22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was cleaning out the fridge and freezer yesterday. Three items needed to be used immediately: a frozen package of (fresh) chicken and prosciutto tortellini, homemade chicken stock and baby spinach. A quick search of the database and I found this great soup! I used a can of fire-roasted tomatoes and since the recipe doesn't state where to add the minced garlic, I added it with the tomatoes. Increased the spinach, cayenne and pepper. Thanks for sharing, Chef~V!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickoholic83 October 29, 2012

Great recipe! It's super easy, and makes a good, filling soup. My guy is normally upset when I make soup for dinner because it's not filling enough, but he even loved this. One change I made was that I used one can of low-sodium and one can of regular chicken broth, and added some garlic powder to the mixture (because I couldn't find the garlic- seasoned broth.) Also, in attempt to save some cash, I used a package of frozen spinach instead of the fresh stuff, which worked great. Wonderful recipe, I will be using this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deniseeosu April 20, 2010

this was very good. I added some link sausage because my family likes meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 February 24, 2010

Outstanding! What a great way to sneak more veggies into my husband's diet! He got through two bowls before he asked, "What's the green stuff?" "Oh it's spinach." "Huh. Can't even taste it. Is there any more?" Awesome flavor, economical, and super fast to put on the table. Will become a regular dish in our household. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fluffomatic January 22, 2010

Delicious soup for lunch today! I used cheese ravioli and sweet onion. This had a wonderful blend of flavors and would be great with a thick slice of bread. Thanks, Chef~V!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady April 04, 2008

I really enjoyed this recipe the consistency of flavors is well thought out and executed. When I prepared this dish I added crispy tortilla strips for an unexpected crunch. I will use this recipe often, especially to entertain. It has just enough spice to make the soup seem a little exotic, and a nice balance of overall flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kymber _71 February 25, 2008

yum, yum! Both of my children loved this recipe! It has some of our favorite foods! Mushroom and Parmesan Fresh Tortellini with sundried tomatoes and even fresh basil....we gobbled it up and I will definitely make it again. Next time I will make sure to have a block of fresh Parmesan to grate over the top. I did add more spice and thinned the broth just a little. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sassafrasnanc February 24, 2008

Tastes great and is very satisfying for these cool early spring nights. Very simple to put make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Obag February 24, 2008

This chef obviously knows how to get items out of the pantry and throw a dish together in a flash. This was not only EASY to make, but it was delicious. I thought it was very clever to add the dash of cayenne pepper, so the spicieniss is controlled by the consumer. 5 stars here!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitterman February 24, 2008

5 stars. Not a soup, and I would hardly call this a stew either. Instead of chicken broth I used veggie cause we are vegetarians:D I used more sun-dried tomatoes and more asiago cheese (which I think I like more than parmesan). As for the tortellini, I used artichoke which was yummy and lower fat. Thanks! Made for RSC #11.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend February 24, 2008
Spicy Tortellini Soup