10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved the tang of the mustard in this salad...I used a red apple and replace the walnuts with candied pecans...this is a keeper...next time I plan to throw in some dried cranberries and feta cheese...thanks for posting the recipe...:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas January 08, 2013

Wow Ann, this is a delicious recipe! I too used red skinned apples: gala which have that sweet tart added crunch to the spinach. I made it again using smooth Dijon mustard, left out the walnuts plus I added some bacon bits. Thanks for posting. Made for Honor Thy Mother, Diabetic tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo May 25, 2011

Quick and easy summer salad and we liked the simple yet delicious dressing. I only had red skinned apples on hand and substituted some baby arugula for part of the spinach leaves. I had a strong desire to add a fresh herb-basil or mint...? After cutting the apples and arranging on the greens I drizzled a little bit of the dressing on the apples to stop them from browning. Will make again! Reviewed for Veg Tag July.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl July 10, 2010

Great salad, and it made for a great lunch today. Like a couple others, I added a teaspoon sugar, and other than that made as posted. We enjoyed the flavor here, and it made for a perfect light lunch. Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker July 05, 2010

Really delicious how I changed it and added honey to the dressing. I used an unrefined (raw) extra virgin olive oil, organic apple cider vinegar (with the mother in it, the healthy type) I used a regular mustard as Dijon has wine which we do not consume for religious/health reasons, sea salt, mixed baby spinach and baby arugula (mostly spinach) I think I used a pink lady apple, which I peeled because it was not organic. I just warmed the walnuts to make this more of a raw food salad. Yummy enough that I would like to make it again. Made for Veggie Swap 24 ~ July 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat July 02, 2010

This was a nice salad, simple to make and a great flavor. It was a little tart, so next time I will take others suggestion and add a little sugar, but a great low calorie alternative.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser April 05, 2010

One step forward (puff), two steps backwards (puff puff). That's not only describing me on a diet (puff puffff), but on the treadmill (puffffff). Great salad to get me back on track. Made for Partying the Diabetic Way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng December 03, 2009

Excellent salad. I did add some red grapes. Also added 1 tsp of sugar as Sharon did. Wonderful, light salad. Thanks so much for sharing. Photo is forthcoming :) Made for Photo Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride November 25, 2009

Delicious! I did add about a tsp. of sugar to make it just like I love it! Thanks Annacia! Made for Newest Zaar Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 November 24, 2009

This was a very nice alternative to the higher fat spinach salads. I did toss in a handful of dried cranberries but other than that made it as per instructions. Made for *Partying the Diabetic Way*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG November 22, 2009
Spinach and Green Apple Salad, Diabetic