12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a warming, rich, soup ! In my opinion, this is restaurant quality ! It is a keeper recipe and I will definatley make this again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa P July 29, 2011

This is more like a stew than a soup, but I loved it. My children enjoyed theirs, but hubby really didn't like it (but he dislikes peanut butter, so no surprises there). I cut back on the chickpeas and only added 3x300g cans instead of the 3x500g the recipes called for, and I think that was enough. It made a huge amount of soup, so I'm hoping it freezes and reheats well. Very tasty :) Made for ZWT7 - Africa

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara 76 May 27, 2011

Great flavour. I added some salt and pepper because I felt it needed a bit, and I added only 16oz of chickpeas. I didn't want to have the soup TOO thick and heavy. Other than that I followed the recipe. It's a nice thick hearty soup, which I love to have for dinner. It was easy and will make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Preta75 May 25, 2011

Love it! The spices were a lovely blend and so hearty. This would be a great winter dish as well. made for the ZWT7, Shady Ladies. Thanks for a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby June 04, 2011

The adults loved it. I agree that is is more a stew than soup. My son said it was too spicy after three bites and my daughter said it was dinosaur poop. Reviewed for ZWT 7.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nyteglori June 03, 2011

I made some alterations to this recipe that may not have been wise. Swapping broccoli for the zucchini wasn't a bad idea, but I ended up blendering the whole pot (my husband just broke his jaw and needs soft, liquidy food), which was a pretty bi mistake. I think the texture of the original soup, as written, was quite nice. After the blender, not so much. I also used a lower sodium veg broth instead of chicken, so it needed some salt. Al in all, a tasty, interesting recipe that I might make again if my husband weren't around.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Circumspice June 22, 2007

Rich and delicious! I added only a pinch of thyme. Used long grain brown basmati rice and subbed a yam for the sweet potato. Used my own homemade medium spicy salsa. Because of this recipe (and one review in particular,) my new favorite word in the English language is "stewp". Thanks for sharing! cg ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl September 27, 2006

Delicious!!! The flavor combination here is fabulous. I used medium salsa which made it somewhat spicy but not overpowering. I did decrease the peanut butter a bit, as well as the rice to lower the carb content a bit. The chickpeas and peanut butter go so well together and the peanut butter mixed with the salsa gives a wonderful base. Thanks for a keeper Rita.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE June 23, 2006

My husband calls this "stewp" not soup, because it is so thick and hearty. Great flavours but not quite as spicy as I hoped. I may try to spice it up a bit next time. Thanks for sharing, RitaL.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SolightlyUK March 19, 2006

Made this last night and served it with Derf's Wrap Up Lunch #52620. Sooo good. Made two very small changes. Decreased peanut butter to 1/3 cup and sprinkled with chopped peanuts before serving. This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Harry #2 June 16, 2005
Spicy Peanut Soup