Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Pretzels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Pretzels

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2009

      I made this tonight for the Magic/Lakers playoff game and I keep re-reading over the ingredients to figure out what I did wrong...I found these to be WAY too salty! I even subbed garlic powder for the garlic salt. Maybe I am supposed to be using non-salted pretzels? I find it odd that only 1/4 pound pretzels be used when a similar, no-bake pretzel recipe indicates a whole pound be used with one package of the ranch dressing mix. I am upset I wasted the last of my pretzels on this salty mess :[ :::UPDATE:::So I made these again because I thought they had potential. They taste SO much better when you use at least 1/2 pound of pretzels, LESS THAN 1/4 cup oil, and ONE HALF package of ranch dressing mix. I would also recommend using UNSALTED PRETZELS since the ranch mix is so darn salty! We enjoyed these when I made them with altered amounts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      I LOVE LOVE LOVE these pretzels!<br/>I used 1lb of pretzels, 1 cup veggy oil, 1tsp Cayenne pepper, 1tsp Garlic powder and 1 packet of Dry ranch.<br/>I would probably add more dry ranch when I make these again.<br/>These were just perfect in spiciness! They are ridiculously addicting, can't stop eating them once you start!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      I make these all the time...my husband loves them. I use 2 10 oz bags of pretzels.... put pretzels in colander and shake off excess salt. Combine in a large bowl 1 package of hidden valley ranch dressing, 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper or less, 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder and 1/2 teaspoon lemon pepper seasoning. Mix in 3/4 cup canola dresing. Stir in pretzels coating them well. Spread out on cookie sheet to dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      I made these for our Super Bowl party & they turned out great! I had to send some home with 2 of our guy friends because they loved them so much! Changes I made: I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt, since I figured the pretzels would be salty enough on their own. I also used about 2 tsp of chili powder instead of cayenne pepper (didn't have any.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      My new favorite flavored pretzels! I don't like flavored pretzels that are too oily or have too much seasoning, so I cut back on the oil and used 1/2 lb. of pretzels with the same amount of seasoning. They turned out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2013

      Great recipe.Everyone loved them! Used a little over a pound of pretzels!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      These are really good if you like spice as they have a real kick! I did use 3/4 pound of pretzels & think I should have used even more than that. There was excess spice mix left in the pan when done baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      This is the same recipe that our friend Mrs. Nancy uses. Except her's calls for a cup of oil and a large bag of small pretzel twists. DD and DH just love them. Thanks for submitting this recipe. Now I don't have to worry about misplacing that little slip of paper I have Nancy's recipe written on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      These are awesome! I've made them 3 times! It was too much cayenne for us so we started to cut it in half for our second batch! My DH thinks every bar should serve these to up their beverage sales! My DH and BIL would give more than 5 stars if they could! Very easy and very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      These are excellent prezels! A coworker brought me a tin of these at Christmas time, and I have made them several times since!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      These pretzels were great. Just enough flavor, not too overwhelming. I probably used closer to a pound of pretzels, doubled the oil but kept the ranch mix to one package. I also used Cajun seasoning in place of the garlic and cayenne. It already has those flavors in it anyway. These were a nice salty treat in lieu of all the sweet treats offered during the holidays

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      Too yummy, Just made a double batch for the second time tonight. I used Snyder's sourdough nibblers. Better than the store bought by far... Be careful w/ the cayenne. Trust me this is an awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      This recipe is awesome. My daughter's teacher has requested pretzels again this year. The only addition I make is adding 1 teaspoon of dill and it makes a great addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Yum yum- thanks for the great mid-day snack. I'd picked up a bag of these treats on vacation and after biting into a spicy, salty pretzel just knew that I had to make some at home for myself. I used a full pound bag of pretzels, doubled the oil and only cooked them for 1.5 hours- delish! I think next time I'll also add some red pepper flakes 'cause I really like the heat, but that's what great about this recipe...it's very flexible. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      These are my new addiction! I used 1 lb of mini pretzels and 1/2 cup vegetable oil. I kept the ranch dressing mix and cayenne pepper the same but used granulated garlic instead of garlic salt. We munched on these while watching the Seahawks game (GO HAWKS!) and everyone loved them! Thanks for sharing this great snack recipe, Marlene! **Made for Fall PAC 2008**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      These were really tasty treats. I used a one pound bag and the seasoning was adequate. I used the full tsp of cayenne and it was a just right amount of heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      OH MY GOSH these are soo amazing! I only had maybe 2 cups or so worth of mini pretzel twists and they had gone sort of stale, so I didn't want them to go to waste. I had a 0.59oz pouch of Hidden Valley Fat Free Ranch Dip, used approx 1/3 cup of canola oil (don't have vegetable oil), 3/4 tsp of garlic powder instead of using garlic salt, and about 1/8 of a tsp of cayenne pepper. These were done in about 55 mins and I'm glad I didn't have to wait long for them to cool. They are sooo good, with a great flavor. The ranch flavor is dominant because I chose to use very little cayenne, but the heat is there as a background flavor. I don't think there will be enough to share with my bf! Lol! The fat-free ranch dip I used has msg and dairy products which I shouldn't be eating due to IBS, but these are too good! Thank you so much for sharing, Marlene! Next time I might be able to add a bit more cayenne, and not feel so worried about them being too hot. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      These are so good! I make them all the time and they disappear quickly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      I got the same recipe from my cousin Pam. These are excellent and everyone loves them. You can't stop eating them!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      These were good. Nice and spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Pretzels

    Serving Size: 1 (28 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 154.9
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    56%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 257.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hidden valley ranch dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes