Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Zucchini Omelet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Zucchini Omelet

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on August 15, 2011

      I wasn't sure about the herbs in the omelette, but after tasting was pleasantly surprised. This omelette really had great flavours and the tomato salsa and sour cream really gave it a great finish. I thought that the omelette needed longer cooking time as the top wasn't fully set prior to flipping over, so left in the pan longer to cook. Serves 3 nicely. Good luck in the competition. Photo also being posted.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      The omelet was not spicy as the title inferred. I only made half of this and was glad I did because it was very hard to fold as it was. I would have never been able to do it with 6 eggs. The taste was good and I enjoyed it even if it wasn't as pretty as it could have been. Good luck in the contest.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      I really enjoyed the omelette, and thought there was an even amount of flavour. I thought the combination of zucchini and sour cream did cool down the spicyness of the omelette, even though the spices were not overwhelming.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      It never occurred to me to add spices like cumin to an omelet, but it certainly is a great idea. I really enjoyed this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

      My usual omelette consists of spinach and mushrooms in egg whites so this omelet was a delicious change. The veggies were perfect but not too much. The method to making these is just like what I do (except for the water), so it must be good! LOL! The level of spice depends on the heat of your salsa and the freshness of the chill powder. I really enjoyed this with a bit of cheddar, a dollop of sour cream and of salsa on top. This is a terrific recipe so good luck in the contest. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      I scaled this down to 2 eggs and cooked a little less time. It was good, but I would saute the zucchini and onions next time to give even a little more flavor. Good with the salsa and sour cream. Thanks and good luck in the contest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      Great flavors in this omelet. I followed as written, but I would have preferred the onions and zucchini to be sauteed a little. I also think this would benefit from having a little ham and cheddar cheese added to the omelet. I really did like the spiciness of this dish. You don't really taste the zucchini in it which makes it a great dish for getting your veggies in. I had to cover the omelet during cooking to get the top to cook completely. Overall, a very good recipe. Good luck! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      I reduced the omelet to serve 2. The recipe was well written with easy to follow directions. The only change I made was to sprinkle the toppings with a little bit of grated cheddar cheese prior to folding. It was topped off with Greek yogurt in stead of the sour cream. Good luck in the contest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      Wonderful Mexican flavors that are very satisfying. Was so glad I squeezed the zucchini as advised or it would have been too moist. Thought about adding cheese but decided to make as written and was glad I did as there was enough flavor we did not miss the cheese. Due to the flavor and how nicely this turned out you know I will be making this again. Thanks for the post and good luck with the contest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      Made and reviewed for DINING ON A DOLLAR. This was hard for me! Nothing much wrong, but the recipe seemed a bit contrived. Because this is a contest, I followed the recipe exactly. But I did feel as if the spices, onion and grated zucchini should first have been fried together, and then added to the beaten eggs. That might have been a great flavour infusion. We did not mind the veggies going in raw, but it did seem like an afterthought, rather than integrated with the omelet. I used a lovely spicy tomato salsa, which added a kick. Although I followed instruction #4 I could see the omelet was not going to cook successfully on top, and finished it under my oven grill. However, no photo, as I broke the omelet when after folding it and manoevring it out of the pan, sorry! Good luck with the contest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Zucchini Omelet

    Serving Size: 1 (115 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 115.8
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    56%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 279.0 mg
    93%
    Sodium 183.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites