14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I served this cold with a vegetarian picnic I planned and it was absolutely delicious both hot and cold (had a little taste while still warm). I forgot to put the tomatoes in until after it was all cooked but it worked out fine to put them in after. Thanks for another keeper Rita! Made and enjoyed for team Mischief Makers - ZWT #7 :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just_Ducky!! June 10, 2011

This was a nice way to do lentils. I liked the flavor combinations with all the spices listed, and really loved the tomatoes. Next time I think I'd use ground cardamom and mince the garlic. Thank you! Made for ZWT7 for the Golden Gourmets.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood June 07, 2011

Yum, this is really tasty! I love all the spices. I also did not use the oil (just a spray or two for the pan) so I used a can of tomatoes which helped balance out the moisture. I will make this again for sure. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker September 16, 2008

Really good lentils! I halved the oil, and omitted the cardamom and cinnamon, as DH isn't a big fan. I also followed other reviewers comments and doubled the coriander, cumin and tomatoes. They were spicy, but not overly so. Generous portions too, fed 4 with brown rice. Reminiscent of Indian daal, delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito December 17, 2007

Tonight I served these with Peri-Peri Chicken, grilled asparagus and a Greek salad. My husband is not usually a fan of Indian food, but he loved the lentils and said they tasted like some we ate in an upscale DC restaurant a few days ago. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I made a third for two and had enough left for another serving. I used a tablespoon of oil and increased the ginger and cayenne. The dish is spicy but not hot. It goes well with spicy hot entrees. I've made some of your other recipes and am always pleased. You are some cook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judiemeador March 26, 2012

This was not too bad, could have been more spicy. If i do make this again, i think i'll inrease the spices by half again and see what happens. Not sure if my husband will try it but we'll see.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muslimarama August 09, 2011

I am afraid my family did not care for this. Made from ZWT 7.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nyteglori June 05, 2011

The lentils were delicious. I would definitely make this dish again. I did not use as much oil, only about 1 tablespoon to keep the onion/garlic from sticking. All else as per the recipe and it is definitely flavorful and spicy. A great alternative to mash potatoes. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 September 17, 2008

I halved the recipe and since I was eating alone there was still a lot left. I used red lentils which look orange to me. I'm not sure whether they are the same product. In any case, the end result was delicious. I served it with Golden Salmon on a Bed of Lentils.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario June 25, 2008
Spicy Lentils (South Africa)