Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spicy, Low-Fat Veggie Burgers (Vegan, Gluten-Free, Soy-Free Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy, Low-Fat Veggie Burgers (Vegan, Gluten-Free, Soy-Free

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2010

      These are awesome! And the recipe was flexible enough to succeed even though I fiddled a little based on what was in the cupboard... I used black beans, cashews, and skipped the jalapeno and ground red pepper. In hindsight, I should have upped the chili powder a little to compensate, but I am a bit of a spice wimp... Rather than getting my grater out, I plugged in the food processor and just threw everything in all at once. Worked perfectly! I made them on my indoor grill and they held together very nicely. Once this batch disappears, I'm going to make another to keephandy in the freezer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      This is the first time I've ever made or eaten Veggie Burgers! WOW! I'm hooked! These were every thing I had hoped they would be. I will deninately be making these again. Thank you for posting Prose. Made for Veggie Swap 20, March 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2013

      As this was coming together, I said, "no way is this going to work." <br/>Having been vegetarian for over 20 years, I've tried MANY veggie burger recipes, and it just didn't look like anything that was going to form a burger. HOWEVER-I used black beans instead of the lentils, and they wouldn't "mush" up. I tossed the whole mix for a whirl through the food processor, adding a couple of tablespoons of water and voila! My second concern was the seasonings. Curry powder in a burger?? But-the first time I make any recipe, I try to stick to the author's original ingredients...and guess what. They're perfect. This recipe gets 5 stars and is going in my favorites.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      These were great, even though I goofed up. I decided to make extra lentils to use in another recipe, but my Mom called and I accidentally added ALL the lentils. I didn't measure them in the first place, lol, so I have no idea how much I used, but it was a LOT. So, I didn't have enough nuts to make the recipe as written. I added some Italian style breadcrumbs instead. I added extra tomato paste and extra soy sauce. I didn't have carrots (I thought i did) so I threw in a cup of mixed veggies (including carrots) instead. I've never made lentils before and I think I overcooked them because they were mushy, but i saw later in the recipe it said to mush them up, so I figured it was OK. I tasted some of the mixture before I made them into burgers, and didn't like it, but I was pleasantly surprised after they were finished. They turned out really good. I only did up 3 burgers, and as an experiment I put some of the mixture in the no stick frying pan to see if it would simulate ground beef...and it did! I have a ton of the mixture left over, so I'm going to make more burgers, and also do some up as ground beef and freeze it. I want to try it with a box of Hamburger Helper.
      I will definitely try this recipe again in the future...and I'll make sure I have the right ingredients next time.
      Oh, the dogs were begging the entire time these were cooking, so I gave them some...they LOVED it. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      Aside from grating the pepper and onion, this recipe was pretty simple and pain free. The results: AMmmmmmAZING. :) I used black beans, almonds for the nuts... and skipped the parsley. Mm mm mmmm m m m m...!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      These are wonderfully filling. I have made this 2 times, and got 4 decent sized patties rather than 6 - so assuming the proper recipe makes pretty small patties. I don't like green pepper, so upped the amounts of celery and carrots to compensate. Used a mixture of limas, black beans and chickpeas in place of the lentils. Cut back a tad on the hot pepper and didn't use the soy sauce or tomato just didn't feel like pulling anything more out. Very versitle and yummy, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

    • on March 24, 2010

      These turned out really well. Flipping them is essential so they get toasted evenly and hold their shape better. Because I like spice, next time I'm going to add more of the listed spices or add some garlic powder and cayenne, I can imagine being creative with the seasonings for these. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

    • on September 02, 2009

      I just saw this recipe and got so excited I couldn't wait to try it before rating. It look exceptionally good! It never occurred to me that one could make veggie burgers at home. I won't be buying them at the grocery again. Thank you very much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy, Low-Fat Veggie Burgers (Vegan, Gluten-Free, Soy-Free

    Serving Size: 1 (101 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 219.3
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    53%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 74.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 9.8 g
    39%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 9.9 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Braggs liquid aminos

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites