20 Reviews

I made a a stuffed pumpkin tonight and staring at the pile of seeds I said "I wonder if recipezaar has a pumpkin seed recipe..." This one caught my eye and lucky it did because it was great! I actually melted the butter and spices in a bowl, stirred in the seeds and spread them out on a cookie sheet. Couldn't be easier!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wish I Could Cook November 09, 2010

I also used just one butternut squash (which I made a casserole out of) but I had about 1 cup of seeds. I still adjusted the seasonings to account for 1 squash and we really enjoyed the results! I like squash seeds better than pumpkin, and I always LOVED pumpkin seeds! Thanks Rita, great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude October 05, 2003

Really good! Next time I think I'll mix the spices and melted butter together with the seeds in a bowl like another reviewer suggested. The spices were great, but didn't get disbursed evenly mixing everything together on the baking sheet.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slayergyrl November 04, 2011

Delicious! I used the seeds from gem squash. I will make this exactly as your recipe calls for every time. No need to change anything!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LauraMac December 10, 2010

Really like this - next time will add cayenne for a bit more heat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fluffystew November 20, 2010

I give this a full 5 star for flavor and a wonderful way to use the squash seeds however it would be difficult to use up 4 butternut squash unless you make the recipe suggested here first. I bought one butternut squash which I thought looked like it would have lots of seeds and was surprised that I only gor 11 seeds! I went ahead and adjusted the recipe and baked them, they were wonderful - I used a bit more chili powder. Next time I will try sundrying the seeds each time I have squash and saving them until I have enough to make it worthwhile. It is a delicious recipe Thanks RitaL

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy June 08, 2003

these were spot on! perfectly seasoned. I used the pumpkin option.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sofie-a-toast October 16, 2012

Yummy little treat! I did butternut squash seeds, and they turned out as a perfect snack. Thanks Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom January 02, 2012

I've been collecting squash seeds (acorn, spaghetti, butternut etc), rinsed & stored in water in the fridge till I had enough for a double-batch. Excellent flavours & easy to make. Top notch recipe, thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 July 13, 2010

I had always wanted to make roasted pumpkin seeds, but somehow they never turned out right. They were limp and flavourless. But then I came upon your recipe and decided to give it one more try as your recipes never let me down so far. Well, Im happy to say that it was a huge success. The seeds were browned nicely, crispy and sooooooo tasty! I luv the spice combination and the ease of this recipe. The only thing that I did differntly was to cover my seeds after 20 minutes, cause otherwise they would have turned too dark. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this winner with us, ~Rita~! Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #19 February 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula February 12, 2010
Spicy Roasted Butternut Seeds / Pumpkin Seeds