Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Sweet Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Sweet Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    160 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 160

    Sort by:

    • on May 26, 2010

      We loved this recipe. We like onions, so I did add a whole onion chopped up in large pieces. I served this tonight with Jamaican Jerk Chicken (#83215) and won't do that again. The double heat factor was too much for me. I will be making this again (the Jerk Chicken too), but will let this be the one and only spicy item on the menu. DH says I'm a wuss.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      Excellent! I have mixed several batches of the dry ingredients together(with some cinnamon added) and I store it in a large spice bottle. I make just one yam at a time for the two of us, so I toss it with the oil and 2 Tbsp of the mixture and they're ready for the oven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2013

      These will definitely be made again.....loved them....so tasty and easy to make. The hardest part was cutting them up .....I followed the recipe exactly but only made 1 potato as it was huge. Will make more next time as these were gone in a flash! Thanks for a keeper !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      So freaking AMAZING!!! I only used 2 or 3 sweet potatoes and I still had to double the cook time so they weren't crunchy, but WOW these are awesome. I have made them 3 times in 2 weeks if that tells you anything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2013

      It is so nice to find a savory sweet potato recipe. I followed Phat & Sassy's suggestion and added one sweet onion cut in 1" pieces. They were very soft so next time I'll check them after 35 minutes. I will make again and again! Great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      Wow! These were so good and easy. I just used 1/8 tsp. cayenne as I was afraid they would be too spicy for my kids. They were just right for us like this. I also just sprayed with olive oil spray. They cooked faster than the time stated too. I'm sure I will make these again and again for a healthy side dish. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      So easy to make and it was the hit! First dish to be finished and they wanted more. The sweetness and a bit of heat, everyone at our Thanksgiving dinner raved about it. I'm glad that I read Phat & Sassy regarding the caramelizing the onions and adding to the yams. I baked my yams in the oven. I used aluminum foil on cookie sheet - first, spraying the foil before placing the ingredient on the foil; then wrapped it up. Easy clean up. I baked the yams at 350.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      Made for Thanksgiving 2009. I decided to try this sweet potato option because it was one of the lower-carb (considering it's sweet potatoes) options I made to help my diabetic father-in-law have more options on the table. I ended up using 4 sweet potatoes and cubed them up smaller than 1-inch. I did have to make some adjustments in the spices based on what I had on hand, personal preferences, and dietary restrictions. I omitted the salt and and had to substitute additional chili powder for the cayenne (mother-in-law forgot to bring it). I decided to add 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg to the spice mix as well. I found that what worked best for me was to double the amount of the spice blend that I used, so what I ended up using was 4 tbsp brown sugar, 3 tsp chili powder, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I prepared and roasted the potatoes (baked for about an hour) the day before Thanksgiving and then just reheated them on Thanksgiving while other dishes baked. Preparing ahead worked out well for me. Thanks so much for posting this idea! I can definitely see us using it again in the future.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      This was good and easy to make, except the potato pieces were not cooked evenly, which had something to do with the fact I only stirred them twice.. We roast regular potatoes like this but leave off the sugar and add a little granulated garlic.. Its tasty and super easy. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2014

      Very good but 45 mins is a bit too long. Sweet and Spicy Sweet Potato Bake is better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2014

      These were awesome!! I put it in the oven for 50 mins at 350 because I was cooking something else at the time. Came out perfect. Will be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2014

      Very tasty side dish, and a great way to get the family to enjoy Sweet Potatoes. Enough spice for interest, but not so hot it turns away those who don't like hot food. This recipe will be a keeper in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

    • on August 18, 2013

      This was an easy recipe. And who doesn't like brown sugar and sweet potatoes? I admit, I did not add the red pepper, since I am not big into 'hot spicy' foods. I was nervous about using the chili powder, but I did not really taste the chili powder. I felt like the chili powder more toned down the sweetness of the brown sugar, but not too much. Even my boyfriend,who has used the words, 'don't serve me sweet potatoes' liked it and ate a serving. I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      We really enjoyed this at dinner tonight. I added chunked onions to the mix and they added a subtle layer to the flavors. I loved the idea of mixing the seasonings in a jar and using them on a single chunked potato. Thanks one and all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      I used the spices in the recipe and mashed them into my Yams, it was fantastic. I will be doing this again for sure, thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      Made these for our First Thanksgiving dinner today in our new home, and loved the flavors of these!! Excellent, would make again, and again, and again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      This recipe was super easy and very tasty. The only thing I would suggest is slightly increasing the amounts of brown sugar, chili powder and cayenne pepper. The flavor was great it could just be more "present" in my opinion.

      I'll definitely make this again with the adjusted seasonings and I may add a touch of butter.

      Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      These are really good. Next time I may cook them a little less, they turned out really soft but otherwise are super tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2012

      These were great! Easy to prepare too. This is a keeper! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Sweet Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (56 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 86.0
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    36%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 178.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes