Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach and Onion Couscous Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach and Onion Couscous

    Average Rating:

    85 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 85

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2011

      I love couscous and was excited to try a new version. I'm glad I did, because this is delicious.
      I did make some changes - extra clove of garlic, vege stock instead of chicken, fresh baby spinach, pine nuts instead of pecans and I added some fresh basil at the end.
      Delicious :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      My husband went crazy over this! We love couscous to begin with, and love spinach, so the two mixed together with the garlic and onions and pecans was just delicious! I used fresh spinach instead of frozen - so I used two Dole bags of fresh baby spinach (6oz each) so it cooked down to about the same size as a 10oz frozen package. Just a note, when toasting your pecans, make sure to keep an close eye on them. They can burn pretty quickly if you don't be careful, which I learned the hard way. Loved the nuttiness this added to the dish though. We will definitely be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      What a fantastic side dish. I served this with fish last night and we loved it. I almost skipped the pecans but decieded to use and am so glad I did, they add a nice nuttyness to the dish. (duh...lol) My kids ate alot of this, and I loved seeing them eat the spinach. Thank you so much for the great side, we will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      The whole family loved it!..Used fresh spinach, feta and romano cheese, added strips of zucchini and yellow squash and walnuts. Sauteed chicken chunks first with the onion and garlic and threw in water instead of the broth. Fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2014

      I made this tonight,to go with the smoked Turkey my hubby made on the grill. The only thing I changed was I added some fresh mushrooms, I needed to use. I used Israelis couscous, cuz I find the other kind very dry and I don't care for the texture. The mushrooms added such a depth of flavor. I did not add the nuts, not a fan of nuts in my food. Now I have to see how my honey likes it. I will keep you posted on his comments. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2014

      Excellent recipe. Fast to prepare. Only added more lemon juice. Exceptionally bright flavors. This is a repeat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2014

    • on December 30, 2013

      i love coucous and am looking for more ways to eat spinach. this recipe was perfect. it was easy to make and tasted great (even with just plain nuts, not toasted). thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2013

      This was the most amazing couscous recipe I have ever made.I used drained, canned, spinach. I didn't add pecans or any nuts, but I added feta cheese once it was already finished. I will make over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2012

      Great. Very easy to make. I didnt do the onion part and it was still fantastic

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      This is fantastic. My little anti-veggie brother loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      Wow! This is absolutely delicious! The number one Couscous I've ever made. (It was so good that I had to write something here for the first time.) Pecans added a surprise in texture & taste. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      Very tasty, though I wish my children would have eaten more of it. Easy, quick dish. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      I am giving this 4.5 stars. The only thing I did was increase the garlic and used fresh spinach. I added more broth b/c it did not seem enough. I will add a little more lemon next time. I served the parmesan cheese on the side. Easy side dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      Great! I've made this a number of times. Typically I use fresh spinach rather than frozen. I use a bit more onion and garlic per other reviews. Sometimes I also cube and cook fresh eggplant and it goes great in this recipe! I've used the pecans, or walnuts per others' suggestions. I like a touch less parmesan in this recipe. Thanks for posting, ratherbeswimmin', tasty couscous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      Very easy and made a great all-in-one side dish. I used veg broth, fresh spinach, and omitted the pecans as I was feeding this to someone who doesn't eat nuts. Loved it and will make it again - so much better than plain couscous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      This recipe is great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      I have been looking for ways to use more spinach. Yum! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      This was wonderful! I added feta and cut the nuts (didn't have them), but otherwise followed the recipe. Will make it again -- often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      My 2 yr old ate more of this than anything else tonight! I used fresh spinach and left out the nuts. Awesome recipe- thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach and Onion Couscous

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 7

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 316.7
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    38%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 9.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 392.1 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes