Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Onions and Bratwurst Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Onions and Bratwurst

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2013

      Yum! These onions were so good on brats! I actually prefer them over sauerkraut. I didn't have any celery seed, but I think I'm going to get some before I make this next time. According to previous reviewers, it's a must have! Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      The onions totally make this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2011

      Very tasty. I halved the recipe (only had 3 brats)But did not use the specified amount of hot pepper sauce or chili powder (some times I'm a wimp!)Just did several good shakes of each. And it was gooood. DarkHunter, thanks for posting . . . Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      Great bratwurst! Loved the flavor of the onions on the side. I did simmer them in beer first and then BBQ'd on the KJ. So moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      My husband just loved these...well why not? Brats! They are too rich for my tastes, but he looks forward to holidays when he might get them! (He also looks forward to The Tour! ;)) The hot sauce and carmelized onions are a must! I had a taste...VERY GOOD! Made for ZWT6 and appreciated!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      Great onions! I grilled the brats to finish the preparation, and we really enjoyed the combo. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      Simple & tasty! I only used 1 medium onion since there's two of us, so I just guestimated on the seasoning. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      This recipe is a keeper! Easy and very tasty. I used bison brats and they were so yummy with all the seasonings. Thanks for a great recipe! Even my husband loved it and he doesn't dish out compliments too frequently!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      Aunt Sana this was soooo good. It's a cool fall day and DH had requested brats, so decided to give this a try. The only thing differant I did was to add some saurkraut to the mix (again at DH's request) and it was perfect. Just the right amount of kick to send these brats over the top. To serve made Kittencal's Sub/Sandwich Buns grilled the brats on my GF prior to serving and topped with hot mustard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      Oh, this is excellent! This took a regular brat up to the next level. I also added a green pepper, but otherwise made it as directed. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      WOW!!!! What a kick! I love sauteed onions and green peppers on my brats. But this was the ticket. I don't think I will ever do brats again without these onions. Next time I am going to do it with the peppers just to see. I know there are some of my family members who will absolutely go crazy for these onions. I can't wait for my summer party to prepare these for them. Thanks for the great recipe!! ***UPDATE*** I did the onion part of the recipe for my burgers, and boy, oh boy, let me tell you it was great!!! This recipe hasn't failed me yet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      I was tired of making the same old grilled brats and beer. Since I like spicy food, we decided to give these a try!I used Spanish red onions,added green peppers,then added 1/3-1/2 can of beer.Heated until liquid evaporated and the onions and peppers were limp,then added all the other spices and used Whoop Ass Hickory Hot Sauce instead of chili power and black pepper. These were made on the grill then transfered to the sauce pan with all the other ingredients. Then added 1/3 cup of beer! These were very, very good!I usually do not add recipes to my cookbook, but this one I did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      I wanted to triple this recipe for a pot luck at work, so I made some modifications because I also wanted to use my crockpot. First, I made the onions as directed. Then I simmered the brats for about 10 minutes in 1/2 inch of water, flipping them about halfway through. Then I layered the onions and the sausages in the crockpot, set it on low, and let it simmer the 4 hours before lunch. The lucious smell permeated the office, and I had to threaten the guys with bodily harm if I caught them opening the crockpot again. The last step was to push the burgers on the grill aside and throw the sausages on to brown a little since they look a bit washed out straight out of the crockpot. IT WAS OUT OF THIS WORLD! The guys just loved it and used the onions on both the sausages and burgers. It was so good that the GUYS asked me for the recipe. That's a real sign of success.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      This recipe was included in Book#228608. May 7, 2008 -- I was looking for a new recipe to prepare bratwurst and this caught my eye. This is superb -- your spicy onion recipe is perfect to serve with the bratwurst and can also be used with other recipes as well. I parboiled the bratwurst because I was using the uncooked kind, and then we finished them on the grill. I only wish we had some leftovers -- yum! Thanks for posting this terrific recipe -- we loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      Very good! I did not have the celery seed so substituted celery salt (only thing celery I had & after reading the reviews celery seemed important to the recipe) and it was really good. Warm steamy hot dog buns won out over the hoagie rolls. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      Tasty! Made as posted. Like that this can be made inside during cold weather and look good. Parboiled the brats then added to onion mixture to brown the brats a bit. Skipped the mustard and catsup as bun was very full. Celery seed is perfect in this. Thanks AuntSana for posting. Made for Fall PAC '08.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      These smell and taste amazing. I used the onions on hot dogs and they were greatly improved by this tasty accompaniment. My family are not too big on spices so I used chili sauce instead of hot pepper sauce and it worked great for us. This will be a regular dish when we are having burgers or dogs. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      Outstanding! Great idea to this outside though if you have a burner on your grill. Tease the neighborhood and you save yourself the airing out of your kitchen! I add a little hot hungarian paprika at the end, and sometimes at grill parties will flambe with hot chili vodka. Mostly for the oohs and ahhs. Thanks for a great recipe, great on way more than just brats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      The onions were so good and sent the brats over the top for us. We also used them on Italian Sausages on the grill and they were great! We will be making these a lot this summer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      Thank you, thank you, thank you for this recipe! I think most of us have a favorite way to cook brats, so let me get straight to the starmaker onions - they are outstanding. I used Paul Prudhomme's Magic Pepper Sauce and have to confess that the first time I tried this, I reduced the amount of pepper sauce a lot, but I'm increasing it each time and they just get better and better. I also use sweet onions like Oh-So-Sweet because vidalias aren't in season. Had to send this recipe to my sister to add to their annual 4th of July brat and burger cookout!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Onions and Bratwurst

    Serving Size: 1 (225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 523.9
     
    Calories from Fat 287
    54%
    Total Fat 31.9 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 62.9 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1102.4 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 18.3 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites