10 Reviews

I added boursin cheese to this recipe and it made it so good that everyone in my family scarfed it down so fast that they couldn't even wait for it to cool down and kept burning their mouths that's how good it was! For four entree size servings I used 4 eggs, 5 1/2 tbsp wheat flour, 10 oz spinach, 2 cups cottage cheese, 1/2 cup cheddar, dash pepper, dash nutmeg, dash salt (my addition), 2 tbsp boursin cheese (my addition), and I omitted the cayenne and wheat germ. This recipe is now a staple in our home.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolinerocks February 23, 2010

I'm sorry, but I made this recipe exactly as written, and didn't like it at all. I love spinach and cheese, and was sure I would like this, but it didn't turn out at all how I'd hoped. The pepper was the only thing I could taste, and otherwise it was kind of bland. Perhaps adding onion and/or garlic would improve it for me, as another reviewer suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah C in MN July 01, 2008

A nice healthy appetizer! I added chopped artichoke hearts (used box of frozen, thawed first). I added an extra egg to hold it together and also used fatfree ricotta instead of cottage cheese. Yummy! (and I did the flax seed like you did)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MA HIKER March 03, 2007

These were pretty good. Next time I think I'll reduce the cottage cheese to 1 cup and increase the cheddar to 3 cups. I prefer a little more cheesy flavor. I also used some garlic salt, and left out the nutmeg and wheat germ because I didn't have any.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zanni February 13, 2007

I'm really enjoying this recipe, both hot and cold. I used flax seed as another reviewer suggested. Thanks for a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie September 05, 2006

This is perfect. I am trying to loose weight and was looking for something low fat and healthy. This was so delicious! I left out the cayneen pepper and wheat germ. Didn't have any. I onlu made half but what I mistake. I could have eaten an entire pan. This will accompany me on many days to work. TRY THIS!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marilyn Collari August 21, 2005

I followed the recipe step by step, except that I have only made half of the recipe and added some salt. It was very easy to follow. Warm they are very tasty, but cold they are delicious snack. This snack would go well together with chicken breast or a green salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thorsten June 30, 2005

i'm sorry but i found this recipe a bit bland. if i was to try it again i might add some seasonings like garlic and onion powder. but thats just me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenkungfu June 05, 2005

I'm anxious to try this. It sounds so easy and so good. (My favorite kind of recipes!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Granny Connie May 05, 2005
Spinach and Cheese Squares