Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Red Beans and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Red Beans and Rice

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on February 28, 2011

      This is the ol' Chevy truck of Southern country vittles. Make the recipe as written or substitute your heart out. 'Tis excellent as written, but here's a couple of alternatives. I like to grind three or four dried cayenne peppers between my palms directly over the pot. Any sort of fresh peppers chopped up do well. Trying to eat the meat from a ham hock is fine if you are broke. The human stomach is perfectly suited to the exercise. Since I am not destitute, I wrap the ham hock(s) in cheesecloth and toss them with the bay leaves. If you want pieces of meat, use large chunks of ham and shred them at the end down to bite size. Or country style ribs. Or whatever you have laying around. But don't pass on the ham hocks. (Bacon and liquid smoke will work, kinda.) I make it very watery since the leftovers soak up a lot of liquid overnight. Put some of the beans in a blender to thicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      This was just what I was looking for. EXCELLENT!!! Easy, cheap, satisfying, but most of all, it had the taste I was looking for. This will be a favorite here, I can tell you. The next time I make it, I will add some chopped cooked ham if I serve it as a main dish (My family are big meat- eaters). But as a side dish it is PERFECT as is. I added 1/2 tsp cayenne, since my family is not big on "hot". I served it over brown rice, just because I like how chewy it is. There were no left-overs. I tried to take a picture to post, but my batteries were dead. Next time I will. EDIT: I've made this recipe many times now. I've also made it in the crockpot. If you do, soak the beans overnight, then cook it on HIGH all day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2003

      This turned out to be a great "no time to cook" meal. After dropping everything into the crock pot and leaving for work, I was welcomed home with a very pleasant aroma. While the rice boiled, I stirred the beans, which had thickened nicely and added the parsley. What a treat. This one will definitively be repeated. Hubby says the "heat" was just right. The leftovers went to work with him the next day, and I've passed on the recipe to two co-workers along with recipezaar's web address.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2011

      It sounds like a good recipe that I will try. I just wanted to note though, that the recipe calls for dried red kidney beans and some have mentioned using slow cookers. Using slow cookers with raw or dried red kidney beens is very dangerous. Red kidney beans need to reach full boil for a certain period of time (10 minutes has been suggested), i.e. a certain temperature, to break down the Phytohaemagglutnin (Kidney Bean Lectin) which is toxic.
      See http://www.foodreference.com/html/artredkidneybeanpoisoning.html. There may be some slow cookers that can safely do this, but not having one, or otherwise looking at them I do not know. All I know is that the article said that heating can actually worsen the toxicity if insufficient, So if you are not cooking the recipe as described, be careful. If someone else mentioned this, and I missed it, sorry for the duplication.

      Not to give away anything, but this is a plot device in the fine book by the late Dick Francis, Dead Heat (2007). Highly recommended, but I like all his books. ;-)

