12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a great recipe! We love Kale and I could have eaten the whole pot by myself! Thanks for a grat new side dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koechin (Chef) December 07, 2009

This recipe is awesome. This is how I'm going to make rice from here on out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Wetherell January 16, 2015

Excellent! I loved it. Received Kale in a Boutiful Basket. The next night I added a small can of
mixed vegies, shaved fresh carrots and onions and had a 2nd meal. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song October 23, 2012

Excellent recipe! I used homemade chicken stock and kale straight from the garden. Mine ended up almost like a risotto. It was so good. This will become a family staple! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kfreekave October 25, 2011

Three stars for taste and another star because it's healthy and made without fats or oils. I used brown rice and made as written, adding a can of drained kidney beans. Topped it with some extra hot sauce. It tasted just OK but I felt virtuous while eating it ... do need to lose some weight!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heirloom Tomato June 01, 2010

Yum! This was the first time I've cooked with Kale. I've joined a CSA and have two huge bags of kale in my fridge and was looking for an easy, tasty recipe. This fit the bill! I think even my husband will like it (I am much more brave when it comes to trying new things). I didn't have any low-sodium broth, and it did turn out a little salty, but I know better now, for next time. I think I will also add in some kidney beans like another reviewer did. Some feta stirred in would be awesome, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Berry June 18, 2009

I made this with leftover rice, so I just cooked the kale in broth for about 10 minutes. I added a can of Louisiana-style red beans in Cajun sauce and topped it with grated cheddar. (Not quite so healthy, but the cheese made the meal for me.) I will definitely make again as a way to use up the copious amounts of kale that come in my CSA box all winter long.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CongoGirl March 11, 2009

This was great and simple to make! A great way to add some nutrition to rice AND get rid of some kale/greens. Used vegetable broth to make this vegan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain February 26, 2009

Very yummy! I added a few dashes of hot sauce to the finished dish and topped it with some shrimp that I had roasted in the oven. Quick, easy, delicious, and a meal I'd probably make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goodlookin' Cookin' January 30, 2009

We belong to a local CSA farm in our community and we get tons of greens. I did a search for Kale and most recipies came up were soups, but I wanted something that wasn't a soup, and this was it! It came out really well. I used a cajun seasoning recipe i found on the site, and it was just the right amount of spice, and was super easy! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlondeChick80 June 10, 2007
Spicy Rice and Kale