Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Sausage Lentil Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Sausage Lentil Soup

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2009

      Extremely salty (1700+ mg of sodium!) and somewhat oily, even though I left out the added salt and used 1 tablespoon olive oil. Next time I'll brown and drain the sausage first, use less ham and chicken broth, and add more water.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2014

      We make this soup all the time! I bring it to pot lucks some times and have gotten the reputation of being "Making Really Good Soups". I don't put as much red pepper and I've never done it with ham. It still turns out good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2013

      Wonderful soup that is even better the next day! I used bulk "plain" sausage as Italian spiced wasn't available, and I added hot sauce to taste. Would like to try this with ground turkey to decrease the fat content. My husband and I love this soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      The flavor of this was good, but we found it very salty. Will make this again but will leave out the added salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2012

      Excellent recipe! I love this soup. I always get it when I go to Carrabba's. I made it just like the recipe and it come out great. It tasted just like Carrabba's. My Boyfriend loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      Excellent...even if I cheated a bit. I used canned; already cooked lentils (3 cans) and used 8 cups chicken broth and just 4 cups water. My version didn't turn out as thick, but it still tasted fantastic! It was delicious...a new favorite fall soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      So good! My boyfriend's reaction was "Why do we ever go out to eat?" I served it with crostini grilled cheese sandwiches which I'm submitting recipe for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

    • on January 29, 2011

      My husband and I loved this dish! It's easy to make and even though the prep time can be a little lengthy (mincing, grating, dicing) it's completely worth the effort. What's great about this recipe is that there are so many elements you can slightly alter to your taste and it's still excellent. I used spicy Adouille sausage and added cilantro as a garnish. This recipe also reheats really well so it%u2019s just as good the second time around!!! Thanks for cloning!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      Wonderful dish and very easy to do. I used homemade sausage and red lentils. It was not oily at all. Made just as directed and everyone loved it. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      This dish is a regular meal in our house, a wonderful recipe! Thank you soooo much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      This recipe was right on. No tweeking necessary, it was wonderful...kudos!I give it 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      Sooooo goooood!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      This is my hubby's favorite soup. When we go to Carrabba's and it's not the soup of the day, he's always very disappointed. I brought this to him at work and he returned with an empty pot. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

    • on December 15, 2009

      Excellent recipe! I never had the original restaurant soup but this version was delicious. I added a huge bag of washed and chopped mustard greens to up the veggie content. Keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      Amazing! It's simple, foolproof, and yet easily one of the most delicious things I've ever made. I cooked this with the Bone of a good Hickory Smoked Ham, and increased the ham meat by 50%, bringing a smoky goodness that truly takes this it over the top. I singed up just so I could say this... Thank you Grannydragon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      I fell in love with this soup at our local Carrabba's. I found your recipe and made it a week later and I am awestruck. Thanks so much. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      I made this soup as my first attempt at gluten-free cooking and the result was impressive! This soup already made it in my list of favourite recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Sausage Lentil Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (530 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 333.3
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    54%
    Total Fat 20.0 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 32.3 mg
    10%
    Sodium 1605.5 mg
    66%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 19.5 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes