10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is very good. according to the reviews on the original site for this recipe it makes enough for 2 pies. I used 2 % milk instead of heavy cream as I don't like heavy rich food. And instead of Swiss I used Monterrey jack cheese. I purchased some honey baked ham and sauteed that and used that in place of the bacon. I don't like Swiss cheese. I used Grandma Lyna's Best Pie Crust Grandma Lyna's Best Pie Crust I have never had a pie crust that was as tender. For this pie crust I omitted sugar and added 1/2 tsp onion powder and 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Yum -- - - -

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady July 31, 2010

Very tasty. Don't know why, but the cooking time & temp shown didn't work great ...the top was really browned, but the inside was still liquid. I popped it in the microwave for a few minutes and it was perfect. Next time I'd cook longer on lower temp I think...maybe my oven..?? Really yummy though...even DH went back for seconds (after the before dinner comment.."We're having eggs for dinner? Quiche, really?" Thanks for posting.. !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kmac May 28, 2010

Excellent. I sub low fat ingredients w/ much success :O) Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Your Gourmet Girlfriend October 06, 2009

Very good quiche! I substituted chicken-feta-spinach sausages for the bacon, but left all other ingredients the same. Because of the ratio of milk/cream to eggs, I thought the texture was a bit "eggy", instead custard, creamy as I was expecting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema April 15, 2007

this recipe was very delicious i was scared of the swiss cheese but so happy i didnt change it...the kids had seconds...i will be making this again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amberluv29 July 24, 2013

I have to say "Thanks" to Paula and Manami. I am the greatest in the eyes of my family and it is due to this Quiche recipe. I followed the recipe almost to a "T" and it turns out perfect every time. The first time I mixed everything and poured into pie shell I thought it was to much. Not the case it was perfect and now I make it almost twice a month for family and friends. I have had it roll over the pie crust and had to put a cookie shut on the lower rack to catch drippings but the full crust and subsequent boil over make the crust take on a better taste. The only substitution to this recipe was with frozen baby spinach and it worked just as good. This is the first revue I have ever written on this site and it is due to this recipe. My wife who does not cook loves me for it. "I am the man" when I don't have an apron on. Thanks again Paula and Manami.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trackbuilder April 16, 2011

Very creamy quiche. For less carbs I bake in buttered square cake pan without a crust. This is an excellent high protein low carb breakfast or dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pastryismybiz March 10, 2007

YUM! I was just looking at this recipe on an airing today of her show and wanted to make it - then saw you have it here - I will DEFINITELY be making this - and will come back with a pic as soon as I do and a update!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva March 07, 2007

Thanks Di for a simple, but great tasting recipe, I only made a couple of changes, as I'm always concerned over DH's cholesterol used egg substitute and since there's only two of us halfed the recipe and used mini-quiche pans. It still made 4 personal size quiches and I was able to freeze two of them for later. Will definatly do this again and next time the extra for the two extra will just use bacon & cheese to satisfy my two picky grandsons.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 January 20, 2007

Wonderful Di!!!!!! Thank you, friend!!! Love, Becky

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
becky watkins December 10, 2006
Spinach and Bacon Quiche