Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Sesame Noodles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Sesame Noodles

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on October 30, 2008

      I love this recipe, and it is so easy. I have found it is better after it has time to rest so I make it a few hours ahead and put it in the fridge for a while so the flavors have time to marry. I share it with everyone I know.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2013

      Way, way to much sugar. You don't need that much. Will never use this
      recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      Yum! Lots of flavor. I toasted the sesame seeds and loved the texture and flavor they added. After reading some of the reviews, I decided to prepare the recipe a couple hours before serving and would do that again and, I'll use less oil next time as well. Thanks for sharing the recipe, we really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      This was a big hit at our house. I tweaked the recipe a bit... only 3 Tbs of sugar, and I used full fat coconut milk in place of the safflower oil. I also ended up using 1 tsp of cornstarch for the sauce, as I found it to be too runny. Served with rice noodles, stir fried peppers, onions and snap peas, and chicken breast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      I made this when we had another couple over for dinner. She is a vegetarian. Everyone loved this recipe. My husband ate all the leftovers the next day. I thought such a simple recipe wouldn't have as much flavor as it did. Will make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      I have made this twice now, and have mixed feelings about the recipe. The first time, I used penne and I accidentally undercooked the pasta (not the recipe's fault of course). I thought the flavor of the sauce was good, but it was too runny. The second time I used the linguine. Since I remembered the runny texture, I was careful to cook the sauce exactly as directed. It was still runny, so I put the pasta back over the heat after adding the sauce until the texture was more acceptable. I found it very oily also, and the onions were too much. I did halve the recipe both times which might have affected my results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Pretty good. I use vegetable oil rather than safflower oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      easy and delicious. of course, my safflower oil was spoiled, so i had to do with just vegetable oil, but it was still great. all the flavors mixed well and i did add ginger just for the heck of it. thanks for a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      DH and I both agree with you, these are the best sesame noodles we've had too. I followed the recipe as posted, and allowed a few hours standing time for the flavors to marry. Thanks for a Keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      I made these to go with Japanese ribs and it was a great combination of flavors. Being a lover of Asian food this is a big hit at my house! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      This made a wonderful lunch. We didn't have any linguine, so we used a cut pasta that I had in the pantry. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly, except that the photos were taken before we found the sesame seeds. Since everything was ready I didn't toast the sesame seeds, just sprinkled them on. I saved this one in my book #237871.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      I enjoyed this recipe and will be making it again. I used rice linguiny. Excellent side dish for your main course.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      Wow is this good! I cut the recipe in half and it worked great. The only change I made was using peanut oil because I didn't have safflower oil. This was perfect for DH and I because we don't care for peanut butter in our noodles. This is a keeper. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      I made this over spaghetti and it was a very tasty meal. I did, however, add 2T of peanut butter and sprinkled hot flakes on the dish before serving. This is a good cold too, had leftovers the next day! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      These were amazing!!! I did take Joje in OK's advice and add peanut butter... I really think that it made the sauce a little bit better. I used spaghetti because that was what we had in the cabinet and it was delicious! For sure give it a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • With the Chinese New Year starting tomorrow, I thought I'd get a head start. I made your Spicy Sesame Noodles for our dinner tonight, but I couldn't resist tinkering with the recipe a bit. I'm notorious for ad libing to recipes, anyway. I made the sauce as stated EXCEPT I didn't have safflower oil. I used Canola oil, instead. For the chili sauce, I used Lee Kum Kee Chili Garlic sauce. (Oriental markets stock it.) I added a little bit more, plus a 1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes. Great sauce! I just wanted a little more bite to it. Then as a "mystery" substance, I added 2 Tbls. of crunchy peanut butter to the sauce while it was cooking. To top everything off and make a meal out of this, I added about 15-20 large shrimp (already cooked) and cut them up. I topped the noodles with chopped green onions (white and green parts) and then scattered a few Chow Mein noodles over the top of each serving. Served a salad beforehand. To say the meal was a hit with everyone, is an understatement. They all wanted to know what was in the sauce. Five stars isn't enough for this recipe. I will make it again. Thanks mosma.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      This was delicious. I used asian wide wheat flour noodles instead of linguine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      These noodles are so yummy! I have tried several different recipes for sesame noodles and this is by far the best! Finally, I can make these noodles at home and they taste better than take-out! Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      These ARE

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      I think these are identical to the ones in the Kosher Pallette cookbook. They are delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Sesame Noodles

    Serving Size: 1 (113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 515.9
     
    Calories from Fat 176
    34%
    Total Fat 19.5 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1038.5 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.9 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 15.4 g
    61%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites