Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach and Mushroom Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach and Mushroom Casserole

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2003

      absolutely delicious! i used 2 bags of fresh spinach, sliced button and cremini mushrooms and followed the recipe. we really enjoyed this dish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      My family, including my 16 y/o dd all thought this was really good. I used a 12 oz bag of spinach and about 1 3/4 cup of fat free half & half. I also added a cooked and diced chicken breast. I thought there was plenty of spinach, but should have cut back to 1 tsp of salt (and I'm a salt lover). I also used a mixture of mozzerella, parmesan and cheddar cheeses. The casserole did turn out very watery, but it was due to the water that cooked out of the spinach, not the sauce. I tried soaking up as much as I could with paper towels, but there was still quite a bit of liquid at the bottom of the casserole dish. I just drained it as I was serving and it taste really good. I will try this again using swis and adding it between the layers as someone suggested. Thanks for yummy dish. **UPDATE** Made for Christmas dinner, but this time used a 15 oz bag of frozen spinach, well squeezed, and about 1 2/3 cup of cream, then mixed the spinach with the mushroom mixture and it was wonderful! It wasn't watery at all and my DH brought me the empty dish saying "for future reference, this was the first thing to go". I again used a mixture of mozzerella, parm and cheddar. Everyone loved it and commented on it. Thank you again - I will definitely be making this regularly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2004

      Please add another 5 Stars to my rating on this recipe. In the past week and a half I have made it three times... and will make it once again like manana.I initally used mozzarella cheese, but tomorrow I will try Swiss Cheese! I absolutely, positively love this recipe. Thanks Bev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2004

      All I can say is WOW!!!! Try this one, you will absolutely love it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2004

      Just wonderful, enjoyed every bite and will fix again often. ingrid in tampa

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2003

      Bev, this was outstanding. I have always loved the combination of spinach, mushrooms and swiss cheese. The only change I made was to add extra cheese between layers (love swiss cheese). This recipe will go into my permanent recipe file.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2003

      Wonderful, rich and savory spinach dish. I knew I would like this - Bev's recipes are always great, but this one is really wonderful.I used fresh spinach and followed the recipe exactly. Everyone raved over this and I thought it was fairly easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      I might try this again, with modifications. I too found it impossible (at least when using fresh chopped spinach) to get the full amount into the 1 1/2 qt casserole. It was too much liquid after baking. I used the water bath and even left it in 15 extra minutes in hopes of evaporating some off. The cheese on top became tough as a result:(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      This was delicious, but I just realized that I didn't follow the instructions, as far as preparation. I cooked the spinach first and then mixed the sauce with the spinach then put in the oven until it was browned on top. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      First I thought this was so tasty but I have to second what someone else said. If anyone can solve this problem I would love to hear how because I like the flavor. I must be missing something because I found it impossible to get 2 lbs of spinach in a 1.5 quart casserole. So, it came out way too watery. Also there was only enough of the mushroom mixture for 2 layers which didn't seem right given the abundance of fresh spinach. Totally confused by this recipe. Maybe it works better with frozen spinach?!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      This recipe was great. My husband and I like to make things that will serve as leftovers for lunches and this was not only delicious the night of, but also reheated excellently for the next day. (Or the next and the next,) We followed another suggestion and put cheese in between the layers and we've decided we like it alot more that way though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      I hate to write an unfavourable review, but I was really dissapointed with this recipe. It was easy to make and the consistency was very nice. For me, however, it lacked taste. I thought it might, so I doubled the amount of cheese and also added a splash of white wine to the sauce. But to no avail. Cream of muchroom soup with spinach - as an earlier review menioned - is what it sticking in my head. Sorry Bev!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      This is delicious! I've made it for Christmas dinner the past two years and it's always a hit. It even reheats very well and is fabulous as a 'left over' (if any!). Elegant - highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      didnt like it, sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      This was very good with our grilled pork tenderloin and wild rice pilaf. I did use light butter, fat free half and half and light Jarlsburg cheese to reduce the calories and fat ( we're always watching our waistlines around here! :)Even with the sustitutions, the dish was still rich-tasting and delicious. Thanks for posting this,Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      Delicious! I used only a small box of frozen spinach for this which worked out well, also added in fresh minced garlic and cayenne pepper and I used one small onion, this us over the top delicious and a perfect side dish for spinach-lovers like myself! thanks for sharing hon

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      I must be missing something because I found it impossible to get 2 lbs of spinach in a 1.5 quart casserole. So, it came out way too watery. Also there was only enough of the mushroom mixture for 2 layers which didn't seem right given the abundance of fresh spinach. Totally confused by this recipe. Maybe it works better with frozen spinach?!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      This is good. I've made it twice. Make sure you add the full amount of spinach called for or it will be too watery! :) It tastes similar to cream of mushroom soup with spinach and cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      OMG Good!! I served it as a side dish with #53914 Tilapia and some UB wild rice. My DH thought it was the best dinner ever- and on a Thursday night!! Used fresh sliced mushrooms, 1 pack frozen spinach,and FF 1/2&1/2. I added the spinach while the sauce was simmering on the stove instead of layering. I added parm chz to the top along with the swiss cheese- next time I think I will go with shedded parm chz only!! Will be a family favorite!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      I made this with fresh spinach and as directed. Recipe gets 5 stars for taste YUM-a-licious...but for presentation it was a bit runny. I used half and half. This would be so wonderful on baked potaotes! . Iserved with a honey baked ham and scalloped potatoes. I ended up eating this over the scalloped potatoes. Looking forward to leftovers tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach and Mushroom Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (329 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 438.9
     
    Calories from Fat 315
    71%
    Total Fat 35.0 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 21.3 g
    106%
    Cholesterol 108.3 mg
    36%
    Sodium 889.2 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 15.8 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites