Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Rice and Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Rice and Beans

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2003

      My family really enjoyed this dish. Especially my husband who usally doesn't give a favorably comment easily. I used black beans and they worked quit well. I also used chicken bouillion and left out the bay leaf and it still turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2002

      Such a yummy rice and bean dish. I added an extra teaspoon of chili powder and a light sprinkle of red pepper flakes for a little more spice. Very delicious and healthy too. Thanks for sharing this Dorothy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

    • on April 30, 2003

      This is a wonderful recipe! Absolutely deeeeelish!!! I used 3 jalapenos with the seeds and added a little more of the spices to give this a good kick. Excellent dinner for me with the protein, grains and veggies all in one. I didn't need anything else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2011

      This was SOOO good! However, I had to change it a little. I used 1 1/2 tsp of chili powder, guessed at the (dried) cilantro and (dried) parsley, bouillon cubes, 1 cup of chopped canned whole tomatoes, and 1/4 of a large white onion. Also, I don't know what my problem is with recipes and brown rice, but I had to add an additional cup of water and cook about 20 minutes longer. I topped with colby cheese and my husband ate it on a tortilla. Needless to say, we're very excited about the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. For us, this made enough for five bowls total.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      Great for mid-week. followed the recipe, except doubled the beans and used canned tomatoes, forgot the cilantro, used pickled jalepenos. next time i'll up the seasonings. Good comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      This is a good, healthy recipe. I used cumin and coriander that I had freshly roasted and ground, doubled the quantities and still felt like it could have used some extra seasoning. I left out the corn and doubled the quantity of grated carrot since I had to use them up, and added it closer to the end of the rice being cooked, so it wouldn't turn to mush and get lost in the dish. Finally, I browned two Trader Joe's Meatless Sausage and stirred it in at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      flavorful without being too spicy, i usually just use 1/2 jalapeno pepper. my search is over! i love spicy food but the rest of my family doesn't so i add my own heat. thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Great recipe! I intended to put red pepper flakes in the dish, per another reviewer's suggestion, but I forgot. Instead, I used hot sauce to add some heat just before serving. And a little low fat cheese and low fat sour cream, per another reviewer's comments. This dish is super easy to tweak to suit your own preferences, and so healthy and easy! We will definitely be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      What a fabulous rice dish - it's so flavorful! The heat of the spicy peppers and chili powder was nicely countered by the sweetness of the carrots and corn. I did add an extra jalapeno and some red pepper flakes. I can't help it - I just like things HOT! :) I made this for myself last night for dinner and plan to eat it the rest of the week! Yum! Thanks, Derf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      This was very good. I omitted the celery and corn (didn't have any), used 1 can diced tomatoes and added more jalapenos and spice. My husband added cheese and sour cream to his, but it tastes delicious either way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      Made this today for the family and it was good! We try to go vegetarian a couple of days a week. I used tomatoes and corn from a can. Didn't have fresh or frozen corn. I also used a serrano pepper instead of a jalepeno. Also what I had on hand. Otherwise, I prepared the recipe exactly as directed. Thanks. We really enjoyed it and will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      I really liked how easy this was to put together. I used black beans instead of red/pinto beans and skipped the bouillon as it didn't seem like it was needed. Everything was delicious and really flavourful! The grated carrots got lost in everything, so next time I'd just use mixed frozen vegetables. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      What a wonderful vegetarian dish! I have many vegetarian friends and I am always looking for yummy recipes when they come over for dinner. You don't need any meat to make a meal out of this delicious dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      I liked this a lot. I used refried beans because they were the only kind I had in the house and they worked just fine, but obviously made a difference in the overall look and texture. I cooked it first and then tasted for spiciness and adjusted to suit our preferences. Tasted even better the next day topped with salsa. It was nice and colorful and a combination I'm likely to try again. Thanks! Update: I did make this again, this time with black beans. I liked it even better this time and my 7 year old loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2005

      Delicious! This is one of those recipes that tastes 100 times better than it looks. Looks wise this looks almost boring, just a beans and rice dish. Taste wise though you get a mixture of flavours, the nutty flavour of the rice, uniqueness of the beans and the spicy kick softened by the sweet carrots and corn. This wonderful healthy vegetarian meal is a regular at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2003

      thought it was kinda bland. would not make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Rice and Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (273 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 7

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 271.4
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    13%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 36.7 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 9.3 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable bouillon granules

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites