Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Shrimp In Coconut Milk Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Shrimp In Coconut Milk

    Average Rating:

    93 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 93

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2002

      This recipe is delicious. It reminds of a dish I had back home in NY at my favorite Indian restaurant -- Shrimp Malai. I've missed the dish and now can make it whenever I like! I've made it with seafood, chicken and will try lamb or veal stew meat. I serve it over Jasmine rice which a perfect accompaniment. This rice is light and fluffy and soaks up the sauce. I adapted the dish by adding extra tumeric and a little less than a tablespoon of sugar...yum :-). Thank you for submitting this wonderful recipe. I've already made five copies for friends who've tried it. Thanks! And keep them coming! :-). bydzign

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2002

      If you can't find green coriander (it might be called cilantro in your area), you can use coriander powder. However, since coriander powder tends to be a bit gritty, what I do is to put a tsp in a small bowl of water and stir it around. Then let it settle to the bottom (let it sit for about 5 min) and only pour the water into your shrimp dish. Toss out the gritty spice which is at the bottom of the bowl. I hope that helps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2002

      Made this for dinner last night---RAVE reviews from all of us! It was very easy to prepare, and I do something a little different than what the recipe called for...after the sauce and rice were both cooked, I combined them and simmered until the sauce was absorbed by the rice, almost "risotto" style, (which took about 10 minutes)and added the cilantro after cooking. I did add about a teaspoon of curry powder too. Awesome! I will be making this again soon. Thanks for a great recipe Inez! :-) -CG

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2002

      spice island makes a coriander powder. i also added 2-3 teaspoons of sugar. next time i will also add some curry. it wasn't as zippy as i expected but it was very nice. i'm spoiled by indian neighbors bringing me spicy curried dishes! it would have been great with lots of the cilantro but i was out. limes are very good with it, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I had some difficulty finding coriander and had to omit it. Does anyone know a good substitute for it? Even with some of the spices left out this recipe was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      We really enjoyed this recipe for lunch. Based on reviews I made several modifications with perfect results. First, I halved the recipe (sort of) to accommodate the two of us. I left the onion, garlic, ginger, and all spice proportions as written and this worked perfect. In fact, we could have used even a little more cayenne. I omitted the water to make for thicker sauce as suggested by other reviewers. We served over jasmine rice. We both would have this recipe again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      We really enjoyed this! I used one can of lite coconut milk, 1 pound of shrimp, 1 fresh tomato, and doubled the garlic and ginger...kept everything else the same. Served it over Jasmine Rice. Next time I'll add a bit more cayenne. Delish!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      This was terrific! I am a Canadian married to an Indian and living in India. I made this for my mother-in-law's birthday and made this for 8 people. The best part was I had all fresh ingredients, and the fresh kotmir (cilantro) was a lovely added touch, plus i squeezed a small lime right into the sauce which added a nice flavour. I used 4 fresh chopped tomatoes, and added a red bell pepper. I also only used one can of coconut milk for a little thicker of a sauce. In my opinion the salt was fine, but of course my in-laws added a little to the dish (Indians love a lot of salt)! So depending how much you like salt, I'd add another half a tsp. I can't wait to make this again for just my husband and I so I can have more. There was not even a little bit leftover!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      Yummy, I did adjust according to reviewer's suggestions. I used only one can of coconut milk and no water. I didn't add salt but did add some lime juice. It was flavorful but not overwhelming considering the amount of spice added. You could pump up the spice if desired.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      I doubled the sauce in this so I would be able to add it over my Jasmine rice. It was a delicious meal and one that I will make many times in the future. I am thrilled to have found this fine recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2004

      MizzNezz; This recipe rates a minimum of a 12. The sauce was absolutely superb and I served the shrimp (or prawns as we call them) over Sun Dried Tomato Spaghetti. I used 3 teaspoons of Sambal Oelek instead of the cayenne pepper but followed the rest of the recipe as noted. This is now my favorite Shrimp (Prawn) recipe. Thanks so much for sharing and I don't know why it took me so long to try it out. "Uncle Bill:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2003

      This dish is AWESOME. Everyone that I serve it to loves it. Though there appear to be many ingredients, it takes only minutes to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      I made the recipe with just a few modifications and we really liked the flavor of the finished dish. I used one can of coconut milk and the half cup of water with the addition of red curry paste to give the dish more of a kick. The sauce was thin but we liked the way it covered the rice and the leftovers the next day were equally as good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      i worried about using so much coriander, but needn't have. omitted the water and served it over steamed rice. we really enjoyed it. thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      Absolutely delicious! I added some extra cayenne pepper and a couple tablespoons of raw sugar because it tasted like it needed it and it came out fantastic. I served it with jasmine rice and some steamed broccoli slaw on the side, It would be weird eating this by itself. My boyfriend cleared his plate so we'll definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      O.K. for a quick meal using relatively handy ingredients. For a more authentic and tastier version, omit the 5 dry spices and use 1 to 3 teaspoons of Thai red or yellow curry paste (depending on your preference for spiceness and heat), 1 teaspoon of sugar, and 1 can of coconut milk. All other directions stay the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      Very tasty! Next time I will add more cayenne to add a little more heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      This was so nice; not to spicy but plenty of fresh spices to set it off. I made as directed and didn't change a thing. It made a lot but that's OK as now we have left overs for today. The spices were a pleasant blend with none overpowering the other. I served as suggested over steamed white rice, there's plent of sauce to do this. The shrimp came out just right with the timing suggested. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      Such an easy quick and delicious recipe, a really special meal put together in half an hour, we loved this. Served over steamed white rice, made a fabulous dinner and I'm already looking forward to having it again :) Thank you, MizzNezz, super recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2012

      Love love this recipe. Next time will add a Rotel instead of tomato to make it spicier. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Shrimp In Coconut Milk

    Serving Size: 1 (479 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 551.7
     
    Calories from Fat 411
    74%
    Total Fat 45.6 g
    70%
    Saturated Fat 28.7 g
    143%
    Cholesterol 214.3 mg
    71%
    Sodium 1653.1 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 27.1 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites