonderful the next day when reheated. I know I'll be making this regularly...thanks for a great post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      YUMMY! I doubled this and added 1 lb diced chicken breast which I sauteed in 2T of olive oil along with the onion. I cooked it just until the onions began to carmelize. I used fat-free sour cream and skim milk as well as whole wheat pasta. This is great as is....but I like the idea of adding mushrooms. I could also see adding a can of black beans. I wonder what this would taste like with other cheeses.....swiss? provolone? Thanks for a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      Sure, I changed it up here and there, but what a GREAT recipe! Adapt away, folks. (The comments here will give ya some great ideas.) My one suggestion: mushrooms! OMG, it's such a good dish! TY, TY, Marsha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      This casserole made a great meatless dinner for me and my husband. It was a perfect way to eat more spinach. I added a can of cream of celery soup and used pepper-jack cheese, it tasted wonderful. Thanks for such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      Fantastic side dish! My husband told me that I had outdone myself with this one. I did however make a few changes. I carmelized the onions in a little bit of butter and threw in some fresh garlic. I also sauted my spinach in this as well. I took the advice of the others and added a can of cream of onion soup to it. I was extremely generous with the parmesan cheese...this dish was amazing! Absolutely loved it. Thank you so much for helping me find another way to cook spinach!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2005

      Fabulous recipe: SO flavoursome and so easy to make. And great for occasions when you need a tasty vegetarian dish. I followed the suggestion of several reviewers and added the can of soup and it did seem essential to add that extra moisture. I doubled the recipe and used three eggs. I also added some herbs: thyme, marjoram and basil. And because I love spinach – it’s what had initially drawn me to the recipe – I doubled the amount of spinach: I used 4 packets of thawed, thoroughly drained and squeeze-dried frozen spinach. I cooked it covered with kitchen foil, except for the last 10 minutes. I served it on two separate occasions, one at work to colleagues and everyone loved it. For the next couple of hours, people coming into the room kept commenting on the delicious smell! It smelt lovely when being cooked and when reheated. And everyone just loved it. I do urge you to make this, and to make it with the angel hair pasta. I’d never used it before, so as well as having discovered a wonderful new recipe, I’ve discovered a lovely new pasta. I’ll be making this again often. Next time, I’ll probably add garlic. I was going to this time, but I had run out of garlic! Thank you so much, Marsha D, for a truly wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2005

      This was a good recipe, however we did add a can of cream of mushroom soup and baked it covered for 50 minutes, and uncovered for 10 minutes. It wasn't dry, but it wasn't as moist as I expected either. Otherwise, we liked it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2005

      I would give this 10 stars if I could. It was absolutely WONDERFUL! I did follow the suggestion of adding the cream of mushroom soup and it turned out great. I also messed up and got pepper jack cheese instead of the regular monterey jack. I was afraid it would be too spicy, DH not too fond of spicy food, but it added just a little kick. He loved it! I also left it covered for 30 minutes instead of the fifteen, thinking that could have something to do with the drying out. Turned out perfectly. This is going to be a regular dish in our house from now on! Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2005

      The flavor of this recipe was very nice. I used a little bit of minced onion instead of fresh and added a little bit more milk. The end result was a little dry. I think I might try decreasing the cooking time or adding more sour cream next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2005

      I liked this recipe alot. My kids liked it. The only thing I might add is more moisture, such as cream of mushroom. Had good flavor, but mine was dry when I pulled it out of the oven. Thanks for a good keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach and Spaghetti Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.1
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    53%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 59.1 mg
    19%
    Sodium 371.0 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 12.1 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites