94 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was pretty tasty! My husband found it a little spicy, but he's kind of a wimp. I thought the spice was just right, and the smoothness of the coconut milk levels it out. I omitted the water and still had plenty of sauce. This was my first time using fresh ginger, and I was surprised by the amount of heat! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferB_RN November 24, 2010

I used virgin coconut oil, diced canned tomatoes with jalapeno peppers and 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. I'm looking forward to trying this recipe using chicken for the shrimp for a less expensive weeknight dinner. Thanks for posting, MizzNezz!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phat & Sassy October 07, 2010

so, okay I did change this a little bit. I doubled the garlic and ginger although it seams like i always double the garlic with everything, ran out of onions so none of those I'll use them next time of course, had no canned tomatoes so used fresh but no seeds, and then thickened up the sauce a bit with some corn starch. fear not the coriander :) great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
girl#1177249 April 27, 2010

This was good, but definitely missing something. I had hoped it would taste like yellow curry, but it wasn't quite there. I added a bunch more cayenne, and omitted the water. I also had to add more salt at the table (and I am not even a fan of salty foods). Good, but lacking that special something.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaudon April 06, 2010

I am always on the lookout for good shrimp recipes, and had high hopes for this. Unfortunately, we found it to be just okay - rather bland. I can't put my finger on what is missing, perhaps just more of the spices, but it was not a hit with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Widget3 January 01, 2010

I added more cayenne because some of the reviews said it wasnt spicy at all. Other than that it was fine, it just didnt have a lot of flavor. I was a bit disappointed, my date thought it was fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jesslosee December 05, 2009

Sorry, it's sort of OK. I was expecting 'spicy'. This certainly isn't spicy. It's OK, but not great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
F4tunate November 01, 2009

This recipe is very tasty. I would definitely make again. It taste like it could be straight out of a Thai restaurant. Very good. (This recipe is not sweet, for some reason I thought it would be.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coronajf October 27, 2009

Oops....love, love it. I made my own coconut milk using Fat Free Coconut Milk (For Recipes) if anyone is interesting in trying a inexpensive version as well as much, much lower fat content without losing the flavor. And, it certainly lived up to it's "spicy" name. But we love spices but if you don't you can cut back a little. I did add red pepper flakes too and that definitely added some extra heat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Cameo October 23, 2009

I have made this several times I cannot believe that I never gave it a review! It is so good, I know that I was a little worried about adding the tomato to the dish but everything blends together perfect....yummy you will not regret making this dish I promise.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Oregon October 22, 2009
Spicy Shrimp In Coconut Milk