17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family really enjoyed this dish. Especially my husband who usally doesn't give a favorably comment easily. I used black beans and they worked quit well. I also used chicken bouillion and left out the bay leaf and it still turned out great.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail in Ontario January 26, 2003

Such a yummy rice and bean dish. I added an extra teaspoon of chili powder and a light sprinkle of red pepper flakes for a little more spice. Very delicious and healthy too. Thanks for sharing this Dorothy.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust October 28, 2002

This is a wonderful recipe! Absolutely deeeeelish!!! I used 3 jalapenos with the seeds and added a little more of the spices to give this a good kick. Excellent dinner for me with the protein, grains and veggies all in one. I didn't need anything else.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi April 30, 2003

This was SOOO good! However, I had to change it a little. I used 1 1/2 tsp of chili powder, guessed at the (dried) cilantro and (dried) parsley, bouillon cubes, 1 cup of chopped canned whole tomatoes, and 1/4 of a large white onion. Also, I don't know what my problem is with recipes and brown rice, but I had to add an additional cup of water and cook about 20 minutes longer. I topped with colby cheese and my husband ate it on a tortilla. Needless to say, we're very excited about the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. For us, this made enough for five bowls total.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mMadness97 December 01, 2011

Great for mid-week. followed the recipe, except doubled the beans and used canned tomatoes, forgot the cilantro, used pickled jalepenos. next time i'll up the seasonings. Good comfort food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MargoMart March 12, 2010

This is a good, healthy recipe. I used cumin and coriander that I had freshly roasted and ground, doubled the quantities and still felt like it could have used some extra seasoning. I left out the corn and doubled the quantity of grated carrot since I had to use them up, and added it closer to the end of the rice being cooked, so it wouldn't turn to mush and get lost in the dish. Finally, I browned two Trader Joe's Meatless Sausage and stirred it in at the end.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood February 20, 2010

flavorful without being too spicy, i usually just use 1/2 jalapeno pepper. my search is over! i love spicy food but the rest of my family doesn't so i add my own heat. thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
girl#1177249 October 24, 2009

Great recipe! I intended to put red pepper flakes in the dish, per another reviewer's suggestion, but I forgot. Instead, I used hot sauce to add some heat just before serving. And a little low fat cheese and low fat sour cream, per another reviewer's comments. This dish is super easy to tweak to suit your own preferences, and so healthy and easy! We will definitely be making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenFish August 24, 2009

What a fabulous rice dish - it's so flavorful! The heat of the spicy peppers and chili powder was nicely countered by the sweetness of the carrots and corn. I did add an extra jalapeno and some red pepper flakes. I can't help it - I just like things HOT! :) I made this for myself last night for dinner and plan to eat it the rest of the week! Yum! Thanks, Derf!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnieLynne July 31, 2009
Spicy Rice and Beans