Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Tomato & Bacon Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Tomato & Bacon Soup

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on September 21, 2006

      Peter, this soup was outstanding! I doubled the recipe and made a big batch. I used garden tomatoes that I ran through my food processor and dried basil as I am all out of fresh. The only different thing I did was to add some freshly grated parmesan cheese on top just before serving. This had the perfect amount of chili flakes for us. My DH loved it too, he had two bowls and commented several times about how great it was. It took about 20 minutes to make and is just an easy, homemade soup. Also, I loved that there was no flour in this recipe, great for low-carbers. Thanks for a recipe that will become a regular in our house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2013

      What a terrific bowl of soup, this recipe makes Peter. I doubled the recipe for my dh, he was thrilled. We really enjoyed this quick and easy to make dish. The soup had great flavor and depth. Made exactly as written but used dried parsley and basil, it was what I had on hand. I cant' wait to try this in the summer with fresh tomatoes and herbs. I doubled the red pepper option, it added a nice layer of heat and bite. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful recipe. We will be enjoying the soup again today, I can't wait.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      I made a half recipe which I thoroughly enjoyed for lunch though I did use some commercial croutons I had in the pantry and added extra chilli flakes as I like bite, thank you Peter J made for Aussie/Kiwi Recipe Swap #82 November 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      I loved this soup. I have been looking for a good recipe for tomato soup for years and this is it!
      I did change a few things, I cut the pepper and chili flakes in half and it is still fairly spicy. I also added 1 1/2tsp of salt and 2 tsp of sugar to cut the acidity. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      Delicious soup!! I tripled it! :) I used chicken broth instead of the bouillon cube as well. I think fresh chopped onion might be better, too - the flakes browned too quickly & almost burned. A nice easy recipe. Everybody loved it! Made for the 4/08 recipe swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Excellent soup. I doubled the recipe and instead of using a stock cube and water, I used chicken stock. I made the whole batch without the chili flakes, then served some habanero paste at the table for those that wanted it spicy. It was sooooo good!! I also topped it with some fresh Parmesan, and it made a very nice lunch for some very picky eaters. Thanks Peter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      Loved this recipe! Very easy to make. I doubled it, and used a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes, 5 minced cloves of garlic, 3 slices of bacon, and some homemade chicken stock. I also used a bit of cayenne pepper instead of the chili flakes. We liked the spicy heat of this soup and I will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Tomato & Bacon Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (282 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.2
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    52%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 8.0 mg
    2%
    Sodium 1115.5 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crushed tomatoes

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes