97 Reviews

This recipe is very tasty. I would definitely make again. It taste like it could be straight out of a Thai restaurant. Very good. (This recipe is not sweet, for some reason I thought it would be.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coronajf October 27, 2009

Oops....love, love it. I made my own coconut milk using Fat Free Coconut Milk (For Recipes) if anyone is interesting in trying a inexpensive version as well as much, much lower fat content without losing the flavor. And, it certainly lived up to it's "spicy" name. But we love spices but if you don't you can cut back a little. I did add red pepper flakes too and that definitely added some extra heat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Cameo October 23, 2009

I have made this several times I cannot believe that I never gave it a review! It is so good, I know that I was a little worried about adding the tomato to the dish but everything blends together perfect....yummy you will not regret making this dish I promise.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Oregon October 22, 2009

This was the best Thai style shrinp dish ever. It needed alittle more salt and cayenne for my taste but over all a great and easy dish. I served with brown rice which was good but Jasmine rice would have been even better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaytydid August 30, 2009

Great with Thai noodles!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckyjacobs54 August 23, 2009

comedy of errors trying to make this. old coconut milk that was spoiled, ran to the store to get fresh, then discovered no ground coriander, etc. however, this was delicious!! loved all the flavors. we ended up using lite coconut milk with regular coconut milk, no water. would have simmered this down but ran out of time, so added shrimp before it was thickened. still delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mkandula August 12, 2009

I followed the suggestion of other reviewers - I used one 14 oz coconut milk, 1/4 cup water and 1 tsp sambal oelek. Also, after I cooked the dish, I squeezed the juice of 1/2 a lime. I served the shrimp over basmati rice and it was delicious - the blend of the spices mixed with the coconut milk was nice a silky. Thank you for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristina Barry July 31, 2009

Such a nice change of pace from our regular fare. I added sirachia sauce to give it a little heat and backed down the milk to one can/no added water. I'm sure it's even more rich and delish with 2 cans but only had one on hand! DH and I both sopped it up. serving it over Trader Joes jasmine rice made it a pretty quick weeknite meal. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Life Tussle July 11, 2009

This is delicious!!! I used all the same ingredients just different measurements. I used two pounds of shrimp and 1 can of coconut milk. It all worked great. I served this on rice noodles and broccoli. Such a good meal, thank you so much for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour July 06, 2009

We just finished this awesome recipe! My family loved it. I only changed a few things; I had to skip the coriander, because I did not have any and it was still delish! I only used one can of coconut milk, I didn't use the extra water. I added a dash of vanilla, extra on all the spice, just because we like food like that!! Oh, and I added green bell pepper and a squeeze of lime juice, served over rice with a pinch of grated coconut and lime wedges YUMMY!! It was like taking a vacation inside my mouth!! Thank you so much, this is definitely a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princez76 June 11, 2009
Spicy Shrimp In Coconut Milk