7 Reviews

I agree with Crafty Lady that these babies have some real pucker power--I was amazed at how much the vinegar flavor takes over the briny flavor of the olive. I really enjoyed these, as did my friends for whom I made them. I think they would be absolutely lovely with haloumi or another firm cheese! Next time I might try making them with balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar, just out of personal preference. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT 7, for the Vivacious Violets.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian June 05, 2011

I love this recipe! It is so garlicky and spicy that you just have to keep eating one after another. Thanks for sharing a real keeper. Made for ZWT7-Italy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY May 30, 2011

This is such a great recipe as it is easy and quick to make and takes good old olives turning them into a gourmet condiment. The garlic, red wine vinegar, thyme and chilli work so well together in this lending the olives a wonderful spicy flavour.
This is great for gift-giving and also to keep on hand yourself for some entertaining.
Mmmm!
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this great recipe with us, UmmBinat!
Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #26 September 2010.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula September 23, 2010

The red wine vinegar and lemon juice really gives these olives some pucker power. It was a nice change of pace from the usual black olives. Made for ZWT5.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 May 13, 2009

Here's another recipe in which I cut back on the use of chilies, this time using just one, but otherwise following the recipe! A recipe definitely worth keeping, & I plan to make these for one of the monthly groups I host (in another 10 days)! [Tagged, made & reviewed while in Spain with the ZWT5]

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 13, 2009

We tryed the first olives just after marinating them. Most of thzem are now in a jar, we will try them after one week or so.
They are delicious! The condiment as well and we will use the marinade as salad dressing or simply with bread!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde July 09, 2011

Wonderful olives! The garlic works so well. I love this recipe and it's so easy. Next time I want to try combining green, black, and brown olives. Thanks so much for this recipe UmmBinat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy228 October 01, 2010
Spicy Marinated Black Olives