      Thank you Anita, for the recipe! I look forward to trying it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      Delicious! I made this last night and it was a HUGE hit. Even my niece who often complains things are too spicy, ate every bite and raved about how good it was. It was spicy don't get me wrong, but I guess in a good way for my niece. LOL I didn't have a ham hock, so I left that out, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks so much for sharing. We will be doing this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Made mostly as directed but with a few changes...added 1 chopped green bell pepper and an extra clove of garlic; sauteed the onions/garlic/celery/bell pepper in half olive oil and half butter before adding the other ingredients. Used additional hot sauce and did not add salt because I used two smoked ham hocks instead of one. Served with Sweet Cornbread (#116185) and Alton Brown's baked brown rice. Being from the South, I can attest to this being some awesome red beans and rice...do try it with the ham hock or ham bone for the best flavor. This is going in my favorites. Thanks, Anita! GREAT recipe! Even my DH, who swore he'd never eat a "pot of beans" is now a convert!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      I really like this recipe. I am used to making Latin American style red beans, but this is a great alternative (more of a Cajun flavor), and my husband prefers this one. I do have the following variations: use 1 qt chicken stock instead of water, add 1 can diced tomatoes, omit the hot pepper sauce; and use bacon/sliced sausage/ham for the meat. This would be a great recipe for leftover ham bone. I pair these beans with rice and/or sweet cornbread (www.momadvice.com) and www.kraftfoods.com's oven-fried crunchy parmesan chicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      Marvelous! I omitted the "spicey" parts of it as I didn't have either on hand, but the other flavors were superb. An update: I've tried this several times in the past few years that I've been making it and it has never failed me. It's fantastic with either hocks or shanks, or a huge ham bone. I like to sautee the onions until nice and brown but that's the only mod I've made. Thanks for a long time family favorite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      Wow, this recipe is excellent! I put them in a crock pot and let them cook all day (11 hrs!) on low. I doubled the amount of water since it was going to cook for so long. I also added a spicy pork sausage as I thought there wouldn't be enough meat but it didn't need it and next time I'll skip it. The ham just fell off the ham hock, it was so tender. It was all perfectly spicy, just right and so easy. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2014

      Fantastic. Best I have ever had. Followed recipe!! (optional) I added 3/4 of 1 pound sausage link cut in small pieces and it blended in great. After cooking, I discarded ham hock, because I didn't like the fat and skin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2014

      I soaked the dry beans for 2 days then threw it all in a crockpot and cooked it on high for somewhere close to 12 hours. I did not put the salt in until after 8 hours, just to make sure the beans would soften first. I used 2 cups of each veggie since I had some I needed to use up, doubled the garlic because we like it, and left out the liquid hot sauce (I couldn't reach it off the top shelf and then forgot why I got the stepstool!) but otherwise followed the recipe as written and found it plenty spicy enough. I had a different recipe for it that I liked a little better but I lost that one and this worked just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      Hubs and I loved these beans! I used my slow cooker and left out the celery and hot pepper sauce. We'll freeze some to enjoy later and will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      I like to add link sausage and cut back a bit on the spice so my kids will eat it. Perfect recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Made for a New Year's get-together and soaked the beans overnight to shorten the cooking time. Also altered to make vegetarian for those who don't eat meat products. Used condensed veggie bouillon and a can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos for extra flavor. Served with Brown Rice (Baked) made with the same veggie bouillon. Nice flavor and I'm glad it wasn't too spicy since we had kids too. Those who wanted a bit more zip added tabasco sauce. Enjoying leftovers and will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      Great, easy recipe. I doubled this and substituted smoked turkey legs for the ham hocks. Delicious! I used the lower amount of cayenne and it still was very spicy. (I had just bought a new jar from Penzeys so it was very fresh cayenne). I used Louisiana hot sauce in mine. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      This was better than Popeye's! I didn't have ham so I used Neuske's Applewood smoked bacon. What as delightful meal. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      This was good, but not a make-again recipe for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      I made this exactly as written except for soaking the beans overnight and cooking in a crockpot for 8 hours on high. The gravy consistancy was wonderful, the beans were perfectly cooked, and the meat fell off the ham hocks. That said, I was put-off having to fish out the bones, cartilage, and other ham hock detritus from the beans. My boys were grossed out when each bit into a bone chunk that I had missed. We did not find it spicy enough, even with my liberal measurments of cayenne pepper and hot pepper sauce. If I were to make it again, I would definatly use cut up pieces of cooked ham or sausuage instead of the ham hock. I would also double or triple the spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      This just didn't work for me. I cooked for much longer and the beans still tasted kind of gritty. Was hoping to give it another try the next day, but just couldn't do it. Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Tried this once for a "cajun" potluck, and have made it many times since. Whenever I make this I have to call my sister or I'm in trouble!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Red Beans and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 211.6
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    57%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 617.7 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 9.8 g
    39%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 13.5 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    smoked ham hock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes