Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Thai Peanut Chicken Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Thai Peanut Chicken Curry

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2014

      Wow, this one is a keeper. It was easy and fast and tastes like you spent a lot of time cooking. I didn't have the sambal oelek so I substituted Siracha sauce. This is a wonderful balance of sweet, spicy and hot. Next time I will also sprinkle cilantro and scallions on it along with the crushed peanuts and fresh lime juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      This is my favorite peanut curry recipe. I have small children who don't do spicy so I omit the sambel olek and it does just fine without it. I also like to toss in some carrots, red peppers, and cauliflower (not very authentic I know) to make it a complete meal for the family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      Very delicious! Although I used siracha instead of sambal olek, and only put in 1 tsp instead of 3. I really liked the flavor and it wasn't too spicy at all. I'll definitely have to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      Awesome recipe! Tastes just like the Thai red curry peanut chicken from genghis grill! I've been craving this recipe for weeks and happily satisfied with the results. I can't wait for my leftovers! The only downside is that it wasn't as spicy as everyone said it was. And it was a bit oily, maybe it was because i used Thai kitchen red chilli paste and not the sambal oelek.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      One of the best recipes on here - super easy, super quick and absolutely beautiful. I just reduced the red curry paste as I find it very hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Oh yes, I failed to mention that this recipe is super easy. The only ingredient out of them all that you have to dice is the chicken. No grating, chopping, slicing or the like. That's it. The rest is dump in. LOVE THAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2011

      Fantastic! Better than take out! Everyone loves this recipe. I've made a lot of Thai curries, but none came out as delicious as this one. I used 2 Tbs of curry paste and 1 tsp of chili paste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      This was really good, except it came out a little bit too salty for my taste (without the addition of salt/pepper, etc). Next time I might try adding a little bit more sugar in to give it the sweet & spicy flair without being overpowered by salt, and also might try reducing the curry paste by a hint and adding more peanut butter. Also, I watered down the coconut milk to make an even 2 cups to make it a bit lighter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      You're so right!!!!!! This dish is wonderful. I like it spicy so I added red pepper flakes and lots of red peppers (I had to use them up). I used a lime rice and this one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      AWESOME! I made this last night for myself and girlfriend, we cut the curry and the chili paste in half, but still pretty spicy. Still loved it thought. we also substituted the rice with Thai noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Easy and very delicious! I cut back a little on the curry and it was just right for the heat haters. I also cut down a little on the coconut milk. The whole family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      This was soooo awesome. Even my 10 and 12 year olds loved it. I added green onions, and cut back on the spice just a little bit. I also thicken the sauce a bit with some cornstarch and water. Next time I wouldn't use quite as much coconut milk...not necessary. All in all, this was excellent and will be made again soon in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      This is the best Thai peanut curry recipe I have found. In fact it's one of my favorite recipes, period. I LOVE it. I do usually modify it. I reduce the curry paste and sambal oelek by 1/2 or 1 tablespoon and increase the peanut butter by the same amount. I use light coconut milk and light peanut butter. I also use only one tablespoon of peanut oil -- it's all I need with my nonstick skilled. Sometimes I add sliced shallots when cooking the chicken. I also add additional toppings: fresh cilantro, green onion, and cucumber slivers, and sometimes bean sprouts. (Get's some veggies in there and adds some color.) I also find that if you eat more reasonable portion sizes this recipe makes more like 6 servings, not 4. That and using the light coconut oil and peanut butter, and reducing the peanut oil, helps reduce the calorie count.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      It really was a great treat, but before you add it to the weekly rotation, take note of the fat content (because of the coconut milk), and remember that it really should be a treat! I agree with the other posters that the spice needs cutting back. I used 2 tbsp of the chili and 1 of the curry and my husband (admittedly, kind of a spice wimp) had to stop halfway through for a breather. But oh, SO tasty! Can't wait to see what the leftovers taste like! Also, might be yummy if you upped the brown sugar a tiny bit too :) Enjoy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      Very creamy and easy to make. We halved the curry & chili paste. In the future I might slightly reduce the coconut milk for a thicker sauce (though it thickens up very nicely after refrigeration) and I would probably add diced tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      My family raved over this recipie and claimed that if I'd put it in a plastic tub they wouldn't have know that it wasn't from our favorite Thai carryout. I added a red, a green, and an orange bell pepper and a handful of snap peas for the last 5 minutes of cooking. This recipie is definitely going into the rotation of dinners at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      Great meal, quick and easy. It's just as good as our favorite restaurant's! Plus, you can adjust it for spiciness. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      This definately need some adjusting for heat. I used 2 tablespoons of the curry paste and found that to be plenty. That was the only change I made. This was served with precooked rice that was in the freezer, microwaved for a few minutes and we had an enjoyable meal that was ready in a just a few minutes time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Thai Peanut Chicken Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (383 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 995.4
     
    Calories from Fat 474
    47%
    Total Fat 52.6 g
    81%
    Saturated Fat 29.8 g
    149%
    Cholesterol 108.9 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1278.4 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 91.7 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 87.8 g
    351%
    Protein 40.9 g
    81%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    red curry paste

    sambal oelek

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes