Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Rice, Bean and Lentil Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Rice, Bean and Lentil Casserole

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2012

      I made this for my work Christmas party. Being the only vegan, I needed to make sure there was something I could eat! I doubled the recipe, which doubles beautifully, and everyone loved it! Very simple to make and will now be one of my go to recipes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      This is very easy and very tasty. I subbed red lentils and white basmati rice as that was what I had on hand. I also used homemade salsa.I would definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2003

      Wonderful - even my hubby enjoys this (and he is a picky eater)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      Great easy recipe! I did add chopped kale and some Cayenne pepper. I also substituted pinto beans and fresh hot salsa. My husband and I loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      Came out a little soupy, but was otherwise good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      Two quibbles: this is not a casserole, and it took a lot longer than the stated time. However, it was quite tasty and very easy to make. I had my doubts while it was cooking, and I did add some Old El Paso taco seasoning (about a tablespoon). I used a whole can of green chiles, too. Very healthy recipe that I will make again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I've made this a few times now and my kids, aged between 8 and 1, still love it! I leave out the chili powder, and have used a little mild taco sauce when I don't have enough salsa. Other than that I follow the recipe and it's fantastic. I like to serve it on top of a pile of mashed potatoes. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Very good ... used turkey stock instead of vegetable, and added some yogurt-garlic dip after it cooled off. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Really enjoy this recipe. I used it as a side dish so I found it makes a whole lot more than 4 servings. I paired it up with Sweet & Spicy Chicken so I cut back the salsa in 1/2 so the 2 dishes didn't compete with each other, that worked great. The only other thing I'd do next time is cut back the stock about 1/4 cup so I can cut back on the cooking of the rice/lentils. I found the rice was cooked in 30 min but there was still abit of liquid left to cook off. Awesome recipe, thanks for sharing Derf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      This meal was eazy to make and tasted good too. I toned down the spices and it still tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      This was a great recipe- even my husband who hates lentils declared it "Tasty" I had to alter the recipe a bit since the only beans I had on hand were garbanzo beans- it was great! Can't wait to try again using the kidney beans. I added salt which was a big mistake. Will make it as written next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      I used red bell peppers instead of green (just what I had on hand). The salsa I used was a delicious roasted garlic and bell pepper variety that worked really well with these flavors. I added extra garlic and onion. This was simple and good, and made lots of food. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      This was absolutely delicious! I added a little salt and pepper and doubled the chili powder. I also used pinto beans and some fresh chopped tomatoes since I didn't have quite enough salsa. We topped it with plain yogurt and hot sauce...and ate too much. :) Thanks for a yummy and healthy recipe that we will definitely be making again!! Alison

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Rice, Bean and Lentil Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (372 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 480.8
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    17%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 541.3 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 89.5 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 21.8 g
    87%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 23.6 g
    47%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes