Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Yellow Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Yellow Rice

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 07, 2010

      Delicious! I doubled it and used thyme because I was out of oregano. I also only used 1/2 tsp of tumeric for the whole doubled amount. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      I sauteed the onions, peppers, garlic and spices then put it all in my rice cooker. A nice change from plain white rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      Delicious flavor! I actually had no turmeric, so I substituted 6 drops of yellow food coloring. I halved the butter and substituted 1/8 t ground chipotle pepper for the hot sauce; it turned out nice & spicy. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      This one is soooo good. I use to make a different one on this site but it has saffaron in it (which is very expensive). I love this one. Had everything on hand.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      This rice was WONDERFUL! No more packaged yellow rice mixes for us. I took it to a meal at our congregation and it was devoured in no time. The flavor is excellent, also you get all the health benefits of the turmeric and no MSG(as with the rice mixes)! Love it, love it, love it!!! Thanks for posting, Sharon123. UPDATE: I've made this wonderful rice again. I did not have green peppers this time, but I did have a can of diced green chilis on hand. Just as wonderful (and no waste!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      Although this yellow rice recipe is delicious, I prefer to make Vigo yellow rice. It is simple to make and tastes fabulous!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      This was really good rice. I might leave out the onion next time, only because I'm not much of an onion person. I used broth instead of plain water. I will be making this often! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      We really enjoyed this rice dish at my house. I was so easy to make. I made it as is with no changes except to add an additional 1/4 of rice as Stardustannie commented in her review. I was skeptical about it being able to feed six people but it made quite a bit of rice. Thanks for posting. I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      This was great tasty rice!! Served this with salmon steaks and it was great!! Used vegetable broth that I had and basmati rice. Loved the spices in this dish! Thanks Sharon! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      Great rice dish! I actually used this rice inside a burrito made with ground turkey. Yummy! I will use this recipe again, next time either as a side or on its own. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      I made this to go with the jerk dish I made tonight. Nice aroma I think I'll leave out the garlic and peppers next time. thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      I liked it but I'm going to make some changes the next time. I think that the turmeric was too much and covered the rest ingredients in taste. So next time I'll reduce the ammount. I loved the colour of the rice and the aroma of the bay leaf. Thanks Sharon for sharing. Made it for ZWT3.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      This produces VERY yellow rice. I enjoyed the spicyness of this dish and will make again reducing the amount of turmeric. I upped the rice to 1 cup as I find 1 3/4 cups of water ample for this qty of rice. I Had to use red peppers so sprinkled some green onion over the finishe dish for a little extra colour. This would be a wondeful dish eaten cold as a salad...you could add just so many differnet ing. corn kernels, peas and even pineapple pieces come to mind. Reviewed for ZWT3

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      I made this to go along with kebobs tonight for dinner. I had never used turmeric before and decided that I would try it. Well my son didn't care for it and I felt is was too spicey for us. Not rating it as it was easy to make and looked nice, just too spicey for our tastes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      This was yummy and a great addition to spicy grilled chicken. I sauted the onions and garlic and then transfered it to a microwaveable bowl. I added all the other ingedients and put into the microwave and used my rice button to cook it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      Oh yummy! I served this with Siesta Roast and Beans (recipe also found on the 'Zaar). Excellent combination. I will be making this again and again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

      Very tasty. Served this with roasted salmon and we really enjoyed it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      An excellent flavoursome rice dish, which we both thoroughly enjoyed. I served this with Mole Pinto Beans (Mole Pinto Beans, by Chef Kate) and a green salad. I'm sure I shall make this again soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      This dish makes a nice alternative to Spanish Rice. I served this with my Chicken Mole for Crockpot #112218. I used a Lousianna hot sauce and a vegetable bouillon cube. DH and I really enjoyed it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Yellow Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 117.8
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    16%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.1 mg
    1%
    Sodium 327.7 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites