Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Shrimp In Coconut Milk Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Shrimp In Coconut Milk

    Average Rating:

    94 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 94

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2008

    • on January 03, 2008

      yum! I kinda risked dinner last night with this dish, because I wasn't sure about the outcome. But it was a hit! Such an interesting and tasty blend of flavors! I did cut back 1/2 cup of coconut milk, but that was it. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      This, personally wasn't to my taste. But it was quite rich and milky tasting to me. However, I was the only one who didn't love it, so I'm not about to bash it. If you're looking for something different from the norm, this is definitely one to try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      This was delicious. The sauce was fabulous. DH and DS loved it. We served it with Jasmine Rice, but I forgot to serve the limes. :( Next time a little more cayenne, since we really couldn't taste it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      Great recipe! We've had it twice in as many weeks, so that should let you know how much we love it! We cut down on the shrimp (prawns)to about 250g and add a lot of sliced mushies, capsicum & zucchini, coz we love them too. Your easy to follow, simple instructions are a treat. Thanks for sharing, MizzNezz :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      MissNezz, tried this recipe on Friday and we really enjoyed. I increased the quantity of cayenne to 1 teaspoon since we liked it spicy. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. Sunbeam :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      I thought this recipe turned out really good, and even my sister who generally doesn't care for shrimp enjoyed this recipe. I used lite coconut milk instead and I believe this to have caused the need to simmer a lot longer to get the sauce to thicken. I thought having so much shrimp was a bit much, maybe next time I will use 1/2 - 3/4 the amount of shrimps and add cauliflower, snap peas, or some other veggie to even out the proportion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

    • on May 01, 2007

      Outstanding! Delicious and easy to make. I increased the cayenne pepper fivefold and also added crushed red pepper. Next time I'll reduce the water by half in order to achieve a creamier consistency. Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      Oh, WOW! I never rate recipes, but this one needs to get some recognition. I also omitted the water. Everyone loved it, including my 2-yr-old. I sprinkled ground red pepper on mine after I served it, since I like it hot. I'll be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

    • on March 04, 2007

      This was delicious! I would have been thrilled if I had gotten this dish at a restaurant. I have been thinking about it since I made it days ago! I probably used a little more of each of the spices, but otherwise followed the recipe. I'm going to make this dish using chicken for friends who don't eat shrimp. Thanks for a great dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      I didn't think this was spicy at all, and was a little mad at myself for not following reviewers' suggestions to add something for more kick. I did like the basic flavor though and will definitely experiment with this recipe in the future. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      Yum. I only used 1 can of coconut milk and 1 cup of water. I also used way less oil, maybe 1 or 2 tablespoons tops. Worked out great. I think it is going to taste even better tomorrow!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      I've tried several similar recipes and this one is the BEST!!! So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      Tasty and different. Served over jasmine rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      The texture and flavor was to die for. All the spices complemented eachother nicely. I used Jasmine rice with this recipe. Lovely presentation for company. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      Very nice. I only used a 2 tablespoons of oil and I didn't exactly measure my spices - all but the coriander and ginger were probably doubled or tripled. This received very favorable reviews from my husband and our guests. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      We had some leftover shrimp from my daughter's low country boil birthday meal, and my wife wanted something with coconut milk in it. We are very glad we found this recipe. A little rice in the rice cooker, threw in the shrimp at the last minute to reheat. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      I thought that this was a bit bland as-is, but I did add extra cayenne, salt, and about 2 t. of lime juice as per other reviewers' suggestions. I added some sugar to my own bowl because I knew my fiance wouldn't like it sweeter... unfortunately he was stopped up and couldn't taste much other than the cayenne, so he didn't have much input to give.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Shrimp In Coconut Milk

    Serving Size: 1 (479 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 551.7
     
    Calories from Fat 411
    74%
    Total Fat 45.6 g
    70%
    Saturated Fat 28.7 g
    143%
    Cholesterol 214.3 mg
    71%
    Sodium 1653.1 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 27.1 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites