23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Extremely salty (1700+ mg of sodium!) and somewhat oily, even though I left out the added salt and used 1 tablespoon olive oil. Next time I'll brown and drain the sausage first, use less ham and chicken broth, and add more water.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mint Chocolate Chick October 26, 2009

We make this soup all the time! I bring it to pot lucks some times and have gotten the reputation of being "Making Really Good Soups". I don't put as much red pepper and I've never done it with ham. It still turns out good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lindseyellow February 21, 2014

Wonderful soup that is even better the next day! I used bulk "plain" sausage as Italian spiced wasn't available, and I added hot sauce to taste. Would like to try this with ground turkey to decrease the fat content. My husband and I love this soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzanneC9741 June 02, 2013

The flavor of this was good, but we found it very salty. Will make this again but will leave out the added salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft February 07, 2013

Excellent recipe! I love this soup. I always get it when I go to Carrabba's. I made it just like the recipe and it come out great. It tasted just like Carrabba's. My Boyfriend loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy7n February 17, 2012

Excellent...even if I cheated a bit. I used canned; already cooked lentils (3 cans) and used 8 cups chicken broth and just 4 cups water. My version didn't turn out as thick, but it still tasted fantastic! It was delicious...a new favorite fall soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 September 24, 2011

So good! My boyfriend's reaction was "Why do we ever go out to eat?" I served it with crostini grilled cheese sandwiches which I'm submitting recipe for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy Loves to Eat July 20, 2011

My husband and I loved this dish! It's easy to make and even though the prep time can be a little lengthy (mincing, grating, dicing) it's completely worth the effort. What's great about this recipe is that there are so many elements you can slightly alter to your taste and it's still excellent. I used spicy Adouille sausage and added cilantro as a garnish. This recipe also reheats really well so it%u2019s just as good the second time around!!! Thanks for cloning!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GraceIZcooking January 29, 2011

Wonderful dish and very easy to do. I used homemade sausage and red lentils. It was not oily at all. Made just as directed and everyone loved it. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff January 26, 2011
Spicy Sausage Lentil Soup