Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Tortellini Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Tortellini Soup

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2012

      I was cleaning out the fridge and freezer yesterday. Three items needed to be used immediately: a frozen package of (fresh) chicken and prosciutto tortellini, homemade chicken stock and baby spinach. A quick search of the database and I found this great soup! I used a can of fire-roasted tomatoes and since the recipe doesn't state where to add the minced garlic, I added it with the tomatoes. Increased the spinach, cayenne and pepper. Thanks for sharing, Chef~V!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Great recipe! It's super easy, and makes a good, filling soup. My guy is normally upset when I make soup for dinner because it's not filling enough, but he even loved this. One change I made was that I used one can of low-sodium and one can of regular chicken broth, and added some garlic powder to the mixture (because I couldn't find the garlic- seasoned broth.) Also, in attempt to save some cash, I used a package of frozen spinach instead of the fresh stuff, which worked great. Wonderful recipe, I will be using this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      this was very good. I added some link sausage because my family likes meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      Outstanding! What a great way to sneak more veggies into my husband's diet! He got through two bowls before he asked, "What's the green stuff?" "Oh it's spinach." "Huh. Can't even taste it. Is there any more?" Awesome flavor, economical, and super fast to put on the table. Will become a regular dish in our household. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      Delicious soup for lunch today! I used cheese ravioli and sweet onion. This had a wonderful blend of flavors and would be great with a thick slice of bread. Thanks, Chef~V!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      I really enjoyed this recipe the consistency of flavors is well thought out and executed. When I prepared this dish I added crispy tortilla strips for an unexpected crunch. I will use this recipe often, especially to entertain. It has just enough spice to make the soup seem a little exotic, and a nice balance of overall flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      yum, yum! Both of my children loved this recipe! It has some of our favorite foods! Mushroom and Parmesan Fresh Tortellini with sundried tomatoes and even fresh basil....we gobbled it up and I will definitely make it again. Next time I will make sure to have a block of fresh Parmesan to grate over the top. I did add more spice and thinned the broth just a little. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Tastes great and is very satisfying for these cool early spring nights. Very simple to put make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      This chef obviously knows how to get items out of the pantry and throw a dish together in a flash. This was not only EASY to make, but it was delicious. I thought it was very clever to add the dash of cayenne pepper, so the spicieniss is controlled by the consumer. 5 stars here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      5 stars. Not a soup, and I would hardly call this a stew either. Instead of chicken broth I used veggie cause we are vegetarians:D I used more sun-dried tomatoes and more asiago cheese (which I think I like more than parmesan). As for the tortellini, I used artichoke which was yummy and lower fat. Thanks! Made for RSC #11.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      this is a "quick satisfying" STEW. as the consistency was thick and I believe this chef achieved the stew texture. The flavors mingled well, as I luv tomato based soups. The chef was being modest with the cayenne pepper, but liked that everyone could make it as spicy as they desire. thumbs up all the way around the table!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      This recipe is well put together! It has a nice tomato flavor, and the textures of the other ingredients tortellini and spinach blended well. I rate this 5 stars for the use of ingredients, presentation, and taste! I would only suggest, but this is personal prefence again, more pepper which would make it spicier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      I give this 5 stars just on the creativity alone. The ingredients blended well together and I have made it twice once with cheese tortellini and agin with mushroom. I agree this needs a bit more broth, i added more cayenne pepper and shallots the second go round and it was perfect. but other than that I agree with the chef that is a quick satisfying soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      I absolutely love the ease in preparation of this dish - it was a terrific summer meal I will repeat the entire season! Terrific combination of flavors. I would serve this to guests, and plan to as we start entertaining over the summertime!! I did find a mushroom and cheese blend tortellini and it worked beautifully. I like a somewhat thicker soup, so the consistency was perfect for me. Good luck with the contest!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      This is terrific the kids even loved it! Great for summertime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      This sounded very promising. The directions are easy to follow and the recipe is well written. The tomatoes were the predominant flavor. The recipe calls for either fresh or dried basil in the same quantity. I have found that when using dried herbs the ratio is typically two to three times more fresh herbs than dried. I used about 1 teaspoon of the dried basil. Good luck in RSC #11.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Good solid recipe with just a hint of spiciness. I used cheese tortellini and it seemed that this quantity could use a tad more broth. I didn't use all the spinach as it would overwhelm the soup. The basil was dried. No problem getting rid of the leftovers as DH loved this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Four stars. Easy, yummy and pretty healthy, too! I used cheese tortellini and added 1 extra cup of broth. I also added some garlic for a little extra flavor. Thanx for a wonderful, warm lunch! Good luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      I think this could use more broth - it was too thick for us. It also could use a little more seasonings. I didn't think it was all that spicy. I used the cheese tortellini. I bet the mushroom kind would be wonderful, but I couldn't find that in my store. Good luck in the contest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      I loved the generous portions that made this a REAL meal. A doubled recipe fed 2 adults, 2 teens, and a toddler. The use of both regular and sundried tomatoes made it nice and rich too. But it didn't quite live up to its potential because the flavor was rather one-dimensional. IMO, it needs garlic and another herb, perhaps oregano, to add depth and complexity. Additionally, DH complained that the cayenne on top was like finding landmines -- it might have been better added along with the basil so that the flavors would meld. It would have been a 4-star though except that the author messed up the fresh-to-dried basil conversion. Even using the regular conversion of 1 tsp dried basil for each tbs fresh the flavor was overpowering. If I'd used 6 tablespoons of dried basil in the doubled batch it would have been like eating pesto out of the jar with a spoon. In a regular review I'd just have noted the error and given it the 4 stars but since its a contest entry I can't rate it as highly as I'd rate a recipe that written correctly. Sorry. :-(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Tortellini Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 66.9
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    20%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 409.1 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    refrigerated cheese tortellini

    asiago cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites