Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Shrimp In Coconut Milk Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Shrimp In Coconut Milk

    Average Rating:

    94 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 94

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2012

      Love love this recipe. Next time will add a Rotel instead of tomato to make it spicier. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2012

      Oh WOW!! Talk about a super easy, very delicious supper this was for us tonight. After having the day from (well, you know where), the hardest part was peeling the shrimps. Everything just flowed together and this inhaled! I will make this again and again and again! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      One of the best recipes I've seen online. I thought it tasted like a homemade Indian curry. This recipe was so good I just had to create an account and rate it. I didn't have enough shrimp, so I added two chopped chicken sausages. I also put in about 2 1/2 cups of pre-packaged frozen vegetable stir fry medley. Served over calrose rice. FANTASTIC! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2012

      This recipe was really good, but I made a few changes! I added yellow and orange pepper (sliced) to the onions. I used light coconut milk to cut the fat, added more salt and cayenne pepper. I did not add water, just coconut milk. I found the sauce to be a little runny so I tried to thicken it up with corn starch. Overall a great recipe! Served over basmatti rice! Bon app?tit! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2012

      Its a keeper..... This is quick and easy to make. I used only one can of cocoanut milk and none of the sugar that some people have added. The next time I make ths dish I will increase the spices just a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2012

      This is one of my all time favorite recipes! I love it as is but sometimes I add more liquid (chicken or veggie stock) cooked chicken and rice and have it as a soup. I can't even count how many times I've made it - it's fantastic with "stir fry beef" too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2012

      This was great! It was also a great way to use up leftover coconut milk and cilantro!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      Yum. My family enjoyed but cut cayenne to just a smitch ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2011

      Pretty good. Not really very spicy, overall quite bland at first taste. I added some fish sauce, used 50% more coriander (fresh ground from seed), doubled or tripled the red pepper, and included a bit of red wine vinegar. That plus the fresh lime juice squeezed on at the table made it acceptably tasty. But I wouldn't call it spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      This really is easy to make and so delicious. I loved the meld of flavors, and plan to try it with chicken one of these days soon. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      This was pretty tasty! My husband found it a little spicy, but he's kind of a wimp. I thought the spice was just right, and the smoothness of the coconut milk levels it out. I omitted the water and still had plenty of sauce. This was my first time using fresh ginger, and I was surprised by the amount of heat! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      I used virgin coconut oil, diced canned tomatoes with jalapeno peppers and 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. I'm looking forward to trying this recipe using chicken for the shrimp for a less expensive weeknight dinner. Thanks for posting, MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      so, okay I did change this a little bit. I doubled the garlic and ginger although it seams like i always double the garlic with everything, ran out of onions so none of those I'll use them next time of course, had no canned tomatoes so used fresh but no seeds, and then thickened up the sauce a bit with some corn starch. fear not the coriander :) great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      This was good, but definitely missing something. I had hoped it would taste like yellow curry, but it wasn't quite there. I added a bunch more cayenne, and omitted the water. I also had to add more salt at the table (and I am not even a fan of salty foods). Good, but lacking that special something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      I am always on the lookout for good shrimp recipes, and had high hopes for this. Unfortunately, we found it to be just okay - rather bland. I can't put my finger on what is missing, perhaps just more of the spices, but it was not a hit with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      I added more cayenne because some of the reviews said it wasnt spicy at all. Other than that it was fine, it just didnt have a lot of flavor. I was a bit disappointed, my date thought it was fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Sorry, it's sort of OK. I was expecting 'spicy'. This certainly isn't spicy. It's OK, but not great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      This recipe is very tasty. I would definitely make again. It taste like it could be straight out of a Thai restaurant. Very good. (This recipe is not sweet, for some reason I thought it would be.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      Oops....love, love it. I made my own coconut milk using Fat Free Coconut Milk (For Recipes) if anyone is interesting in trying a inexpensive version as well as much, much lower fat content without losing the flavor. And, it certainly lived up to it's "spicy" name. But we love spices but if you don't you can cut back a little. I did add red pepper flakes too and that definitely added some extra heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      I have made this several times I cannot believe that I never gave it a review! It is so good, I know that I was a little worried about adding the tomato to the dish but everything blends together perfect....yummy you will not regret making this dish I promise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Shrimp In Coconut Milk

    Serving Size: 1 (479 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 551.7
     
    Calories from Fat 411
    74%
    Total Fat 45.6 g
    70%
    Saturated Fat 28.7 g
    143%
    Cholesterol 214.3 mg
    71%
    Sodium 1653.1 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 27.1 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes