Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Summer Sausage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Summer Sausage

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2002

      This is a great recipe. I used whole pepper corns and added fresh garlic. Froze two of them for later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2002

      tastes like REAL summer sausage. Very Good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      I made this exactly as written. I can see many modification possibilities for future batches although this is great as it is. I am curious about how long it will keep in the refrigerator. I served it with crackers and my "bar cheese" (recipe available here on Zaar). Friends were very enthused about both. Just add crackers and you have an instant party. It is so nice to know exactly what is in the summer sausage and cheese that I serve my guests. It is also rewarding to know I made it myself. Who would have thought it could be so easy to make an excellent summer sausage. I quit buying it in the store because you just never knew what it would taste like. Often is was just way too greasy or salty and got thrown out. This is so much better in taste, price and quality. Thank you for posting this versatile recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2014

    • on April 25, 2009

      This is very easy to make and simply delicious. I added more hot seasonings than called for as we enjoy spicy foods. Did as others suggested and wrapped in tin foil with holes in bottom, then cooked on broiler pan over tray. My husband was very skeptical that it would stay together once it was cut. Surprize! It stayed together beautifully. This will be a staple and plan on taking it camping with us for an easy snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      I personally thought this was okay, not great, but okay. The only thing we did differently was left out the quick salt, we didn't feel it needed a preservative since we were going to make less and use it up the same day as baking. I felt it was a bit dry. Also, I felt it needed prepared mustard to enhance the flavor. Maybe we'll experiment with it and hope to kick it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      This was really great- I halved the recipe and made only 2 rolls for a friend's birthday. Nobody could believe it was homemade! Super simple and really great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      tha was good but not like a sausage .... it was to me like a meat loft

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      This is so good and easy to make and so much cheaper than store bought. This recipe is a keeper. Thank you so much for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      Another faboulous recipe! This recipe reminds me of my childhood, my mother made these during the holidays every year! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      we did not like this...used deer meat - maybe that was it...wish we would have had better luck with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      Excellent Recipe! We used 2 lbs. ground beef and 1 lb. venison burger. We made two rolls per recipe directions; and two rolls with chopped jalapenos and cheddar cheese. Soooo Good!! My house smells like a "smoke house" - but my husband and son say that is OK with them :) Thanks for a definite keeper...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      Tasted just like store bought but without the greasy aftertaste. Made it just as written except I didn't have any Morton Tender Quick salt used sea salt instead. Will make this again and again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      Taste was outstanding. I shouldn't have read all the comments though. I couldn't find Tender Quick at my neighborhood Walmart and used Kosher instead. Tender Quick is a must if you want the "red" presentation. I am going to make again this weekend to the exact recipe. I already ate what I made, very good, just not pretty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      Excellent!!! I used regular ground beef and followed directions. Totally impressed. Really does taste like summer saugage. I think the secret is using the mustard seed. Added that just right flavor. Great recipe. Thanks so much. In my keeper file. Catherine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      Simply fabulous. I'd never made summer sausage before but simply followed the directions and it came out wonderfully. I used fresh garlic instead of garlic juice but that was the only change. Next time I'll add more spice as I like things very hot. Other than that I would not change a thing, thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      Incredibly easy! I followed the advice of another reviewer and used kosher salt instead of the Morton's because I didn't want nitrates and nitrites added to the meat. My sausage didn't have the red color, and I'm guessing that is perhaps b/c I didn't use the Morton's? It was delicious, though. This recipe was so easy and good, I decided to use the idea to make some gyro meat. I make sausages just as this recipe calls for, but instead of the summer sausage seasonings, I use the seasonings called for in the Gyro Burgers Gyro Burgers (which is also excellent as written, by the way). Once the sausages are cooked, the meat can be thinly sliced, browned in a pan, and then stuffed into pitas for a pretty good (and easy) version of gyro meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2006

      Amazing! I had no idea that making summer sausage at home could be so easy! Tastes great too! My BF has already made sure that I will make this again. I used garlic powder instead of garlic juice, I added extra mustard seeds and pepper flakes.. tasted wonderful. Thanks for submitting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2005

      My hubby added more garlic but otherwise followed the recipe. It turned out really great. He said, "This I will make again and again." We are taking some of this along when we go visit our oldest son this weekend and also a copy of the recipe so he can make it too. Many thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      My husband and I just loved this! I wrapped the sausages in foil while they were being refrigerated, and before baking, i poked holes all over so that the oil could drip out. I then placed them on a 12-muffin pan so that they wouldn't sit in the oil. The taste was absolutely fabulous!! I will never spend a fortune to buy summer sausages again!! Note: I wanted to give some of these to my sister, who is pregnant and doesn't want to consume store bought sausages, which contain nitrates and nitrites, both of which are present in quick salt. So I just used kosher salt, and it turned out great! Thanks so much for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Summer Sausage

    Serving Size: 1 (1617 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 755.2
     
    Calories from Fat 468
    62%
    Total Fat 52.0 g
    80%
    Saturated Fat 20.0 g
    100%
    Cholesterol 231.3 mg
    77%
    Sodium 228.0 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 64.3 g
    128%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Morton Tender Quick salt

    liquid smoke

    garlic juice

    cajun-louisiana seasoning blend

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites