30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum! These onions were so good on brats! I actually prefer them over sauerkraut. I didn't have any celery seed, but I think I'm going to get some before I make this next time. According to previous reviewers, it's a must have! Will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itsnevrenough February 06, 2013

The onions totally make this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tex Engr December 05, 2011

Very tasty. I halved the recipe (only had 3 brats)But did not use the specified amount of hot pepper sauce or chili powder (some times I'm a wimp!)Just did several good shakes of each. And it was gooood. DarkHunter, thanks for posting . . . Janet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski August 18, 2011

Great bratwurst! Loved the flavor of the onions on the side. I did simmer them in beer first and then BBQ'd on the KJ. So moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound July 16, 2010

My husband just loved these...well why not? Brats! They are too rich for my tastes, but he looks forward to holidays when he might get them! (He also looks forward to The Tour! ;)) The hot sauce and carmelized onions are a must! I had a taste...VERY GOOD! Made for ZWT6 and appreciated!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PotPie May 31, 2010

Great onions! I grilled the brats to finish the preparation, and we really enjoyed the combo. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews May 29, 2010

Simple & tasty! I only used 1 medium onion since there's two of us, so I just guestimated on the seasoning. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover April 19, 2010

This recipe is a keeper! Easy and very tasty. I used bison brats and they were so yummy with all the seasonings. Thanks for a great recipe! Even my husband loved it and he doesn't dish out compliments too frequently!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debaylady November 29, 2009

Aunt Sana this was soooo good. It's a cool fall day and DH had requested brats, so decided to give this a try. The only thing differant I did was to add some saurkraut to the mix (again at DH's request) and it was perfect. Just the right amount of kick to send these brats over the top. To serve made Kittencal's Sub/Sandwich Buns grilled the brats on my GF prior to serving and topped with hot mustard.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 October 23, 2009

Oh, this is excellent! This took a regular brat up to the next level. I also added a green pepper, but otherwise made it as directed. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaudon July 05, 2009
Spicy Onions and Bratwurst