13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I omitted the pepper flakes and used thyme, not rosemary and these are so delicious, but definitely have some heat, so if you like things a bit more mild, adjust the spice accordingly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
locknane March 30, 2013

Yes - so good and tender. I have never ate sweet potatoes as "sweet". I love using them as mashed potatoes, but after tonight a new adventure - loved the roasted as written. I also added a pinch of chipolte spice along with the rest. If you haven't tried the chipolte seasoning, it is highly recommended to any dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marcoandrita January 18, 2010

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet...we love these potatoes! I also like to sprinkle a little splenda brown sugar over the sweet potatoes... YUMMY! These are a favorite at our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texas*gal April 29, 2009

I love this dish. Sweet potatoes are such a great veggie and so many things you can do with them. A similar treatment of sweet patates is: peel them, cut in cubes (about 3/4 to 1"), mix in casserole with a mixture of about 1/4 tsp red curry paste (1/4 tsp per pound of potatoes, depending on your love of spicey things), about a tablespoon julienned fresh ginger, about a tablespoon melted butter, 1 tablespoon veggie or olive oil, one or two gloves thinly sliced garlic and salt to taste. Add to about 1/4 - 1/2 cup water to the casserole. Cover tightly with aluminum foil and bake at 350F for about 40 minutes or so. I live at 8,200 ft. so it takes a bit longer for me to cook anything. When finished, stir in about 1 - 2 tblspns extra-virgin coconut oil to finish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arneis June 08, 2008

This was a nice mixture of sweet and spicy. I loved how the sweet hit your taste buds first followed by a long heat. I made the recipe as written and it wasn't quite on the money for my taste, but it is an excellent foundation to play with the herb and spice mixture; as stated up front in the description of the recipe. I will definitely use this recipe again and start playing with all the possibilities. Thanks for a great suggestion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Londonsbk March 23, 2008

Loved the spicy sweetness of these potatoes. I used fresh thyme and omitted the red pepper flakes, as I thought the cayenne would be enough for a first round with the family. I'll add the flakes when it's just me and dh. Thanks for a keeper, Tracy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Great!full February 25, 2008

Very nice way to treat sweet potatoes. I used fresh rosemary because it is a favorite of mine. The aroma was quite pungent and the flavor divine. The onions blended well and there was a very slight afterburn that did not linger but made this interesting. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' January 27, 2008

These were very good. I loved the addition of the onion, but was less enthusiastic about the rosemary. I love the contrast of the spices and the sweetness of the potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 November 11, 2007

This is some good! Also it has no sugar and no marshmallows, and that's a recommendation for me right there. Why on earth did we load sugar and marshmallows onto a vegetable that is already sweet? I'll bet sweet potatoes would like to be divorced from marshmallows, or at least legally separated. I will make this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef jshaffer April 15, 2007

The flavor of this dish is just wonderful. I followed it as written, adding only a bit of chipotle powder to the list of spices; I also put all the spices in with the olive oil, mixed well, and then poured over the potatoes/onions in a bowl to toss. The spices truly complement sweet potatoes and make this dish something special. I will be volunteering to make this at Thanksgiving this year - I think it would be stellar instead of the usual sweet potato casserole on a Thanksgiving table. Thanks much for sharing this, TracyK!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette September 26, 2004
Spicy Roasted Sweet Potatoes