Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Potatoes (Rasadar Aloo) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Potatoes (Rasadar Aloo)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 22, 2010

      I make this recipe all the time. Like others have said, I was surprised at the mild flavor, given all the spices in it, but this is still quite good. It's a great way to use potatoes; I use large potatoes, because that's usually all I have, and dice them. As another reviewer pointed out, you can use leftover boiled potatoes for this, although it may cause the potatoes to not soak up as much of the delicious sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      This was good, but was a lot blander than I expected given all of the great spices used. The night we made this, I probably would have given it 2 stars because it did not have much flavor, but after letting it sit for a few days, the flavor improved to a 3.5. I think less liquid would improve the flavor, I already had cut up the potatoes small, and would also suggest doing that. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      This was a nice mildly spiced Indian potato dish. I used less oil, salt and chilli powder for our tastes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      Wonderful new way to bring the potatoes to my dinner table. I used baby reds & subbed a pinch of onion powder & garlic powder for the asafetida. The blend of spice was perfect! Thanks for expanding my "vegetables they will eat" list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      Amazing how the humble potato can be elevated to the highest standard by the 'right' spicing. This recipe deserves many, many stars as it is not only delicious, but very easy to make. Did leave out the asafetida, as I have never seen it here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      Excellent!!! Beautiful flavours. I had to leave out the chili powder because of younger family members. But still good and can see the extra heat would make it better. Thankyou for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      I'm cooking it right now,and w/o the tomatoes as I dont have any here. I sub. onions and garlic for asetofida powder and my kithen smells great! I can't wait to eat this, ty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2005

      Great potatoes. I did not have the asafetida powder, so had to skip that. I also made a mistake in that I cooked to potatoes first...oops. To compensate, I just used a little less water and simmered for less time. Turned out beautifully. This tells me I can use this recipe for left-over boiled potatoes when I have them. I cut back on the tomatoes based on my personal preference. This made a wonderful lunch for me today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      Very nice saucy potatoes. I used large ones cubed like the other reviewers, and followed the recipe exactly. I loved that intially they did not taste spicy at all, and then you got that lovely warm afterglow in your mouth - this is a great Indian potato dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      This was well worth a trip to Curry Row in Manhattan to find asafoetida powder. The smell was initially a bit pungent but as the other ingredients were added to the skillet, it seemed to just meld in giving the final dish a little smokiness. Like others, I cubed some larger potatoes and savored every bite. And yes, I do think this would be sensational with a mix of white and sweet potatoes, and maybe even some carrots. Thanks Caroline!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      This was absolutely delicious! As far as I'm concerned the potatoes were there just to soak up the wonderful sauce. The spices complimented the tomatoes exceptionally well (so much so I could see adding more tomatoes). I used only 1 tablespoon oil and I did use new potatoes, but it might have been better to both peel and cut them up so the sauce sticks to them better. At first I was surprised it turned out so saucy (wasn't expecting that) but it tasted so great! I too was able to locate asafoetida powder, and was not at all put off by the smell. My BF, who is not a big fan of Indian cuisine (curried out, I guess) loved this recipe too. Thanks so much Caroline!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      Yum!!! Great colour!!! The only thing I changed in this recipe was the size of the potatoes (yes-I used the asafoetida powder!!).I didn't have any potatoes that were small so I peeled and cut three large potatoes into largish chunks. This had a smooth and mellowish flavour that we really enjoyed. A great addition to any Indian meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Potatoes (Rasadar Aloo)

    Serving Size: 1 (341 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 527.6
     
    Calories from Fat 258
    48%
    Total Fat 28.6 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1207.3 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.3 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 11.7 g
    47%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    asafetida powder

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites