Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy Mexican Cheesy Rice Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Mexican Cheesy Rice Casserole

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2002

      Really excellent! I cooked the rice the night before and refrigerated it. I then added the rest of the ingredients the next morning and chilled. All it took was heating (I put extra cheese on top) and it made a great side dish for a carne asada meal. Great for a large crowd!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      We loved this casserole. To make it more of a meal, I added a can of rinsed and drained black beans. I imagine to get even more protein in there you could add some crumbled tempeh. We'll try it that way next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2014

      Fantastic meal! Brings a true flavour of Mexican food to the table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      As usual, I used this recipe as a springboard and made dinner. I used yellow rice and left out all the seasonings. I mixed in a pound of browned hamburger and a packet of taco seasoning and added chopped black olives. It was very good. We ate it more as a dip with tortilla chips. My husband said this recipe can go on the keeper list. Thank you, Millie. btw, love the name my mom is also a Millie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      I was all ready to make this casserole and smelled my brown rice and decided I needed to throw it out.....so I had a package of 12 flour tortillas. I tore them into 2 inch pieces and stirred it into the ingredients. I put a spoon full on a saucer and cooked in the micro wave to try it out. It was too dry so I added 2/3 cup of milk stired it in good and baked it. Came out wonderful. I didn't have recaito and didn't use any chili powder and everyone loved it. I have made it this way for several occasions and each time the recipe is requested. It is so easy to put together with things on hand. Just love it. Some day I'll have to try it with rice...but for now it is flour tortillas for my family. Thanks for such an easy recipe. We have vegetarians in our family and friend group so this is a great dish and they are getting cheese with there meal. I always add more cheese if the vegetarians are dining so their protein level is upped. When it is for me and hubby I keep it lower and use low fat sour cream no matter who is coming. Thanks for taking the time to post it for us to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      I thought this was REALLY good! I did cut the recipe in half but still used a whole can of green chilies. :) Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      This recipe had no great flavor, despite all that went into it surprisingly enough. I can't put my finger on it, but something was definitely missing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2002

      Was very good, we added cooked chunks of chicken breast and 1/2 cup more of sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Mexican Cheesy Rice Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 386.2
     
    Calories from Fat 113
    29%
    Total Fat 12.6 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 25.3 mg
    8%
    Sodium 35.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.5 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-fat cheddar cheese

    recaito

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites