Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Tuna Steaks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Tuna Steaks

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on June 06, 2002

      Let me say, WOW. I have never had tuna steak before and I was apprehensive because I thought it would taste too fishy. I was so wrong! I used extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and prepared mustard instead of dry. I cooked this on the grill next to my husband's t-bone steak. When this tuna steak was done I had him try it, he liked it, and he HATES seafood! Excellent recipe, I will be using it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2002

      I have always wanted to try grilled tuna and boy, am I ever glad I did. My family thought this was wonderful. We really liked the flavor of the marinade. The kids even enjoyed this and they are picky eaters. Thanks for a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2002

      I agree with all of the above comments, but to really get the very best out of the flavour, sear the tuna well on a very hot grilling plate BUT leave the centre of the meat almost uncooked. Excellent for sashimi lovers. Does not taste 'fishy'. I Substituted Wasabi for dry mustard for a distinctly fresh aftertaste. Excellent, this will be a regular at home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2002

      Astonished!! That is what my guests were. Made this for a BBQ. Most had never had grilled tuna and thought it was going to taste like canned tuna. Wrong. This had such an excellent non-fishy flavor.The seasonings were a great compliment. Moist and tender. Simply the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2002

      Tuna should be jumping into boats to get grilled with this recipe. Absolutely fantastic!! Thank yoy, NurseDi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      Nurse Di, these were so delicious. The marinade was superb. I liked the soy sauce-lemon flavor and the garlic certainly added some WOW. The tuna steaks came out nice and tender. A great grilling recipe. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      This is a great recipe even for those who don't care for seafood. I made the recipe as is except for using creamy mustard instead of dry, and using garlic powder instead of fresh garlic. Setting my stove's burner to medium-high, I made one thick tuna steak that I cut in half, searing my husband's portion for three minutes on each side for a medium steak, and searing my and my kids' portion for four minutes on each side for a more medium-well steak. It was delicious, no dipping sauce needed. Even our young children gobbled up this tuna steak. I served the steak with white rice and edamame in the pod. I will be using this recipe again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2013

      Absolutely love this recipe! The flavors are well balanced and compliment each other beautifully. I enjoyed the marinade so much that next time I'll marinate the steak 2 hours and use the extra as dipping sauce for the tuna. Doesn't get much better than this. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      Great recipe! I was so afraid that I was going to ruin such a beautiful piece of fish, but it turned out excellent. I marinated mine for several hours so it got quite lemony, but we didn't mind that at all. Thank you so much for helping me showcase how delicious and satisfying a tuna steak can be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2012

      We were lucky to have fresh caught tuna which really makes a difference to any fish dish. It also helps that we live on the West Coast of South Australia...
      I left the tuna to marinade for only 1/2hr because we were starving. Steamed rice and greens make a pretty good side dish too.
      This is a great and easy recipe that we'll use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2012

      This was a great marinade for tuna and an hour is the perfect length of time for this preparation. When I think of spicy tuna I expect some heat and this didn't have any hot ingredients in it so the name seems misleading to me. However it turned out great and I'll definitely use this recipe again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      Fantastic and easy marinade. Love the garlic, soy and lemon combo. I let my steaks marinate for 24 hours and then had to pan sear them because the weather was uncooperative (that's the reason there's no picture, they were not too lovely) but they were still fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

    • on November 13, 2010

      Perfect! Thank you for sharing this. I added the red pepper flakes and it was awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      Wow. I NEVER eat fish, but I wanted to try something new---- this was WONDERFUL. I have used this recipe probably every few weeks since I found it on here. I LOVE this recipe and wanted to update to add a couple things: **1. this recipe is also GREAT for chicken or brushed on veggies for grilling **2. Once I got the hang of this recipe, I just throw the ingredients together now without measuring and it ALWAYS comes out perfect! **3. If you want a "spicy" steak, add a half teaspoon of cayenne OR a teaspoon of crushed red pepper to the marinade!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Not spicy, but very tasty. Nice flavor combination, and the marinade helped keep the fish moist during grilling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      This was super easy and really good. I didn't think it was "spicy," per se, but that's ok. I marinated for almost two hours but the fish was still firm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      This was good. I thought it needed more spice. DH is a big tuna fan and said it was definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Very Good! Had a steak-like flavor. Served with Edamame Salad (175799). Went great together!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      YUM YUM YUM!!! We LOVED this! We've been preparing the wasabi tuna for a while from this site and loved that but decided to branch out a bit to break up the monotony. So glad we did! This was wonderful and super flavorful! Followed just as stated and LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Tuna Steaks

    Serving Size: 1 (189 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 469.8
     
    Calories from Fat 224
    47%
    Total Fat 24.9 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 86.1 mg
    28%
    Sodium 843.8 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 54.8 g
    109%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites