9 Reviews

This was an absolutely awesome recipe!! I made it for company and everyone just raved. I used 2 heaping tsps. of cayenne. That makes it pleasantly hot but we like hot and spicy food so we loved it. In addition, I used flank steak,and left it in the marinade for 4 hours.It was as tender as it can be. I also added some snow peas and some julienned yellow pepper. I will be making this over and over again. Thank you so much for posting it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
masscjs September 11, 2012

This was excellent. My husband I both thoroughly enjoyed it and will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Samantha Schnettler April 11, 2015

I haven't tried the recipe yet, I'm a little confused of what soy sauce to use light or dark.what oil to use. Green onions? Cups of celery and carrots, I know it's a measure, first time I've used cups to measure veg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christorper.lloyd March 24, 2015

I slightly altered the recipe by adding different peppers, ginger and toasting some unsalted cashews on top of the dish. I found the recipe extremely easy to follow and the out come was amazing. I can't wait to make it again and again.<br/>Wish I could give it more star it well deserves 10+ stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jefffrench1 February 24, 2014

This recipe deserves 10 stars! I made it exactly as written. I would not change a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Lover October 17, 2013

Our family really enjoyed this. It was very easy to make and the flavor was just right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prana Princess April 14, 2011

Loved this! I added additional veggies; a bell pepper, bamboo shoots, mushrooms, and added the cayenne at the end to only a portion of the recipe because of diner preferences. We really enjoyed the sauce. The sirloin I used was very tender. Thank you for sharing a recipe I'll use again! Made for ZWT6~Asia.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D May 24, 2010

I made exactly as written and I was disappointed... that I only made half a recipe! This is very easy and very tasty although maybe not what I'd call spicy (but everyone's tastes are different). I ended up marinating the meat for nearly 24 hours. Next time I'm intending to up the white pepper and add some capsicum. A keeper. Thanks Vicki. Made for Aussie Swap #19.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mischka August 13, 2008

What a lovely meal. I used 1 lb steak, left out the sugar & substituted 1 tsp sambal oelek for the cayenne. Added a red pepper, a zucchini & 1/4 cabbage. Cooked the beef in small batches. Great flavour from the marinade & sauce. Thanks Vicki for sharing this keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heydarl July 28, 2008
Spicy Szechuan Beef