Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Shrimp In Coconut Milk Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Shrimp In Coconut Milk

    Average Rating:

    94 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-94 of 94

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2005

      Amazing flavour, lots of sauce which we love, restaurant quality. Reading the other reviews I did add extra cayenne and I always find using fresh coriander we need extra salt. As per Kooka's suggestion I also sprinkled about 3 teaspoons of lime juice on top once cooked. Followed recipe exactally as stated and served with rice. This one goes into our favourites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      This was easy to make a very tasty. I kept adding spices - when it got to where we really liked it, we had about doubled them. We saved the sauce and dipped it in french bread the next day as an appetizer. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2005

      LOVED THIS!! I omitted the cayenne (because I have a two year old eating it) and I used two whole cans of coconut milk instead of coconut milk and water and WOW! Heat up some naan and just dip it in this unctuous sauce! It is fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      This dish has a superb rich taste with just a hint of spice. I made it as directed except for the addition of half a teaspoon dark brown sugar. Also, I used lite coconut milk and cut down way back on the oil. Served it over steamed basmati rice and it was a big hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2005

      This was awesome!!!! Everyone loved it in my family, thank you for such a wonderful recipe, a definite keeper and definite "do it again"!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2005

      I just made this for the second time last night, and still really like it! Both DH and I love and normally eat much spicier curries, but we both agree this is perfect just how it is. I pre-cook a chicken breast and just throw it in at the end to heat up. Served with rice and garlic roti, this is such an easy, tasty weeknight dinner, thanks to MizzNezz for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2004

      This dish was pretty good, but much much milder in flavor than we were expecting. I made this exactly as written and found that when I tasted the sauce it just wasn't quite what I was looking for in flavor. I might add that we are BIG fans of curries and curry type dishes, however I believe our love of spicy Thai curries might have influenced our tastes towards this dish. If you are looking for a milder, mellow type dish that still has a nice dimension of spice, this is a great recipe to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2004

      This dish is so rich and spicy, absolutely wonderful. I made a couple of adjustments just for my diet's sake - used 14oz lite coconut milk, one can only, and used 14oz diced tomatoes and no water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2004

      I made this again. It truly is an extraordinary dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2004

      Wonderful dish! I'm not sure if tasted exactly as it should, as I had to cut the recipe down, but the boldness of flavor was fantastic. I like my food a bit hot, not just spicy, and since others here said it wasnt very hot I just added extra cayenne. I cooked the shrimp exactly as stated and they were done perfectly. I also omitted the water. I had lots of sauce left over to dip my bread in...Delicious MizzNexx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2004

      This recipe has become one of my favorite ways to prepare shrimp! Substituting chicken for the shrimp would likely be equally delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2004

      Fantastic! It wasn't really spicy, but had a very nice taste. I omitted the water as it seemed liquid enough. Next time I will probably add a little curry powder. I served this over couscous. Definitely a keeper. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2004

      Just had this for dinner. It's a winner! I was a bit wary about using 2 tablespoons of ground coriander, but it was fine. I omitted the extra 1/2 cup of water and added 1/2 teaspoon crushed chilli to give it a little bit of heat. I also added 3 teaspoons of lime juice at the end of the cooking time. Next time, for our taste, I'd double the amount of salt. A great recipe that will adapt well to fish, chicken, and vegetable curries. Thanks MizzNezz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2004

      20 stars!!!This dish was sooo delish and so off our normal ingredient cooking. First time using coconut milk but unfortunately only had 1 cup leftover from some drink experimentation so also used 1 1/2 cup evaporated milk. Was unsure of the coriander (is this suppose to be seed??) I used just under the 2 tbsp of ground coriander since I had not cooked with this spice before.I used diced canned tomatoes. Broke up spaghettini, boiled, drained and added to completed shrimp and sauce. I was blown away by how everything melded together and offered up such new, interesting and absolutely tantalizing flavors. I also expected it to be more spicy just from the title but it still had a nice kick. This recipe may be the start of new ethnic cooking habits! Will put this into the special collection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 5 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Shrimp In Coconut Milk

    Serving Size: 1 (479 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 551.7
     
    Calories from Fat 411
    74%
    Total Fat 45.6 g
    70%
    Saturated Fat 28.7 g
    143%
    Cholesterol 214.3 mg
    71%
    Sodium 1653.1 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 27.1 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites