Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Roasted Sweet Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Roasted Sweet Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2013

      I omitted the pepper flakes and used thyme, not rosemary and these are so delicious, but definitely have some heat, so if you like things a bit more mild, adjust the spice accordingly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Yes - so good and tender. I have never ate sweet potatoes as "sweet". I love using them as mashed potatoes, but after tonight a new adventure - loved the roasted as written. I also added a pinch of chipolte spice along with the rest. If you haven't tried the chipolte seasoning, it is highly recommended to any dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet...we love these potatoes! I also like to sprinkle a little splenda brown sugar over the sweet potatoes... YUMMY! These are a favorite at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      I love this dish. Sweet potatoes are such a great veggie and so many things you can do with them. A similar treatment of sweet patates is: peel them, cut in cubes (about 3/4 to 1"), mix in casserole with a mixture of about 1/4 tsp red curry paste (1/4 tsp per pound of potatoes, depending on your love of spicey things), about a tablespoon julienned fresh ginger, about a tablespoon melted butter, 1 tablespoon veggie or olive oil, one or two gloves thinly sliced garlic and salt to taste. Add to about 1/4 - 1/2 cup water to the casserole. Cover tightly with aluminum foil and bake at 350F for about 40 minutes or so. I live at 8,200 ft. so it takes a bit longer for me to cook anything. When finished, stir in about 1 - 2 tblspns extra-virgin coconut oil to finish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      This was a nice mixture of sweet and spicy. I loved how the sweet hit your taste buds first followed by a long heat. I made the recipe as written and it wasn't quite on the money for my taste, but it is an excellent foundation to play with the herb and spice mixture; as stated up front in the description of the recipe. I will definitely use this recipe again and start playing with all the possibilities. Thanks for a great suggestion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      Loved the spicy sweetness of these potatoes. I used fresh thyme and omitted the red pepper flakes, as I thought the cayenne would be enough for a first round with the family. I'll add the flakes when it's just me and dh. Thanks for a keeper, Tracy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Very nice way to treat sweet potatoes. I used fresh rosemary because it is a favorite of mine. The aroma was quite pungent and the flavor divine. The onions blended well and there was a very slight afterburn that did not linger but made this interesting. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      These were very good. I loved the addition of the onion, but was less enthusiastic about the rosemary. I love the contrast of the spices and the sweetness of the potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      This is some good! Also it has no sugar and no marshmallows, and that's a recommendation for me right there. Why on earth did we load sugar and marshmallows onto a vegetable that is already sweet? I'll bet sweet potatoes would like to be divorced from marshmallows, or at least legally separated. I will make this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2004

      The flavor of this dish is just wonderful. I followed it as written, adding only a bit of chipotle powder to the list of spices; I also put all the spices in with the olive oil, mixed well, and then poured over the potatoes/onions in a bowl to toss. The spices truly complement sweet potatoes and make this dish something special. I will be volunteering to make this at Thanksgiving this year - I think it would be stellar instead of the usual sweet potato casserole on a Thanksgiving table. Thanks much for sharing this, TracyK!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2004

      This is a great recipe....will make it often. I prepared it exactly as called for, except to halve it. Thanks Tracy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2004

      This is so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2004

      These were so-o-o good! I used Old Bay Seasoning and black pepper and then followed the recipe. The onions really added a nice addition to the sweet potatoes. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Roasted Sweet Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (132 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 212.5
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    29%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 381.3 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites