94 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is delicious. It reminds of a dish I had back home in NY at my favorite Indian restaurant -- Shrimp Malai. I've missed the dish and now can make it whenever I like! I've made it with seafood, chicken and will try lamb or veal stew meat. I serve it over Jasmine rice which a perfect accompaniment. This rice is light and fluffy and soaks up the sauce. I adapted the dish by adding extra tumeric and a little less than a tablespoon of sugar...yum :-). Thank you for submitting this wonderful recipe. I've already made five copies for friends who've tried it. Thanks! And keep them coming! :-). bydzign

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bydzign May 20, 2002

If you can't find green coriander (it might be called cilantro in your area), you can use coriander powder. However, since coriander powder tends to be a bit gritty, what I do is to put a tsp in a small bowl of water and stir it around. Then let it settle to the bottom (let it sit for about 5 min) and only pour the water into your shrimp dish. Toss out the gritty spice which is at the bottom of the bowl. I hope that helps.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ranikabani August 26, 2002

Made this for dinner last night---RAVE reviews from all of us! It was very easy to prepare, and I do something a little different than what the recipe called for...after the sauce and rice were both cooked, I combined them and simmered until the sauce was absorbed by the rice, almost "risotto" style, (which took about 10 minutes)and added the cilantro after cooking. I did add about a teaspoon of curry powder too. Awesome! I will be making this again soon. Thanks for a great recipe Inez! :-) -CG

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canarygirl August 27, 2002

spice island makes a coriander powder. i also added 2-3 teaspoons of sugar. next time i will also add some curry. it wasn't as zippy as i expected but it was very nice. i'm spoiled by indian neighbors bringing me spicy curried dishes! it would have been great with lots of the cilantro but i was out. limes are very good with it, too.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patticakes November 23, 2002

My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I had some difficulty finding coriander and had to omit it. Does anyone know a good substitute for it? Even with some of the spices left out this recipe was wonderful.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Duck Soup August 25, 2002

We really enjoyed this recipe for lunch. Based on reviews I made several modifications with perfect results. First, I halved the recipe (sort of) to accommodate the two of us. I left the onion, garlic, ginger, and all spice proportions as written and this worked perfect. In fact, we could have used even a little more cayenne. I omitted the water to make for thicker sauce as suggested by other reviewers. We served over jasmine rice. We both would have this recipe again. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny April 17, 2011

We really enjoyed this! I used one can of lite coconut milk, 1 pound of shrimp, 1 fresh tomato, and doubled the garlic and ginger...kept everything else the same. Served it over Jasmine Rice. Next time I'll add a bit more cayenne. Delish!! Thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chanceosunshine February 23, 2011

This was terrific! I am a Canadian married to an Indian and living in India. I made this for my mother-in-law's birthday and made this for 8 people. The best part was I had all fresh ingredients, and the fresh kotmir (cilantro) was a lovely added touch, plus i squeezed a small lime right into the sauce which added a nice flavour. I used 4 fresh chopped tomatoes, and added a red bell pepper. I also only used one can of coconut milk for a little thicker of a sauce. In my opinion the salt was fine, but of course my in-laws added a little to the dish (Indians love a lot of salt)! So depending how much you like salt, I'd add another half a tsp. I can't wait to make this again for just my husband and I so I can have more. There was not even a little bit leftover!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelley13 October 30, 2010

Yummy, I did adjust according to reviewer's suggestions. I used only one can of coconut milk and no water. I didn't add salt but did add some lime juice. It was flavorful but not overwhelming considering the amount of spice added. You could pump up the spice if desired.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swiz58 April 12, 2011

I doubled the sauce in this so I would be able to add it over my Jasmine rice. It was a delicious meal and one that I will make many times in the future. I am thrilled to have found this fine recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Its Me Busy Bee July 19, 2010
Spicy Shrimp In Coconut Milk