Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Pork and Black Bean Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Pork and Black Bean Chili

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2001

      Best chili I've made. I had a little trouble cooking the black beans the first time (didn't seem to soften no matter how much I cooked them), so I substituted 2 cans of precooked beans per pound. This will become a regular.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2001

      This is a great chili. I made a few changes to a double recipe. I substituted venison tenderloin, boar chops and ground elk which were all grilled over apple wood, canned black beans and a teaspoon and a half of habenero pepper flakes were added. The entire list of ingredients were heated in a skillet, portions at a time, then cooked overnight in a large crock pot. This chili won a second place trophy in a chili cookoff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2001

      I made a few changes-added more chili powder and cumin and some cayenne pepper, and sauteed and cooked the green pepper with the onions. Also had great luck using canned black beans. This is unbelievably good!!!! Better double the receipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2002

      I added a bit of bacon in with the pork for some added flavor. Also, dried black beans needed much longer to cook than the recipe suggested. We have fairly hard water, so that may be the culprit. I served this chilli with fresh guacamole and salsa, corn chips, and crumbled goat cheese. Big success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2000

      Best Chilli I have ever had. Nice and spicey, filling and again, the best chilli I have ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

    • on November 14, 2012

      This is really good chili. Very nicely seasoned and so comforting for the cooler days ahead. I cooked the black beans using Simple Black Beans and decided that 1 pound of cooked dried beans was way to much. A lean pork sirloin roast was used for the meat. After browning the onions and meat 2 cups of cooked black beans along with the remaining ingredients were placed in a slow cooker. After cooking all day on low the meat was very tender. The chili is well seasoned and a winner for me. Thanks much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2012

      We liked this. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      Used leftover pork roast ad two cans back beans. Added extra tomatoes. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      so good i'd need an expletive to describe it so i'll substitute the adjective du jour: UH-MAY-ZING!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Delicious chili! I used only 1 large green pepper and 1 large onion and cooked them together with the garlic. I also used canned black beans as others have done and added a couple of dollops of tomato paste because I wanted it thicker. For more color, I dumped in some frozen corn. My pork was very tender and the whole dish only needed about half an hour of cooking time. We'll be having the leftovers tomorrow! I think this would be a great way to use up leftover pork roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      This is an excellent chili. I used a little over a pound of pork and left the rest of the chili proportions the same. The only modifications I made was to use 2 red bell peppers in place of 3 green as that is what I had on hand; and I used 2 cans of black beans, drained, as suggested by other reviewers. Also, I used fresh coriander chopped, as I really tend to like the flavor imparted by coriander in a spicy chili. I like my dishes on the spicy side and this didn't disappoint. I grated some fresh smoked pepper jack cheese on the top of my bowl of chili, which was good, but will ask DH to bring home a cheddar or Mexican blend package of shredded cheese tonight for tomorrow's leftovers. I'll definitely make this chili again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      This was very good. I used a canned black beans and part of a pork roast. The meat was very tender and the beans were flavorful. I left out the red pepper flakes since my family doesn't like spicy food, and this was still very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      This went down a treat, all i did was substitute the black beans for canned beans, followed the rest of the recipe and it turned out great, thank you for publishing this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2005

      I used 2 cans of black beans which I rinsed. Bought a pork loin which I cut into chunks (cheaper, no fat you have to cut around), I also added 1 teas. fresh lemon juice and few dashes of salt. It took about 30 minutes total not including the 1 1/2 hrs. of simmering. Very Very Good......Thanks, Fran

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2004

    • on October 25, 2003

      I also used the canned beans, and I also used chili ready tomatoes. The flavor is outstanding! I put it in the crockpot and the flavor just became more intense. This is WONDERFUL chili!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2002

      The dish is delicious. I always soak any type of dried bean overnight before I cook with it and that's what I did here and had no problem with hard beans. I know someone who also used canned beans with the same results. I served this with fresh chopped raw onion and a dollop of sour cream, together with cornbread and a salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2002

    • on June 19, 2001

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Pork and Black Bean Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (335 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 353.6
     
    Calories from Fat 159
    45%
    Total Fat 17.7 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 58.7 mg
    19%
    Sodium 163.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    31%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 24.3 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes