Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Pork Bulgogi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Pork Bulgogi

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2003

      J-this was sooo GOOD! I loved how easy it was to throw together (10 minutes to slice and chop), and the flavor was superb. I did add just a splash of sesame oil too, for frying. I let it marinate for 1 1/2 hours and I think that overnight would have made the flavor even better, if that's even possible! This will be in regular rotation at my house! Thanks, J! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      Absolutely super! DH prefers pork bulgogi to beef, and this was exactly what he remembers from Korea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This is truly an authentic Korean dish. I made this for my very picky Korean dad and he was completely amazed by how good it was. I added a 2 teaspoons of sesame oil (for 2lbs of pork). I think it's really important to add sesame oil to any Korean dish. The ingredients used are what everyday Korean moms make so trust me, if you're looking for a good pork bulgogi this is it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      YUM!!!!!! It was so good!!! My darling husband even liked it and he can be a wimp in the spicy-food-department. I used what I believe was Thai Chili paste (I got it at an Asian market that has all the cuisines kind of mixed together). I also used coarse Korean ground pepper. I used one of those little boneless pork loin roasts and sliced it...then I put it in my food-saver canister (it is supposed to really help to infuse meat with a marinade) and let it "soak" for about 6 hours....OH MY GOD!!!! A real winner!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      My boys love this and ask for it every week! I only add a small sprinkle of red pepper flakes our else it is too spicy for my 7 year old. It still is really spicy and we love it!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2012

      I marinate it overnight and the flavor is FANTASTIC!! My husband LOVES it! Definitely spicy, but we love spicy! I'm making it again tonight (I made it last week) but this week I plan on adding some carrots to it

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      This recipe is amazing and I will definitely be making it again. I used cubed beef steak instead of pork and it came out perfect!! I used honey instead of sugar. I think the amount of red pepper flakes and paste was perfect, I wouldn't change it. Just enough heat/spice for me and I like spicy/hot food. It wasn't over the top or too much, even my two year old can eat it. But if you do not like spicy foods at all, then it will probably be too much for you and you'd have to adjust accordingly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      I'm African American and I made this for a girls night and my Korean and Asians friends loved it. One of my Korean friends said it was just the way her mother makes it. The Korean store I went to red pepper paste was spelled Gochujang so I had to ask to make sure I had the right thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      I spent 2 years in Korea and this recipe was great. Only other suggestion I would make is have kimchi with this dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      My husband spent 2 yrs in Korea and said that this recipe was almost "spot on." We added ginger ale to help balance out the flavors. Also, I had to substitue the red pepper paste with curry paste and the korean red pepper flakes with just red pepper flakes. I reduced the pepper paste and flakes. My husband said that this was really close to what he remembers. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      What a great dish! I only marinated for 3 hours I cant wait to leave it all night with all those flavors! So yummy and easy! just as good as my favorite Korean restaurant! Have i mentioned how much I love this dish? the only thing I changed was half a onion.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      This is was heavenly. It will be entering into my steady rotation of dishes. I thought that the spiciness was perfect but my mother who ate some thought it was a little bit too spicy....if cooking for people who don't love spicy food I would cut back on the red pepper flakes bc i think that the paste is essential and shouldnt be cut out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      This was excellent! Exactly what we were looking for. I think that this is better than any pork bulgogi we have had out. Spicy, but not overpowering. I made a doubled everything (except the yellow onion) and it turned out great. I thought we would have it for 2 dinners, but it was so good there was only one lunch portion left. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      Berrrry good! my husband who is a Spanish and can't eat too spicy food loves it! he was even humming while enjoying it :) I marinated the meat over night and they were quite tender! i thought it would be chewy like usual. could it be the marinate that makes it tender?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      my picky son who never likes to eat anything enjoyed this and asked for seconds. he kept saying how yummy it was. i did though omit the red pepper paste and cut back big time on the red pepper flakes so that the kids can eat it. but followed everything else to the T. was a hit. will go into our favorites. thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      bravo! i bought a peppered pork loin. i couldn't find kochi-jang...so i used a combination of serrano peppers, pepper flakes, white pepper and a dried habanero. i used honey instead of sugar. i marinated for about 8 hours. it was delicious!! and yet so easy to put together and cook! this is a keeper for sure!! thanks, jelisa!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      Absolutley love this recipe, very easy to make and lots of flavor...it's now a staple in my house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      This was very good but VERY spicy. Although I'm a big fan of hot peppers, I think next time I'll skip the addition of the flakes and simply rely on the kochi-jang for the heat. Still a keeper, and one that brought back some great food memories for my husband of the time he spent stationed in Korea. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      This was soooo good! I love spicy, so I added extra red pepper paste (kochujang). I rubbed the paste into the meat with the onions and garlic then poured the liquid(with soy sauce and brown sugar) over it and marinated overnight. I will make this over and over again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      Quick and simple to follow recipe and delicous results. Very close (a little better) than what I remember my mom's Bulgogi being. I used half the onion and half the pepper for my taste. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Pork Bulgogi

    Serving Size: 1 (186 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 330.9
     
    Calories from Fat 178
    53%
    Total Fat 19.8 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 68.0 mg
    22%
    Sodium 1308.7 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 27.0 g
    54%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    red pepper paste

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes