12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I make this recipe all the time. Like others have said, I was surprised at the mild flavor, given all the spices in it, but this is still quite good. It's a great way to use potatoes; I use large potatoes, because that's usually all I have, and dice them. As another reviewer pointed out, you can use leftover boiled potatoes for this, although it may cause the potatoes to not soak up as much of the delicious sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happyvalleygirl July 22, 2010

This was good, but was a lot blander than I expected given all of the great spices used. The night we made this, I probably would have given it 2 stars because it did not have much flavor, but after letting it sit for a few days, the flavor improved to a 3.5. I think less liquid would improve the flavor, I already had cut up the potatoes small, and would also suggest doing that. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway March 29, 2010

This was a nice mildly spiced Indian potato dish. I used less oil, salt and chilli powder for our tastes. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito August 16, 2009

Wonderful new way to bring the potatoes to my dinner table. I used baby reds & subbed a pinch of onion powder & garlic powder for the asafetida. The blend of spice was perfect! Thanks for expanding my "vegetables they will eat" list.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie June 28, 2006

Amazing how the humble potato can be elevated to the highest standard by the 'right' spicing. This recipe deserves many, many stars as it is not only delicious, but very easy to make. Did leave out the asafetida, as I have never seen it here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 27, 2006

Excellent!!! Beautiful flavours. I had to leave out the chili powder because of younger family members. But still good and can see the extra heat would make it better. Thankyou for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catherine Robson March 19, 2006

I'm cooking it right now,and w/o the tomatoes as I dont have any here. I sub. onions and garlic for asetofida powder and my kithen smells great! I can't wait to eat this, ty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeannette 108 October 13, 2005

Great potatoes. I did not have the asafetida powder, so had to skip that. I also made a mistake in that I cooked to potatoes first...oops. To compensate, I just used a little less water and simmered for less time. Turned out beautifully. This tells me I can use this recipe for left-over boiled potatoes when I have them. I cut back on the tomatoes based on my personal preference. This made a wonderful lunch for me today.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms*Bindy September 24, 2005

Very nice saucy potatoes. I used large ones cubed like the other reviewers, and followed the recipe exactly. I loved that intially they did not taste spicy at all, and then you got that lovely warm afterglow in your mouth - this is a great Indian potato dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
currybunny September 18, 2005

This was well worth a trip to Curry Row in Manhattan to find asafoetida powder. The smell was initially a bit pungent but as the other ingredients were added to the skillet, it seemed to just meld in giving the final dish a little smokiness. Like others, I cubed some larger potatoes and savored every bite. And yes, I do think this would be sensational with a mix of white and sweet potatoes, and maybe even some carrots. Thanks Caroline!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni September 14, 2005
Spicy Potatoes (Rasadar Aloo)