8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had no idea what to expect with this recipe because I'm not accustomed to buying or preparing parsnips. I loved it. I decided to cut this recipe in half and I added 1 Tblsp dried parsley and 1 tsp Seasoning salt. I threw everything in a crock pot. Thank you for contributing to my collection of fabulous recipes. Sincerely, Sherry Belle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry Belle November 14, 2009

Yum, so easy & super tasty, the whole family loved it. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** May 29, 2009

Best soup I have tasted in a long time! Top Marks for this:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sonyamoran101 May 10, 2009

This is a really nice and healthy soup! I used a non fat cooking spray instead of the oil and cut the fat down even more but it still tasted great. I made half a batch and had it as part of lunch on two days and it tasted even better after it had been reheated. Made for PAC Spring 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne March 25, 2009

Very tasty, healthy, and economical soup! The last two times I made it I used half cow's milk and half almond milk jut because I was running out of dairy...still came out so well. I also use chicken bouillon powder instead of veggie stock.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doggy momma August 06, 2008

It occurred to me as I made the 6th batch of our favorite soup in about 2 months that I hadn't yet reviewed it or thanked you for it. Shame on me! This soup is awesome! Rich and flavorful, extremely easy preparation and healthy to boot! One time I didn't have milk, but I did have vanilla soy-milk and it worked great! The vanilla wasn't prominent, but added a little unexpected mystery to the flavor. Instead of pureeing in the blender, I use a potato masher (and sometimes serve it at this chunky stage) and then use a hand held submersion blender to finish. Thank you SandieB!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B March 20, 2007

I have the last cup of this soup slated for lunch tomorrow and I may have to make another batch asap, it's that good. I used three different kinds of curry...some red curry paste that was very flavorful but without much heat, a tsp. of Penzey's sweet curry powder, and another tsp. or two of Penzey's tandoori powder. It ended with the perfect blend of flavor and just a touch of heat. It was so easy to make (peeling the parsnips is the only toil involved, lol) and it's way too healthy considering its decadently creamy taste and texture. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe, Sandie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vina January 28, 2007

10 Stars!!! DH isn't a great soup fan but is willing to try most things once.. He LOVED this recipe and his first comment was "if you make soups like THIS I would like them more, this one would get a star in a restaurant, This is great, I don't mind if you make this again !" WOW, this is *high* praise for someone who never counts soup as a 'real meal" :) I used 1 tablespoon of olive oil and 1 tablespoon of butter and a heaped teaspoon of red curry paste in place of the powder, giving this a lovely spicy flavour without being fire-y and then delivered a tiny aftershock of heat just to remind you that you were eating something spicy after all. I also have a brand new breadmaker and baked my very first loaf of bread today, a brown loaf with whole grains, so what could be better than a soup packed with flavour and bread fresh out of the machine to go with it? Please see my rating system: a brilliant soup recipe that dumbfounded me when DH asked for more, .. not just a second serving either. I might make a soup lover out of him yet! Well done, and Thanks !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch January 17, 2007
Spicy Parsnip and Carrot Soup