Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Roast Pumpkin Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Roast Pumpkin

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2009

      So good - you can't beat oven-roasted veggies for maxed-out flavour. I did a combo of pumpkin and sweet potato and zucchini and added a bit of chile powder in place of all the black pepper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      This was good with just the pumpkin- but you got to try it with sweet potatoes in it too- they compliment each other great and makes an 'ok dish' superb. I also added a lil' bit of crumbled dry sweet basil. Thanx for the idea- I didn't want to make soup or pie with my pumpkin.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      I thought this would be great with two of my favourite flavours - pumpkin and cumin (although I never thought of putting them together. I was disappointed. It cooked up nicely, but it tasted just blah. The pumpkin (perhaps it was my choice of pumpkin) had no flavour, so basically all we could taste was the taste of toasted cumin. It needed something to balance the cumin. I tried adding a splash of lime juice at serving time, but it did nothing for it. Some have said that sweet potatoes are a welcome addition. It definitely needs "something". Will try again with sweet potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      Good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      I've been looking for a non-desserty, non-soupy way to serve pumpkin, and this one's a keeper! It was a bit salty for my taste, but not salty enough for my husband. Next time I think I'll omit the salt altogether, so people can salt to taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      I purchased some butternut squash, already peeled and cubed, and a friend suggested I try it with this recipe. I'm so glad she did. This was wonderful. I did it just like written, only substituted the squash for the pumpkin. I'm buying more squash tomorrow, and having a huge container of it for the week. Fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      Very delicious! I have made this with butternut squash and acorn squash both great masha Allah. The acorn squash is killer to peel though. I sometimes add some brown sugar to the mix depending on our mood or the squash's quality. I do use much less freshly ground black pepper per preference. I tend to serve the recipe with Yellow Rice and plain Balkan (thick) yogurt as a simple vegetarian meal. I like to top the rice with pats of butter. I will make this often the same way or I would like to try with sweet pumpkin when I can get some insha Allah. Originally made for MAKE MY RECIPE~Tag Game Ed't 10.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      Although it was a tad too spicy for my taste it was still pretty good. I'm not sure if I'll make it again though. Nonetheless, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Delicious! I ate some and am using the rest to make Creamy Butternut Squash and Spinach Gratin. Thanks FT for a great way to use pumpkin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Absolutely scrumptious. Made for lunch with a French bread and a green side salad, perfect meal. Was a little worried that the cumin would be to strong, but it was just right. The roasting brings out the natural sweetness and the cumin / pepper combo keeps it from being too sweet. Will defiantly be making again. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

    • on August 15, 2009

      Oh, oh, oh!!! This is SERIOUSLY DIVINE!!! :D FT, I luv pumpkin and this recipe really makes it shine! The roasting method makes it creamy on the inside bringing out its rich taste and the outside gets crispy and browned. Just PERFECT! Im sure the spice combination you suggest is great, but since I bought some fresh rosemary from the market this morning I had to chop up some of it to use in this dish. Also I added a clove of garlic, which added a great flavour, too. I cant wait to have this again! THANKS SO MUCH for sharing another lovely recipe with us, FT! Made and reviewed for Edn#8-Make My Recipe August 09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      I love pumpkin... I love roasted pumpkin even more! I put this in the oven for near on an hour and I just couldn't get the crispy finish I was looking for!? But the flavour combination was delicious, the pumpkin flavour was lovely. It just lacked that roast pumpkin sweetness for me... I am going to attempt this one again as I truly believe it could be something I did wrong and I will re-evaluate then! Thanks for the recipe French Tart. Made for ZWT5 Family Picks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

    • on November 05, 2008

      Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      I have been cooking up a pumpkin storm the last few days. I made this a few days ago with ground cumin to go on a warm lamb salad. I made pumpkin soup with the rest of the pumpkin the next day which was wonderful. I then cooked some pumpkin last night to go with an ostrich roast and I used cumin seeds this time. Both ways were excellent and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. I love pumpkin and this is a great way to serve it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      Wonderful recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I had a whole pumpkin which I had bought. I used some of it for roast pumpkin and none of the family ate it as they said it had no flavour. So I decided to make this recipe with some of the same leftover pumpkin and everyone loved it! The flavour was fantastic and it cooked up a treat. My DH even ate it and commented on how nice it was.....and he doesnt normally eat pumpkin! I microwaved the pumpkin a little first only to make it peel easier, but everything else I did was as per the recipe. DH usually makes the roast vegies in this house and was watching me make this pumpkin it will be interesting to see if he asks "wheres the cumin next time he does pumpkin!" Thanks French Tart this is a keeper for this family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      Excellent taste and texture. Peeling is a bit of a problem. I used a vegetable peeler but a paring knife might be faster. I placed some of the prepared pumpkin in a microwave and cooked it at 7 (1100 w microwave) for 7 min.; then turned the pieces over and cooked it for an additional 7 min. at 7. Then added some cooked brown rice, swiss chard cooked for another minute to heat the rice. Served sprinkled parmesan cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      This is my all favourite cooked vegetable, I just LOVE pumpkin roasted! We cook trays of this at a time with roast potatoes too, to serve with our roast meat. We had friends from the US come visit who had never tried it cooked this way and were a bit dubious but once they tasted it they were hooked!! Personally, I just love it when it gets burnt black bits on it, as the sugar caramelises and is sooooo sweet! YUM YUM YUM Good one French Tart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Roast Pumpkin

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 122.1
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    52%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 294.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites