Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Roasted Butternut Seeds / Pumpkin Seeds Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Roasted Butternut Seeds / Pumpkin Seeds

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on November 09, 2010

      I made a a stuffed pumpkin tonight and staring at the pile of seeds I said "I wonder if recipezaar has a pumpkin seed recipe..." This one caught my eye and lucky it did because it was great! I actually melted the butter and spices in a bowl, stirred in the seeds and spread them out on a cookie sheet. Couldn't be easier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      I also used just one butternut squash (which I made a casserole out of) but I had about 1 cup of seeds. I still adjusted the seasonings to account for 1 squash and we really enjoyed the results! I like squash seeds better than pumpkin, and I always LOVED pumpkin seeds! Thanks Rita, great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      Really good! Next time I think I'll mix the spices and melted butter together with the seeds in a bowl like another reviewer suggested. The spices were great, but didn't get disbursed evenly mixing everything together on the baking sheet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      Delicious! I used the seeds from gem squash. I will make this exactly as your recipe calls for every time. No need to change anything!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      Really like this - next time will add cayenne for a bit more heat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2003

      I give this a full 5 star for flavor and a wonderful way to use the squash seeds however it would be difficult to use up 4 butternut squash unless you make the recipe suggested here first. I bought one butternut squash which I thought looked like it would have lots of seeds and was surprised that I only gor 11 seeds! I went ahead and adjusted the recipe and baked them, they were wonderful - I used a bit more chili powder. Next time I will try sundrying the seeds each time I have squash and saving them until I have enough to make it worthwhile. It is a delicious recipe Thanks RitaL

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2012

      these were spot on! perfectly seasoned. I used the pumpkin option.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      Yummy little treat! I did butternut squash seeds, and they turned out as a perfect snack. Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2010

      I've been collecting squash seeds (acorn, spaghetti, butternut etc), rinsed & stored in water in the fridge till I had enough for a double-batch. Excellent flavours & easy to make. Top notch recipe, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      I had always wanted to make roasted pumpkin seeds, but somehow they never turned out right. They were limp and flavourless. But then I came upon your recipe and decided to give it one more try as your recipes never let me down so far. Well, Im happy to say that it was a huge success. The seeds were browned nicely, crispy and sooooooo tasty! I luv the spice combination and the ease of this recipe. The only thing that I did differntly was to cover my seeds after 20 minutes, cause otherwise they would have turned too dark. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this winner with us, ~Rita~! Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #19 February 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      These were really good. I made 1/2 of an acorn squash with Salmon Fillets which was really good too. Since there were not a whole bunch of seed it didn't take very long to get done but oh sooo good. Thanks for sharing this recipe I won't be throwing anymore squash seeds away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      I really liked the chili power added, tastes great! I used the seeds from a spagetti Squash but only baked them for 20 min. There wasn't a whole lot of seeds, and were gone that night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      I may have just found my favorite pumpkin seed recipe. These are great. I did add extra salt and spices because I had so many seeds, and I baked them for an extra 10 minutes. Oh, I kept the butter amount the same. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      LOVED IT!!! I cooked an acorn Squash and used these seeds. Not sure how many seeds I used or the exact amounts of the seasonings as I just sprinkled what looked good to me over the seeds, wonderful flavors! Thank-you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      these disappeared quickly, so nice to not waste them, Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      DD has wanted to try pumpkin seeds and enjoys spicy things so I made these for her. She really liked these and the only thing she said maybe next time a little more chili powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      YUM! Hot head that I am I added 1/8 t cayenne and WOW what a kick this was! Great recipe! This would be an amazing addition to salads or as a nut replacement in lots of recipes. IF you can manage to keep them from being eaten before you get them into the recipe! Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2005

      I had 2 cups of pumpkin seeds, so used 4x the recipe. I realized later I shouldn't have quadrupled the butter-it was a lot of butter!!! Still very good though. These are full of flavor; just the right amount of heat for me; thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2004

      Awesome delicate crunch to these heavenly morsels. Had no idea they'd be THIS good. WAY better than pumpkin seeds and I like them. I will never again throw away a squash seed. I liked the seasoning as written and the timing was right on. Thanks, Rita L.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2004

      These are good!! I only had the seeds from 1 butternut- but it was 1/2 cup of seeds and I figured since the recipe says it makes a half cup, I would keep the measures the same. Very good flavor- they are pleasantly spiced with a wonderful buttery flavor. Very easy recipe to prepare and absolutley scrumptious! Next time I'll follow Bergy's lead and add a bit more chili powder or even a dash of cayenne- I think I'd like these to have a bit more kick! BF really dislikes pumpkin seeds, but he loves these! Thanks for a nice recipe, Rita! Great healthy snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Roasted Butternut Seeds / Pumpkin Seeds

    Serving Size: 1 (4557 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 4295.4
     
    Calories from Fat 292
    79%
    Total Fat 32.4 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 16.5 g
    82%
    Cholesterol 61.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1741.5 mg
    72%
    Total Carbohydrate 1062.2 g
    354%
    Dietary Fiber 181.9 g
    727%
    Sugars 199.8 g
    799%
    Protein 91.3 g
    182%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes