Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Pepper Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Pepper Steak

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 27, 2004

      I chickened out and only used 1 T red pepper flakes and it was plenty hot enough for us. I also subed Splenda for the sugar. I did wait and add the green pepper later. This is really good. The beef had enough fat to fry it all up perfect. Good stuff Jelisa!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      This is an excellent recipe. I took the advice of some of the other reveiws and cut back on red pepper flakes by 1/2. I love spicy food but I was cooking for others. I think 1 1/2 tablespoons would be perfect. I really enjoyed this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      I'm korean so I loved the heat! It was so simple and seemed so healthy b/c it cooks so well w/o the oil. Great thing about this dish is that you can change the spiciness or even the meat and the dish still tastes great! :) I personally love tender meat, so the thinner you cut the meat the better, I thought. Tastes very similar to a traditional korean spicy pork bulgogi dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      This is just way to spicy for us... and we love our food with heat! I think maybe halving the red pepper flakes would make it a bit more palatable... It has a lovely presentation and smells wonderful while cooking, I just wish we could have tasted something other than "hot!" We will try this one again, just with fewer pepper flakes... Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      After tasting the sauce and finding it a little too spicy, I doubled it, and added some boiled glass noodle to the dish. My kids loved it so we will be making this again. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      It sounds very tasty. One of my favorite things growing up was my Mom's "Hungarian Goulash" which is about as Hungarian as a Big Mac. Noodles, ground beef, onion, peppers and canned tomato. LOL. She called it that because Grandma did and she used what she had...which is how all great recipes start. Keep posting and I promise to make this soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      This tasted wonderful! We all enjoyed it very much. Thanks Jelisa....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      This is NOT a Korean dish...at ALL!!! Please do not be ignorant and make things up! Sukiyaki is name of a Japanese dish and this "spicy pepper steak" listed here is not even Japanese. It seems like this is rather a simple stir fry. Please be responsible for information that you put into public's view.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2005

      Wow, I can't believe how easy this was. I added only 1/2 of a tablespoon of pepper flakes since some of the people can't stand spicyness (I myself would have put 3tbsp). I used brown sugar instead and also added a yellow pepper and diced jalapeno. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2005

      Great Recipe! I'm a fan of spicy food and this was perfect. I also added a couple of jalepenoes. That might have been a little too much :) Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2004

      I lived in Korea for 4 years. Jelisa didn't know hte name of this, but this is very similar to BULGOGI, a traditional Korea beef dish. Bulgogi has a sweet taste, and doesn't usually have the chili flakes in it. If you omit the chili flakes, it will taste just fine as well. Best served with rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2004

      Another awesome recipe J! I used green, yellow and orange bell peppers, threw in some leeks and left out the carrots. The recipe doubled perfectly, and had just the right bite from the pepper flakes. We loved it! Thanks J! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2003

      MMMM, Jelisa, this is an awesome and easy meal! It had the perfect balance of heat and sweet flavors from the carrots and sugar. I kept looking at the recipe thinking, "really? just toss it all in there together and cook with no oil?" but I decided to trust you, LOL. Good thing I did -- because this was yummy. I used Stevia instead of sugar, but did not make any other changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2003

      This is excellent!!!!! I like red bell pepper best so I used that. We went to the Asian market and got the red pepper flakes there. I served this over rice. It was so easy! I made this with three other of your recipes and it was a fantastic meal. (Spicy Korean Chicken #29615, Spicy Cucumbers #30457, and Sesame Spinach #30471) It also held well while I finished up with the other dishes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2002

      This was good except for the crushed red pepper flakes. I only had one tablespoon and that was too much!! We like hot food but this was way too hot!!!! It was easy to make. I also added some celery, green peppers and mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Pepper Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (270 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.9
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    43%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 79.3 mg
    26%
    Sodium 1144.9 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 25.3 g
    50%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    salt and pepper

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites