Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Sausage & Cabbage Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Sausage & Cabbage Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 21, 2014

      O.K. I never rate anything but this was amazing. I made it for the first time and my husband had four bowls. That's not like him at all. I used Pickapeppa sauce instead of red pepper flakes. Will definately make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      Great alternative to the typical Sour Kraut and Sausage for your New Year's Day meal. I wanted something spicier so this recipe was perfect. If you like the heat, try spicy Italian sausage. I browned the sausage and added slightly browned cubed potatoes. Used 1 of the 2 teaspoons of garlic when sautéing the cabbage and onions. Used tomato bouillon instead of chicken bouillon.1 teaspoon a red pepper flakes and ½ teaspoon of cayenne pepper. Good heat. A full head of cabbage would be fine too. Overall, it was easy and tasty. I will probably make this again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      Awesome! Didn't use sage, and used sweet italian links, a whole head of cabbage, 2 cans of tomatoes, already cooked rice and 2 cups of extra broth. So easy! Cooked the sausage first in the pot, added onion, then dumped the cabbage in, followed by the other ingredients.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      I actually doubled everything but the cabbage. I used 1lb sweet bulk sausage & 1 lb spicy. It was sooooo good; it really hit the spot. I didn't have diced tomaotes so I used whole & mushed them up. I'm not sure why there is sugar added? I don't think it is necessary. The kids thought it a wee bit spicy but so what, they survived. dh & I thought it was a wee bit spicy & were thrilled. LOL. served w/some seeded Italian bread. Never saw dh run so fast to teh bakery, lol. Oh, I don't have instant rice so I used regular white rice & added it with everything else & let it simmer 20 minutes or so. wow, must have hit the wrong button because I wasn't done...when I doubled the recipe, I added instead of 12c water & bouillon, I used 8c water & 4c chicken broth. ;) A fabulous recipe! Made for Top Favorites of 2009. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      Wow, I've made this soup twice and it's simply delicious! The only changes that I made were: No sage - used italian seasoning. No Italian sausage - used chicken breakfast sausage (removed casings and dropped pieces into soup). No chicken bouillon - used knorr instant chicken stock mix. Only used 2 teaspoons of red pepper flakes - was spicy hot enough for us. Everyone including guests loved the soup. I will be making it again and again!! Thank you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2014

      This soup was amazing! I've only made it once so far, with variations of using chicken breast meat in place of sausage and omitted the sage, used 2 cups vegetable broth & 2 cups water instead of the 6 cups water as I had leftover cooked brown rice to use and didn't need all the liquid. Flavors in this are so very tasty! Will definitely repeat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Made it using hot breakfast sausage, no sage, and lots of cayenne---very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      3 tbs of red pepper flakes is a bit too fiery! I suggest 1-2, then taste it after simmering 10 minutes or so. POSSIBLE ERROR IN RECIPE: It LOOKS as if the sausgae should be sauted with the cabbage and onions, because of the sequence of the ingredients. Anyway, that's the away I did it, and it worked out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Delicious Soup! I did make a few modifications. I had ground Italian sausage so I browned it in a separate pan and added as directed. I used 1 1/2 teaspoons red pepper flakes, 2 (14 oz) cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes and 4 bouillion cubes; then made as directed. I omitted the salt. We loved this soup Bekah and it will definitely be added to my favorite soup cookbook. A great creation by you and your BF. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Sausage & Cabbage Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (563 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 606.8
     
    Calories from Fat 344
    56%
    Total Fat 38.2 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 13.3 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 72.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 3028.8 mg
    126%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 17.7 g
    70%
    Protein 26.7 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes